Matteo Carola

Author, composer, singer, guitarist

Biography

Matteo-800.png

Photo credit: ©Philippe Quevauviller

Matteo Carola is a musician trained in jazz guitar at the Royal Conservatory of Brussels. In parallel to the study and practice of jazz, he became interested in Brazilian music at an early age.


Initially enchanted by the guitar playing and the magical voice of João Gilberto, he then discovered, thanks to his jazz guitar teacher of Brazilian origin, the sambas of Cartola and Nelson Cavaquinho, whose rhythms and sounds (in particular the 7-string guitar playing) attracted him immediately.


Shortly after graduating from the conservatory, in 2012, Matteo Carola had the pleasure of discovering choro. Fascinated by this new style, he made several study trips to Brazil (2013, 2016 and 2019), where he learned the cavaquinho (a small 4-string guitar typical of choro and samba) and discovered all the scope, sophistication and beauty of Brazilian guitar playing.


This strong passion for Brazilian music did not make him abandon jazz: in 2013 he formed the sextet God Save The Swing! with saxophonist Kenny Jeanney. The group recorded two albums, the second of which featured singer Célia Kameni.


For some years now, he has also been exploring Neapolitan songs (his grandfather's homeland) with his uncle, singer Lorenzo Carola.


In 2016, on his return from his second study trip to Brazil, Matteo Carola met singer Stéphanie Scultore, who is also passionate about Brazilian music. Together they created the 4tet Rosa, with Mathieu Robert on saxophone and Falk Schrauwen on percussion. Their first album "Chorando Sim" was released in 2019 under the Bossa Flor Music label and mixes compositions of the group with covers of sambas. A second album is currently in preparation (to be released in 2022), this time consisting mainly of original compositions.


The members of 4tet Rosa took advantage of the 2020-2021 period of confinement to compose and create the musical show for young audiences "GATO". This is an adaptation of Jorge Amado's story 'The Cat and the Swallow', with the music composed entirely by the 4tet and inspired by the author's home region, the Northeast of Brazil. The play will be performed in Belgium in the 2021-2022 season, and an album of the show is due to be recorded soon. 


His link with the dynamic Bossa Flor is on the one hand via the musical programming (and label) of the association, and the album project "Brassens dans tous ses états" in which he will record two titles in duet with Stéphanie Scultore, and the participation of Philippe Quevauviller and Osman Martins.

Matteo Carola

Guitariste, chanteur, auteur, compositeur​​

Biographie

Matteo-800.png

Crédit photo : ©Philippe Quevauviller

Matteo Carola est un musicien formé en guitare jazz au Conservatoire Royal de Bruxelles. En parallèle à l'étude et la pratique du jazz, il s'intéresse très tôt à la musique brésilienne.
D'abord envoûté par le jeu de guitare et la voix magique de João Gilberto, il découvre ensuite, grâce à son professeur de guitare jazz d'origine brésilienne, les sambas de Cartola et Nelson Cavaquinho, dont les rythmes et les sonorités (en particulier le jeu de guitare 7 cordes) l'attirent immédiatement.


Peu après sa sortie du conservatoire, en 2012, c'est le choro que Matteo Carola a le plaisir de découvrir. Pris de passion pour ce nouveau style, il fait plusieurs voyages d'étude au Brésil (2013, 2016 et 2019), où il apprend le cavaquinho (petite guitare à 4 cordes typique du choro et de la samba) et y découvre toute l'ampleur, la sophistication et la beauté du jeu de guitare brésilienne.


Cette forte passion pour les musiques brésiliennes ne lui fait pas délaisser le jazz : il forme en 2013 le sextet God Save The Swing! avec le saxophoniste Kenny Jeanney. Le groupe enregistrera 2 albums, dont le deuxième avec la participation de la chanteuse Célia Kameni.


Depuis quelques années, il explore également la chanson napolitaine (la terre de son grand-père) avec son oncle le chanteur Lorenzo Carola.


En 2016, au retour de son deuxième voyage d'étude au Brésil, Matteo Carola rencontre la chanteuse Stéphanie Scultore, elle aussi passionnée de musique brésilienne. Ensemble ils créent le 4tet Rosa, avec Mathieu Robert au saxophone et Falk Schrauwen aux percussions. Leur premier album « Chorando Sim » est sorti en 2019 sous le label Bossa Flor Music et mêle compositions du groupe et reprises de sambas. Un second disque est en cours de préparation (sortie prévue en 2022), qui comprendra cette fois essentiellement des compositions originales.


Les membres 4tet Rosa ont profité des périodes de confinement 2020-2021 pour composer et créer le spectacle musical pour jeune public « GATO ». Il s'agit d'une adaptation du conte de Jorge Amado « Le chat et l'hirondelle », dont la musique entièrement composée par le 4tet est inspirée par la région d'origine de l'auteur, le Nordeste du Brésil. La pièce sera distribuée en Belgique à la saison 2021-2022, et un album du spectacle devrait être enregistré prochainement. 


Son lien avec la dynamique Bossa Flor est d’une part via la programmation musicale (et le label) de l’association, et le projet d’album « Brassens dans tous ses états » dans lequel il a enregistré deux titres en duo avec Stéphanie Scultore, et la participation de Philippe Quevauviller et d’Osman Martins.