Jean-Paul Delfino

Writer, musicologist between France and Brazil

Biography

Bio-Jean-Paul-Delfino-800.jpg

Photo credit: ©Ouarda Silly

Jean-Paul Delfino, born in 1964 in Aix-en-Provence, is a screenwriter, novelist and writer. As a child, Jean-Paul had three dreams: to play football, to be a French teacher and to become a novelist. He grew up in a family of teachers and pursued his dreams, which he will all made come true, by dint of his talent and nerve. At a very young age he took part in the French football team selections, but a serious knee injury forced him to stop playing his favourite sport at the age of 17. As a teenager, he played guitar to seduce girls (and it worked!), but as soon as he discovered João Gilberto's bossa nova, music took on a whole new dimension: it was a revelation, supreme and founding, an "electric shock" that determined the rest of his life. He will say, "At the age when one cultivates one's secret garden, mine became tropical, without I wanted it". He became a teacher in a private high school and left the job after a year, for lack of conviction. The writing remained...


At the end of two years of journalism studies in Bordeaux, he lazily wrote a collection of short stories for his final dissertation... and became valedictorian of his class. A "first swindle" of which he remains very proud. Various freelance jobs followed and a radical conclusion: "If you're not Albert London, it's not worth it to be a journalist... ».


He went to Brazil for the first time with a very specific editorial project: the Bossa Nova. He was 20 years old and had the strange sensation of going home. He learned the language in less than a week. During his three years there, he got interviews with the greatest (Gilberto Gil, Baden Powell, Nara Leão, Caetano, etc.). As soon as he returned to France, he published his first book, "Brasil Bossa Nova" in 1988 (Edisud), an anthology of bossa nova of which he fell in love. His book, prefaced by Georges Moustaki, received the Grand Prix du Label France Brésil. He then wrote a series of black novels, published by Métailié, set in the Phoenician capital, his home town, with "L'Île aux femmes" and "Tu touches pas à Marseille" (1999), "De l'eau dans le grisou" (2001) and "Embrouilles au Vélodrome" (2002). At the same time, he published several radio plays for Radio France, as well as several books for young people.


After the publication of his detective novels, he devoted himself to writing a series of novels on the history of Brazil, entitled "Suite brésilienne", which to date includes nine novels. In 2005, "Corcovado" (Métailié, Amerigo Vespucci Prize 2005, Gabrielle d'Estrées Prize 2005) was published, initiating the series and featuring a young man from Marseille in the 1920s discovering Rio de Janeiro. At the request of his editor, he soon completed a trilogy with "Dans l'ombre du Condor" in 2006 and "Samba triste" in 2007. Then, motivated by the numerous letters from his readers, he followed in the footsteps of the ancestors of his two colourful recurring heroes, Jean Dimare and Zumbi, brushing up Brazilian history from the end of the 17th century to the 1980s, inserting his little stories into the big story with "Samba triste", "Zumbi" (Buchet-Chastel). Published by Le Passage for the next 5 novels, he continued his saga with " Pour tout l'or du Brésil " (2011) and " Pour l'amour de Rio " (2012) around the influences of the Portuguese domination and the intrigues of the court. He signed the seventh volume of his "Suite brésilienne" with "Brasil" in 2013, a fresco that opens with the defeat of King Dom Joao VI and the beginnings of Brazil's independence. His 8th opus "Saudade" was published in 2014, and tells the story of Brazil at the dawn of the 20th century, while slavery is in its final hours and Rio de Janeiro gradually becoming a metropolis with an international reputation. The 9th volume was finally published in 2015 with "12, rue Carioca", which takes the reader from Rio de Janeiro to Marseille, and takes him to a France and Brazil ready to enter the 20th century...


His novels, very well documented, are full of humour which is, according to Jean-Paul Delfino, the best weapon to denounce any kinds of powers. Jean-Paul then claimed to write to move people and advocated "popular literature" that goes through the guts. Always believable and well-documented, his stories require a great deal of research - the ultimate for those who have fled from journalism and raised their penchant for idleness to the art of living!


After "Brasil bossa nova" (1988) and "Brasil: a musica" (Parentheses, 1998), Jean-Paul continued his anthologies of Brazilian music with "Couleur Brasil" in 2014, published by Le Passage and in co-publication with Radio France, a work that tells the story of Brazilian music in 40 songs. Jean-Paul unveils the greatest Brazilian musical standards, mythical songs hummed all over the world, which he punctuates with anecdotes revealing a fantastic world. His writings on bossa nova were sublimated by his book "Bossa nova, la grande aventure du Brésil" in 2017 (Le Passage).


In 2016, his novel, "Les Pêcheurs d'étoiles", was published, winner of the Prix des Lycéens du Salon du livre de Chaumont, which takes the reader on the trail of Erik Satie and Blaise Cendrars, and into the Paris of the Roaring Twenties. Jean-Paul then became the winner of the Prix des Romancières 2019 for "Les voyages de sable" published for the 2018 literary season, a splendid fresco around a malediction: immortality. With these two novels, he feels that he has taken a new step in his career as an author and then as a novelist. Today, he is beginning to accept without blushing too much that he has become a recognized writer. He thus confirmed his status with the publication of his latest novel "Assassins" in 2019 (published by Héloïse d'Ormesson), which tells the story of the last days of Émile Zola at a time when the climate in France openly displays deleterious anti-Semitism. 


Long hair and headband, earring, cigarette in the beak... Jean-Paul goes through life in a relaxed manner, assuming his style and choices in all circumstances. With Provence as his home and Brazil as his homeland, this music-loving and Portuguese-speaking writer could only cross paths with Pierre Barouh... It was the latter who, during his last visit to Brussels, told Philippe Quevauviller that "Jean-Paul is a great friend that you must meet". He tried to call him, but could only leave a message on his answering machine. Another underground river had also been created, via Emmanuel de Ryckel, whom Jean-Paul had contacted in 2016 while writing his book "Bossa nova, la grande aventure du Brésil". The contact was therefore announced and a first meeting took place in November 2017, when Jean-Paul joined the Bossa Flor program to tell "his" bossa nova during a show on the history of this music. He came back a year later, and this time met another lover of Brazil, Didier Sustrac, whose meeting with Philippe had also been generated by Pierre Barouh... It is a kind of family that is created around Saravah, in the spirit of the passers by of the French song and Brazilian music, and Jean-Paul met again Didier and Emmanuel Donzella, another common friend of Pierre, for a new bossa nova evening in February 2020. 

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor

Jean-Paul Delfino

​​Écrivain, musicologue entre France et Brésil

Biographie

Bio-Jean-Paul-Delfino-800.jpg

Crédit photo : ©Ouarda Silly

Jean-Paul Delfino, né en 1964 à Aix-en-Provence, est scénariste, romancier et écrivain. Enfant, Jean-Paul a trois rêves : jouer au foot, être professeur de français et devenir romancier. Il grandit dans une famille de « profs » et poursuit ses rêves qu’il réalisera tous, à force de talent et de culot. Il participe très jeune aux sélections de l’équipe de France de football, mais une grave blessure au genou l’oblige à arrêter son sport favori à 17 ans. Adolescent, il joue de la guitare pour séduire les filles (et ça marche !), mais dès lors qu'il découvre la bossa nova de João Gilberto, la musique prend une toute autre dimension : c'est une révélation, suprême et fondatrice, une « décharge électrique » qui va déterminer le reste de sa vie. Il dira « À l'âge où l'on cultive son jardin secret, le mien est devenu tropical, sans que je le veuille ». Devenu enseignant dans un lycée privé, il quitte cette fonction au bout d'un an, par manque de conviction. Reste l'écriture...


Au terme de deux années d’études de journalisme à Bordeaux, il rédige par paresse un recueil de nouvelles en guise de mémoire de fin d'études... et devient major de sa promo. Une « première escroquerie » dont il reste très fier. S'ensuivent divers boulots de pigiste et une conclusion radicale : « Si l’on n'est pas Albert Londres, cela ne vaut pas la peine d'être journaliste... ».


Il se rend pour la première fois au Brésil avec un projet éditorial bien précis : la bossa nova. Il a 20 ans et a l’étrange sensation de rentrer chez lui. Il apprend la langue en moins d’une semaine. Au cours de trois années sur place, il décroche des entretiens avec les plus grands (Gilberto Gil, Baden Powell, Nara Leão, Caetano, etc.). Sitôt de retour en France, il publie son premier livre, « Brasil Bossa Nova » en 1988 (Edisud), une anthologie de la bossa nova dont il est tombé amoureux. Son livre, préfacé par Georges Moustaki, reçoit le Grand Prix du Label France Brésil. On lui doit ensuite une série de romans noirs, publiés par les éditions Métailié, qui se déroulent dans la capitale phocéenne, sa ville de cœur, avec « L’Île aux femmes » et « Tu touches pas à Marseille » (1999), « De l’eau dans le grisou » (2001) et « Embrouilles au Vélodrome » (2002). En parallèle, il publie plusieurs pièces radiophoniques pour Radio France, ainsi que plusieurs livres pour la jeunesse.


Après la parution de ses romans policiers, il se consacre à l’écriture d’une série romanesque consacrée à l’histoire du Brésil, intitulée « Suite brésilienne », qui compte à ce jour neuf romans. En 2005 paraît « Corcovado » (Métailié, Prix Amerigo Vespucci 2005, Prix Gabrielle d’Estrées 2005), qui initie la série, et met en scène un jeune Marseillais des années 1920 découvrant Rio de Janeiro. À la demande de son éditrice, il termine bientôt une trilogie avec « Dans l’ombre du Condor » en 2006 et « Samba triste » en 2007. Puis, motivé par les nombreuses lettres de ses lecteurs, il part sur les traces des aïeux de ses deux héros récurrents hauts en couleurs, Jean Dimare et Zumbi, brossant ainsi l’histoire brésilienne de la fin du 17ème siècle aux années 1980, en insérant ses petites histoires dans la grande Histoire avec « Samba triste », « Zumbi » (Buchet-Chastel). Publié par les éditions Le Passage pour les 5 romans suivants, il continue sa saga avec « Pour tout l’or du Brésil » (2011) et « Pour l’amour de Rio » (2012) autour des influences de la domination portugaise et des intrigues de la cour. Il signe le septième volume de sa « Suite brésilienne » avec « Brasil » en 2013, fresque qui s’ouvre sur la défaite du roi Dom Joao VI et les prémices de l’indépendance du Brésil. Son 8ème opus « Saudade » parait en 2014, et raconte le Brésil de l’aube du XXe siècle, tandis que l’esclavage vit ses dernières heures et que Rio de Janeiro devient peu à peu une métropole au rayonnement international. Le 9ème volet paraît enfin en 2015 avec « 12, rue Carioca » qui fait voyager le lecteur de Rio de Janeiro à Marseille, et l’entraîne dans une France et un Brésil prêts à entrer dans le XXe siècle…


Ses romans, très documentés, sont truffés d’humour qui est, selon Jean-Paul Delfino, la meilleure des armes pour notamment, dénoncer les pouvoirs en place. Jean-Paul affirme alors écrire pour émouvoir et prône « une littérature populaire » qui passe par les tripes. Toujours vraisemblables et documentées, ses histoires exigent un important travail de recherche – un comble pour celui qui a fui le journalisme et élevé en art de vivre son inclinaison pour le farniente !


Après « Brasil bossa nova » (1988) et « Brasil : a musica » (Parenthèses, 1998), Jean-Paul continue ses anthologies de la musique brésilienne avec « Couleur Brasil » en 2014, édité chez Le Passage et en coédition avec Radio France, ouvrage qui raconte la musique brésilienne en 40 chansons. Jean-Paul y dévoile en connaisseur gourmand les plus grands standards musicaux brésiliens, chansons mythiques fredonnées aux 4 coins du globe, qu’il ponctue d’anecdotes nous révélant un monde fantastique. Ses écrits autour de la bossa nova seront sublimés par son livre « Bossa nova, la grande aventure du Brésil » en 2017 (Le Passage).


En 2016 sort son roman, « Les Pêcheurs d’étoiles », Prix des Lycéens du Salon du livre de Chaumont, qui entraîne le lecteur sur les traces d’Erik Satie et Blaise Cendrars, et dans le Paris des Années folles. Jean-Paul devient alors lauréat du Prix des Romancières 2019 pour « Les voyages de sable » paru pour la rentrée littéraire de 2018, splendide fresque autour d’une malédiction : l’immortalité. Avec ces deux romans, il sent qu’il a gravi une nouvelle marche dans son parcours d’auteur, puis de romancier. Aujourd’hui, il commence à accepter sans trop rougir le fait qu’il soit devenu un écrivain reconnu. Il confirme ainsi son statut avec la publication de son dernier roman « Assassins !» en 2019 (éditions Héloïse d’Ormesson) qui raconte les derniers jours d’Émile Zola à une période où le climat en France affiche ouvertement un antisémitisme délétère. 


Cheveux longs et bandeau, boucle d'oreille, clope au bec... Jean-Paul traverse la vie avec décontraction, assumant son style et ses choix en toutes circonstances. Avec la Provence pour attache et le Brésil pour patrie de cœur, cet écrivain mélomane et lusophone ne pouvait que croiser la route de Pierre Barouh… C’est ce dernier qui, lors de sa dernière visite à Bruxelles, a dit à Philippe Quevauviller que « Jean-Paul est un super pote qu’il faut que tu rencontres ». Il a d’ailleurs cherché à l’appeler, mais il n’a pu que laisser un message sur son répondeur. Une autre rivière souterraine s’était également créée, via Emmanuel de Ryckel, que Jean-Paul avait contacté en 2016 lors de l’écriture de son livre « Bossa nova, la grande aventure du Brésil ». Le contact était donc annoncé et une première rencontre se fait en novembre 2017, quand Jean-Paul rejoint la programmation Bossa Flor pour raconter « sa » bossa nova lors d’un spectacle sur l’histoire de cette musique. Il revient un an plus tard, et cette fois rencontre un autre amoureux du Brésil, Didier Sustrac, dont la rencontre avec Philippe avait également été générée par Pierre Barouh… C’est une sorte de famille qui se crée autour de Saravah, dans l’esprit des passeurs de la chanson française et de la musique brésilienne, et Jean-Paul retrouve Didier et Emmanuel Donzella, autre ami commun de Pierre, pour une nouvelle soirée bossa nova en février 2020. 

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor