Michel Mainil

Saxophonist, clarinettist, composer

Biography

Michel-Mainil--800.jpg

Photo credit: ©Robert Hansenne

Saxophonist and clarinettist Michel Mainil is one of the most active musicians on the jazz scene, both in Belgium and abroad. He began his musical training in the music academy circuit before attending the Jazz Seminar of the Conservatory of Liège, the Koninklijk Conservatorium Brussel and various jazz and improvised music courses (Steve Houben, Barre Phillips).


He performed very early in his career in numerous groups or formations of all styles: small or large jazz groups, salsa groups, African music combos, interventions in theatrical and poetic projects, numerous studio recordings, etc. Attracted by Africa, he stayed in Cameroon where he was introduced to African music and performed there. Michel participates in numerous theatrical projects, notably with the Studio-théâtre, the Collectif Théâtre, Aucun Mérite, the Théâtre Jean Vilar etc. and directs his own projects, including the Spanish Jazz Project, Victor Jara, le Poète au Chant Libre etc. He regularly collaborates with Eloi Baudimont (Mali Mali, Fanfare Détournée), Hughes Maréchal, Bruno Castellucci, Thomas Champagne, Pascal Michaux, Gino Lattuca, Lisa Rosillo, Antoine Cirri, Alain Rochette etc. His discography consists of a dozen CDs recorded between 2009 and 2020 with the Michel Mainil 4tet, in particular Reflections in Blue (2009), Spanish Jazz Project (2013), If you Missed the Beginning (2015), The Christmas Songbook and Soul Voyage (2017), Vitor Jara, le Poète au Chant Libre (2020). He has composed more than 70 scores for theatre and film. 


Besides Belgium, Michel Mainil has performed in France, Holland, Great Britain, Morocco, Cameroon, Poland, Italy, Quebec and Mali. At the same time, he gives numerous jazz workshops, notably for the Province of Hainaut and the Gaume Jazz Festival. He is also a teacher at the Academy, at the "Mouvement" school in Waterloo, at the Boîte à Zic in Nivelles, and coordinates music-theatre improvisation workshops (Collectif 1984, Centre Barbiana). Michel was the curator of the "We Want Jazz" exhibition for the City of Mons, and has been directing the Blue Stone Big Band (Soignies) since 2022. Finally, he is also the author of the book "Memories of you" dedicated to the double bassist and cellist José Bedeur (Editions Bossa Flor) published in 2021. 


He crossed paths with Bossa Flor in 2015 as part of the "Arts en Scène et en Saisons" festival with the Spanish Jazz Project, and has remained in contact with Philippe Quevauviller ever since. The Hôbalala Jazz project was born from their meeting with Alexandre Latora (guitar) and Osman Martins (percussion), who was joined by Chris Vaassen (double bass).

Michel Mainil

Saxophoniste, clarinettiste, compositeur

Biographie

Michel-Mainil--800.jpg

Crédit photo : ©Robert Hansenne

Saxophoniste, clarinettiste, Michel Mainil figure parmi les musiciens les plus actifs sur la scène jazz, tant en Belgique qu’à l’étranger. Il entame sa formation musicale par le circuit des académies de musique avant de fréquenter le Séminaire de jazz du Conservatoire de Liège, le Koninklijk Conservatorium Brussel et différents stages de jazz et de musique improvisée (Steve Houben, Barre Phillips).


Il s’est produit très tôt au sein de nombreux groupes ou de formations tous styles : petites ou grandes formations de jazz, groupes de salsa, combos de musique africaine, interventions dans des projets théâtraux, poétiques, nombreux enregistrements studio, etc. Attiré par l’Afrique, il séjournera au Cameroun où il s’initiera à la musique africaine et s’y produira. Michel participe à de nombreux projets théâtraux, notamment avec le Studio-théâtre, le Collectif Théâtre, Aucun Mérite, le Théâtre Jean Vilar etc. et dirige ses propres projets dont le Spanish Jazz Project, Victor Jara, le Poète au Chant Libre etc. Il collabore régulièrement avec Eloi Baudimont (Mali Mali, Fanfare Détournée), Hughes Maréchal, Bruno Castellucci, Thomas Champagne, Pascal Michaux, Gino Lattuca, Lisa Rosillo, Antoine Cirri, Alain Rochette etc. Sa discographie se compose d’une dizaine de CDs enregistrés entre 2009 et 2020 avec le Michel Mainil 4tet, en particulier Reflections in Blue (2009), Spanish Jazz Project (2013), If you Missed the Beginning (2015), The Christmas Songbook et Soul Voyage (2017), Vitor Jara, le Poète au Chant Libre (2020). Il a composé de plus de 70 musiques pour le théâtre et le cinéma. 


Outre la Belgique, Michel Mainil s’est produit en France, Hollande, Grande-Bretagne, Maroc, Cameroun, Pologne, Italie, Québec et Mali. En parallèle, il donne de nombreux stages de jazz, notamment pour la Province de Hainaut et le Gaume Jazz Festival. Il est également professeur en Académie, à l’Ecole “Mouvement” à Waterloo, à la Boîte à Zic à Nivelles, et coordonne des stages d’improvisations musico-théâtrales (Collectif 1984, Centre Barbiana). Michel a été Commissariat de l’Exposition « We Want Jazz » pour la Ville de Mons, et dirige le Blue Stone Big Band (Soignies) depuis 2022. Enfin, il est aussi auteur de l’ouvrage « Memories of you » consacré au contrebassiste et violoncelliste José Bedeur (Editions Bossa Flor) paru en 2021. 


Il a croisé la route de Bossa Flor en 2015 dans le cadre du festival « Arts en Scène et en Saisons » avec le Spanish Jazz Project, et est resté en contact depuis avec Philippe Quevauviller. Le projet Hôbalala Jazz est né de leur rencontre avec Alexandre Latora (guitare) et Osman Martins (percussions), auquel s’est associé Chris Vaassen (contrebasse).