Roberto de Oliveira

Author, composer, arranger,
Multi-instrumentalist

Biography

Roberto-de-Oliveira-800.png

Photo credit: ©Philippe Quevauviller

Roberto de Oliveira is a Brazilian author, composer, arranger and multi-instrumentalist, born in Fortaleza, and based in Lille since 2009 as musical director of the Brasil Afro Funk collective. Self-taught, Roberto studied music by listening to his grandfather every Sunday on the accordion. He then trained at the Centro Educacional Padre João Piamarta in Fortaleza, and then continued at the Conservatoire à Rayonnement Régional de Lille with Christian Bogaert. A member of the OMB (Brazilian Order of Musicians), he toured Europe several times with the Dona Luíza Távora Orchestra, and played twice for Pope John Paul II at the Vatican (1997-2000). He then accompanied numerous Brazilian and international artists and popular music groups. When he arrived in France in 2009 as musical director of the Ballet Art Populaire de Fortaleza (BAPF), Roberto decided to settle in Lille at the invitation of the Brasil Afro Funk collective. 


In 2013-2014, he carried out an artistic residency for 6 months in the mining basin (Communauté de Commune du Cœur d'Osrevent). This work with former miners' bands and music schools brings together the North of France and the North East of Brazil through frevo (typical Recife carnival music). This project opened the doors of Lille 3000, which organised a parade called RENAISSANCE in the streets of Lille in 2015, during which he directed the bands and music schools (representing over 300 musicians). From 2015 to 2017, he participated in the recording of two opuses of the artist Toninho Almeida as composer and instrumentalist (Deu forró no samba and Intact). He recorded a choro album with the group Os Brasileirinhos as an instrumentalist and composer. In April 2017, he launched his first solo album "Sertão" (funk, frevo, forró, jazz, samba), which honours the Brazilian masters Sivuca and Oswaldinho, at a ball in Lille-Fives. As artistic director of the Açaí Association, Roberto is organising the first choro festival in Northern France in 2018: the Lille Choro Festival. This work has an educational component of training chorões (choro musicians), raising awareness in schools, old people's homes, conservatories, and finally dissemination (organisation of concerts in Lille-Brussels-Paris). The recording of a choro album by the trio Caldo de Cana (Roberto de Oliveira, trombone/mandolin; Rosivaldo Cordeiro, 7-string guitar, mandolin; Osman Martins, cavaquinho, pandeiro) takes place in autumn 2018 to support the organisation of this new festival.


Roberto crossed paths with Philippe Quevauviller at the first Lille Choro Festival in 2018. In October 2019, he was invited to participate in the Bossa Flor programme as part of a Franco-Brazilian mini-festival. On mandolin and trombone, he participates in the project "Brassens dans tous ses états" with the trio Soltacorda composed of Vitor Garbelotto, Osman Martins and himself.

Roberto de Oliveira

Auteur, compositeur, arrangeur,

Multi-instrumentiste

Biographie

Roberto-de-Oliveira-800.png

Crédit photo : ©Philippe Quevauviller

Roberto de Oliveira est un auteur, compositeur, arrangeur et multiinstrumentiste brésilien, né à Fortaleza, et basé à Lille depuis 2009 en tant que directeur musical du collectif Brasil Afro Funk. Autodidacte, Roberto étudie la musique en écoutant son grand-père tous les dimanches à l’accordéon. Ensuite, il suit une formation au Centro Educacional Padre João Piamarta à Fortaleza, puis poursuit au Conservatoire à Rayonnement Régional de Lille au côté de Christian Bogaert. Membre de l’OMB (Ordre des Musiciens du Brésil), il effectue plusieurs tournées en Europe au sein de l’Orchestre Dona Luíza Távora, et joue notamment à deux reprises devant le pape Jean-Paul II au Vatican (1997-2000). Par la suite, il accompagne de nombreux artistes et groupes de Musique Populaire Brésilienne et internationaux. Lors de son arrivée en France en 2009 en tant que directeur musical du Ballet Art Populaire de Fortaleza (BAPF), Roberto décide de poser ses valises à Lille à l’invitation du collectif Brasil Afro Funk. 


En 2013-2014, il réalise une résidence artistique pendant 6 mois dans le bassin minier (Communauté de Commune du Cœur d’Osrevent). Ce travail auprès des harmonies d’anciens mineurs et écoles de musique met en dialogue le Nord de la France et le Nordeste du Brésil par le biais du frevo (musique typique du carnaval de Recife). Ce projet lui ouvre les portes de Lille 3000 qui organise en 2015 une parade appelée RENAISSANCE dans les rues de Lille pendant laquelle il dirige les harmonies et écoles de musiques (représentant plus de 300 musiciens). De 2015 à 2017, il participe à l’enregistrement de deux opus de l’artiste Toninho Almeida en tant que compositeur et instrumentiste (Deu forró no samba et Intact). Il enregistre un album de choro avec le groupe Os Brasileirinhos en tant qu’instrumentiste et compositeur. En avril 2017, il lance son premier album solo « Sertão » (funk, frevo, forró, jazz, samba), qui honore les maîtres brésiliens Sivuca et Oswaldinho, à l’occasion d’un bal à Lille-Fives. En tant que directeur artistique de l’Association Açaí, Roberto organise le premier festival de choro du Nord de la France en 2018 : le Lille Choro Festival. Ce travail possède un volet éducatif de formation de chorões (musiciens de choro), de sensibilisation dans les écoles, maisons de retraite, conservatoires, et enfin de diffusion (organisation de concerts à Lille-Bruxelles-Paris). L’enregistrement d’un album de choro du trio Caldo de Cana (Roberto de Oliveira, trombone/mandoline ; Rosivaldo Cordeiro, guitar 7 cordes, mandoline ; Osman Martins, cavaquinho, pandeiro) a lieu à l’automne 2018 pour appuyer l’organisation de ce festival inédit.


Roberto croise la route de Philippe Quevauviller lors du premier Festival de Choro de Lille en 2018. Il est invité en octobre 2019 à participer à la programmation Bossa Flor dans le cadre d’un mini-festival franco-brésilien. A la mandoline et au trombone, il participe au projet « Brassens dans tous ses états » avec le trio Soltacorda composé de Vitor Garbelotto, Osman Martins et lui-même.