Cecilia Peçanha

Recorder, guitar, vocals

Biography

Cecilia-Peçanha-784.png

Photo credit: ©Marie-Hélène Tercafs

Cecilia Peçanha is a multi-instrumentalist and singer. She began her musical studies in Brazil with guitar, recorder and singing, and has dedicated her academic and professional studies to early music by participating in several projects/ensembles/courses, such as the Early Music Ensemble of the University of Londrina and Tetracorde Consort, the International Early Music Festival of Londrina and Juíz de Fora (Minas Gerais, Brazil), and the Early Music Festival of Lisbon and Barcelona. Cecilia studied popular and classical guitar at the University of Londrina. She participated in various workshops with several recorder, singing and chamber music teachers, and obtained a Bachelor's degree in Early Music / Recorder from ESMAE - School of Music and Performing Arts, with Pedro Sousa Silva, with the highest distinction. Supported by an Erasmus scholarship, she studied singing in early music with Magna Ferreira, as a second instrument. Cecilia also holds a Master's degree in Early Music / Recorder from the Koninklijk Conservatorium Brussel, where she studied with Bart Coen and Peter de Clercq. After her Master's degree, she followed a Post-Graduation course in Recorder / Jazz / Free Improvisation with Kris Defoort at the Koninklijk Conservatorium Brussel to deepen her passion for Jazz and Contemporary Music by writing compositions and arrangements for solo recorder, duets, trios and quartets. She participated in the Medieval and Renaissance Music Conference at the University of Birmingham, England in 2014, and at the ULB in Brussels in 2015, presenting a lecture on the Codex Faenza and the practice of diminution / improvisation in the Middle Ages. She gave an improvisation workshop on the Renaissance and recorder lessons at the 26th Londrina International Music Festival (2016, Brazil).


Cecilia currently plays recorder in the ensemble Les Alchimistes (Brussels). She recorded an album (Ciclorama, 2011) with "A presença das Formigas" - Portuguese folk music. She is a guitarist, singer, flutist, composer and director of the Blue Bossa Liberté quartet, with whom she has recorded 2 albums in Belgium, one of which was supported by Ça Balance and the Wallonia-Brussels Federation. She has taught recorder at the Conservatory of Music of Porto, the German School of Porto, the Bando dos Gambozinos and the Conservatories of Music of Aveiro and Gaia (all in Portugal). In addition, Cecilia teaches recorder and flute at the Jan-Niklaas Music School (Dworp / Hal), recorder and guitar at MusicArt (Tervuren) and is a Musical Awakening instructor at the Imagine Music School - Tervuren (all in Belgium). She gives singing and flute lessons at Imagine (Tervuren) and guitar and music theory lessons at the Blanche de Castille school (Brussels). Finally, she has just finished her studies in Aggregation / Pedagogical Studies for the recorder at the Royal Conservatory of Brussels with the flutist Thomas Deprez as tutor.


Cecilia crossed the path of Bossa Flor Music in 2014 (Festival Âmes Latines) and 2015 (Festival Arts en Scène et en Saisons), and associates her art with that of the Soltacorda Trio around choros and Brazilian classical music.

Cecilia Peçanha

Flûtise, guitariste, chanteuse

Biographie

Cecilia-Peçanha-784.png

Crédit photo : ©Marie-Hélène Tercafs

Cecilia Peçanha est multi-instrumentiste et chanteuse. Elle a commencé ses études musicales au Brésil avec la guitare, la flûte à bec et le chant, et a dédié ses études académiques et professionnelles à la musique ancienne en participant à plusieurs projets / ensembles / cours, tels que l’ensemble de musique ancienne de l'Université de Londrina et Tetracorde Consort, le Festival International de Musique Ancienne de Londrina et de Juíz de Fora (Minas Gerais, Brésil), et le Festival de Musique Ancienne de Lisbonne et de Barcelone. Cecilia étudie la guitare populaire et classique à l’Université de Londrina. Elle participe à différents ateliers avec plusieurs professeurs de flûte à bec, chant et musique de chambre, et obtient un Baccalauréat en Musique Ancienne / Flûte à bec de l'ESMAE - École de Musique et d'Arts du Spectacle, avec Pedro Sousa Silva, avec la plus haute distinction. Soutenue par une bourse Erasmus, elle étudie dans la même période le chant en musique ancienne avec Magna Ferreira, comme deuxième instrument. Cecilia est également titulaire d'un Master en Musique Ancienne / Flûte à bec du Koninklijk Conservatorium Brussel, où elle a étudié avec Bart Coen et Peter de Clercq. Après son Master, elle a suivi un cours de Post-Graduation en Flûte à bec / Jazz / Improvisation Libre avec Kris Defoort au Koninklijk Conservatorium Brussel pour approfondir sa passion pour le Jazz et par la Musique Contemporaine avec l'écriture de compositions et d’arrangements pour la flûte à bec solo, duos, trios et quatuors. Elle a participé à la Conférence sur la Musique Médiévale et de la Renaissance à l'Université de Birmingham, en Angleterre en 2014, et à l’ULB à Bruxelles en 2015, pour présenter une conférence sur le Codex Faenza et la pratique de la diminution / improvisation au Moyen-Âge. Elle a donné un atelier d'improvisation sur la Renaissance et des leçons de flûte à bec au 26ème Festival International de Musique de Londrina (2016, Brésil).


Actuellement, Cecilia joue de la flûte à bec dans l'ensemble Les Alchimistes (Bruxelles). Elle a enregistré un album (Ciclorama, 2011) avec « A presença das Formigas » - musique populaire portugaise. Elle est guitariste, chanteuse, flûtiste, compositrice et directrice du quatuor Blue Bossa Liberté, avec lequel elle a enregistré 2 albums en Belgique, dont l'un soutenu par Ça Balance et la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles. Elle a enseigné la flûte à bec au Conservatoire de musique de Porto, à l’École Allemande de Porto, au Bando dos Gambozinos et au Conservatoire de musique d’Aveiro et de Gaia (toutes situées au Portugal). De plus, Cecilia est professeure de flûte à bec et flûte traversière à l'école de musique Jan-Niklaas (Dworp / Hal), de flûte à bec et guitare à MusicArt (Tervuren) et animatrice d’Éveil Musical à l'école de musique Imagine - Tervuren (toutes en Belgique). Elle donne cours de chant et flûte à Imagine (Tervuren) et cours de guitare et solfège à l’école Blanche de Castille (Bruxelles). Enfin, elle vient de terminer ses études en Agrégation / Études Pédagogiques pour la flûte à bec, au Conservatoire Royal de Bruxelles avec le flûtiste Thomas Deprez comme Tuteur.


Cecilia a croisé la route de Bossa Flor Music en 2014 (Festival Âmes Latines) et 2015 (Festival Arts en Scène et en Saisons), et associe son art à celui du Soltacorda Trio autour de choros et musique classique brésilienne.