Ana Rocha

Singer, composer, lyricist

Biography

https://www.facebook.com/ana.official.music

Bio-Ana-Rocha.jpg

Photo credit: ©Adrien Quevauviller

Ana Milena da Rocha Gaspar, born in 1987 in Berlin, is a Luso-German singer, composer and lyricist. As a child, while singing with her teacher during her piano lessons, she realized that she could make her passion for music her profession. She studied jazz singing at the Royal Conservatory of Brussels from 2005 to 2009. At the same time, she sung in various projects in classical music, jazz, pop, fado, salsa and bossa-nova. She started teaching singing privately in 2007.


In 2009, she moved to Berlin and started composing her own music. She deepened her love of literature and wrote her own texts during her master's degree in General and Comparative Literature at the Free University of Berlin (2013-2018). With German and Portuguese roots, her texts, the central point of her work, tell a life story, full of varied landscapes from the different places from which they draw their sources, a search for answers and truth, love and the saudade of past times. 


One of her first projects has been the result of encounters dating back to his teenage years, friendships with Pierre Gillet (guitar), Thibault Dille (accordion, piano) and Miguel Rosal Martins (double bass), who were guided by the singer Cristina Rosal, with tours in Brazil and Belgium around Portuguese and Brazilian ballads. The resulted is a first album, Espelhos - Canções Portuguesas in 2011, followed by a second CD produced by Swami Jr, Encontros d'Agua, in 2015. 


Ana is active on the Berlin world music and jazz scene. She sings and writes for numerous groups and projects of different musical genres: Ana & the Duorkestra with Thibault Dille and Pierre Gillet, in duo with guitarist Filipe Duarte, as a guest with Bossa Flor, as the leader of her solo project ANA and with Belgian jazz pianist Diederik Wissels. Her personal compositions, written in collaboration with guitarist Thomas Maillet, are influenced by different styles, ranging from jazz to pop, rock and folk, reflecting various musical references and moving from energetic to warm or melancholic atmospheres. 


She also works as a singing teacher in several music schools in Berlin and the joy of singing with children and adults led her to train as a choir conductor in 2017.


Ana joined the programme led by Philippe Quevauviller (Bossa Flor) with the group Espelhos in 2014 and 2015. She was invited to a French-speaking bossa nova concert in March 2016 by the Sextet Bossa Flor, and sung in duo with Pierre Barouh, one of whose recordings (La nuit des masques) was included in the album "Rencontres en bossa - De Jobim à Barouh" (2018). In the same year (2016) she took part in the show "Une petite histoire de la bossa nova", in 2017 in a tribute to Pierre Barouh and in 2018 in a concert about the links between French chanson and bossa nova. The same year, she recorded two tracks from the EP "Feminino" (2019) which was released live in October 2019.


Her latest news are the success of her Crowdfunding campaign (finished in February 2020) which allowed her to produce her EP of her compositions with Thomas Maillet (guitar), Boris Schmidt (bass) and Toine Cnockaert (drums), and the release of her new album on Igloo Records with pianist Diederik Wissels which is scheduled for the end of 2020.

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor

Ana Rocha

Chanteuse, compositrice, parolière

Biographie

https://www.facebook.com/ana.official.music

Bio-Ana-Rocha.jpg

Crédit photo : ©Adrien Quevauviller

Ana Milena da Rocha Gaspar, née en 1987 à Berlin, est chanteuse, compositrice et parolière luso-allemande. Enfant, alors qu'elle chante avec son professeur pendant ses cours de piano, elle réalise qu'elle pourrait faire de sa passion pour la musique son métier. Elle étudie le chant jazz au Conservatoire royal de Bruxelles de 2005 à 2009. En même temps, elle chante dans divers projets de musique classique, musicale, jazz, pop, fado, salsa et bossa-nova. Elle commence à enseigner le chant en privé en 2007.


En 2009, elle s'installe à Berlin et commence à composer sa propre musique. Elle approfondit son amour de la littérature et écrit ses propres textes lors de son master en Littérature générale et comparée à l'Université libre de Berlin (2013-2018). De racines allemandes et portugaises, ses textes, point central de son travail, racontent une histoire de vie, remplie de paysages variés provenant des différents endroits dont elles puisent ses sources, une recherche de réponses et de vérité, d'amour et de la saudade du temps passé. 


Un de ses premiers projets est le résultat de rencontres datant de son adolescence, des amitiés avec Pierre Gillet (guitare), Thibault Dille (accordéon, piano) et Miguel Rosal Martins (contrebasse), qui seront guidées par la chanteuse Cristina Rosal, avec des tournées au Brésil et en Belgique autour de ballades portugaises et brésiliennes. Il en résulte un premier album, Espelhos - Canções Portuguesas en 2011, puis un second CD produit par Swami Jr, Encontros d’Agua, en 2015. 


Ana est active sur la scène berlinoise de la musique du monde et du jazz. Elle chante et écrit pour de nombreux groupes et projets de différents genres musicaux : Ana & the Duorkestra avec Thibault Dille et Pierre Gillet, en duo avec le guitariste Filipe Duarte, en tant qu'invitée avec Bossa Flor, en tant que leader de son projet solo ANA et avec le pianiste de jazz belge Diederik Wissels. Ses compositions personnelles, écrites en collaboration avec le guitariste Thomas Maillet, sont influencées par différents styles, allant du jazz à la pop, au rock et au folk, reflétant diverses références musicales et passant d'ambiances énergiques à des ambiances chaudes ou mélancoliques. 


Elle travaille également comme professeur de chant dans plusieurs écoles de musique à Berlin et la joie de chanter avec des enfants et des adultes l'a amenée à suivre une formation de chef de chœur en 2017.


Ana rejoint la programmation animée par Philippe Quevauviller (Bossa Flor) avec le groupe Espelhos en 2014 et 2015. Elle est invitée à un concert de bossa nova francophone en mars 2016 par le Sextet Bossa Flor, et chante en duo avec Pierre Barouh dont un des enregistrements (La nuit des masques) est inclus dans l’album « Rencontres en bossa - De Jobim à Barouh » (2018). Elle participe la même année (2016) au spectacle « Une petite histoire de la bossa nova », en 2017 à un hommage à Pierre Barouh et en 2018 à un concert autour des liens entre la chanson française et la bossa nova. La même année, elle enregistre deux titres de l’EP "Feminino" (2019) dont le lancement se fait en concert en octobre 2019.


Son actualité est le succès de sa campagne Crowdfunding (terminée en février 2020) qui lui a permis de réaliser son EP de ses compositions avec Thomas Maillet (guitare), Boris Schmidt (basse) et Toine Cnockaert (batterie). De plus, le lancement de son nouvel album chez Igloo Records avec le pianiste Diederik Wissels est prévu en fin d’année 2020.

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor