ASBL Bossa Flor

Music Production, Events, Publishing

Objectives and activities

Bossa Flor is originally a project imagined and embodied by Philippe Quevauviller since 2009, which evolves over time, encounters and musical influences. The current project offers the public horizons mixing great classics of bossa nova and samba, fado, French chanson and jazz. A major encounter was that of Pierre Barouh who has been mentoring the association between 2012 and 2016 and participated in the first album Bossa Flor. More than 80 events organised between 2009 and 2019 brought together groups and artists with diverse influences, which the book "Bossa Flor - 10 years of sharing" highlights with an anthology of photos and concert posters. The current network of artists participating in the Bossa Flor dynamic is illustrated in the Projects & Biographies page.

The Bossa Flor ASBL was born from this dynamic in June 2016. It is based in Brussels and aims to support multicultural artistic creation and expression in all disciplines and the promotion of original works. The experience acquired since 2009 in the organization of concerts, exhibitions and short film presentations has enabled the creation of a solid network between artists from various horizons and a public sensitized by the cultural exchanges between the French-speaking and Portuguese-speaking world. The association is very eclectic in its musical tastes and encourages the sharing of different types of music.

The ASBL includes a Board of Directors composed of Philippe Quevauviller (chairman), Sabine Helgen and Sandrine Gasser, and 5 effective members who constitute the General Assembly (Leticia Martinez, Jacques Martinez, Christophe Vaassen, Philippe Gasser and Bruno Desart). The association benefits from the financial support of adherent members in the form of annual subscriptions. In addition, the activities are followed by more than 1200 friends of the association via a monthly newsletter.

The association also has a technical and cultural support team: Elodie Salle, Adrien Quevauviller (photographs), Louis Quevauviller (logistics), Jacques-Jérome Martinez (graphic design), Thomas Allen-Martinho (sound engineer), Lalie Gillis and Dany Iancovescu (video making and editing), and Florin Iancovescu (webmaster, video making).

In addition to its event activities, one of the objectives of the Bossa Flor ASBL is the production and distribution of sound, images and films. In order to do this, the ASBL has the legal bases for the constitution of a label which led to the creation of the Bossa Flor Music label, intended for the promotion of audio and/or audiovisual recordings (in studio or in public) with a view to the production of CDs (or vinyls) and/or DVDs (or digital supports). Another aspect of activities concerns the publishing of works (essays, short stories) within the framework of Bossa Flor Éditions. These activities are open in priority to adherent members of the ASBL who require support, on the musical level, for the production of audiovisual supports in styles covering French chanson, Brazilian music and jazz, and on the literary level, for the publication of works mainly dedicated to these musical styles, including essays and booklets of musical scores. Due to its non-profit nature, the publishing activities are carried out for non-commercial purposes. Proceeds from the sale of albums and books are used entirely to finance events or projects in support of artistic creation. As outlined above, the association has a technical team and a network of contacts with recording studios and a production experience. The distribution of the albums and books is done through concerts, social networks and via the online shop.

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor

ASBL Bossa Flor

Production musicale, événements, éditions

Objectifs et activités

Bossa Flor, c'est à l'origine un projet imaginé et incarné par Philippe Quevauviller depuis 2009, qui évolue au fil du temps, des rencontres et des envies musicales. Le projet actuel propose au public des horizons mêlant des grands classiques de la bossa nova et de la samba, du fado, de la chanson française et du jazz. Une rencontre majeure a été celle de Pierre Barouh qui a parrainé l’association entre 2012 et 2016 et a participé au premier album Bossa Flor. Plus de 80 événements organisés entre 2009 et 2019 ont réuni des groupes et artistes aux influences diverses que le livre « Bossa Flor – 10 ans de partages » met à l’honneur avec des florilèges de photos et d’affiches de concerts. Le réseau actuel d’artistes participant à la dynamique Bossa Flor est illustré dans la page Projets & Biographies.

L’ASBL Bossa Flor est née de cette dynamique en juin 2016. Elle est établie à Bruxelles et a pour but de soutenir la création et l'expression artistique multiculturelle dans toutes les disciplines et la mise en valeur d'œuvres originales. L'expérience acquise depuis 2009 dans l'organisation de concerts, d’expos et de présentations de court-métrages a permis de tisser un réseau solide entre des artistes de divers horizons et un public sensibilisé par les échanges culturels entre la francophonie et la lusophonie. L’association est très éclectique dans ses goûts musicaux et encourage les partages rassemblant différents types de musique.

L'ASBL comprend un Conseil d'Administration composé de Philippe Quevauviller (président), Sabine Helgen et Sandrine Gasser, et de 5 membres effectifs qui constituent l'Assemblée Générale (Leticia Martinez, Jacques Martinez, Christophe Vaassen, Philippe Gasser et Bruno Desart). L'association bénéficie du soutien financier de membres adhérents sous forme de cotisations annuelles. De plus, les activités sont suivies par plus de 1200 amis de l'association via une newsletter mensuelle.

L’association dispose également d’une équipe technique et de soutien culturel : Elodie Salle, Adrien Quevauviller (photographies), Louis Quevauviller (logistique), Jacques-Jérome Martinez (graphisme), Thomas Allen-Martinho (ingénieur-son), Lalie Gillis et Dany Iancovescu (captations et montages d’images), et Florin Iancovescu (webmaster, captations d’images).

En plus de ses activités événementielles, l'un des objectifs de l'ASBL Bossa Flor est la production et la diffusion phonographique, d'images et films. Pour ce faire l'ASBL dispose des bases juridiques pour la constitution d'un label qui a amené à la création du label Bossa Flor Music, destiné à la mise en valeur d'enregistrements (en studio ou en public) audios et/ou audiovisuels en vue de la production de CDs (ou vinyles) et/ou DVDs (ou supports numériques). Un autre volet d’activités concerne l’édition d’ouvrages (essais, nouvelles) dans le cadre de Bossa Flor Éditions. Ces activités sont ouvertes en priorité aux membres adhérents de l'ASBL qui nécessitent d’un soutien, sur le plan musical, pour la production de supports audiovisuels dans des styles qui couvrent la chanson française, la musique brésilienne et le jazz, et sur le plan littéraire, pour la publication d'ouvrages principalement dédiés à ces styles musicaux, y compris des essais et des livrets de partitions musicales. De par son caractère d’association non lucrative, les activités d’éditions sont réalisées à des fins non commerciales. Les produits des ventes des albums et livres sont intégralement utilisés pour financer des événements ou projets en soutien à la création artistique. Comme souligné ci-dessus, l'association dispose d'une équipe technique et d’un réseau de contacts avec des studios d'enregistrements et une expérience en matière de production. La distribution des albums et ouvrages se fait par le biais de concerts, les réseaux sociaux et via la boutique en ligne.

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor