Ylva Berg

Singer

Biography

www.ylvaberg.com

Bio-Ylva-Berg-800.jpg

Photo credit: ©Adrien Quevauviller

Born in Eindhoven in 1981, Ylva Berg began her musical activities at the age of 8. Her parents, of Swedish and Dutch-Caribbean origin, were great lovers of various types of music, from classical to jazz, from Balkan folk to Caribbean rhythms. With their support, singing quickly became a source of energy and fulfilment for her, through the National Children's Choir of the Netherlands (Nationaal Nederlands Kinderkoor) and private classical singing lessons. Her long history with piano, recorder and singing will accompany her until today. 


The desire to sing jazz and Brazilian music grew during her teenage years, and Ylva started studying at the jazz conservatory in Maastricht and psychology at the university. In 2000, she decided to move to Brussels, where she left the instruments in the background for a few years, while she finished her studies in Socio-cultural Sciences at the VUB and travelled for five months to write her dissertation in Porto Alegre, Brazil. When she returned, the desire to sing took shape by leading a group of traditional songs from around the world called "Canteria", a joint project with Flávio Maciel de Souza. With him, she also developed her repertoire of Brazilian music in different formations and projects. In her projects, she seeks to bring out the vital and universal force of music, taking inspiration from musicians and artists from all over the world. She also combines musical initiation for children and teachers with her profession of coaching and stress management through the methods of mindfulness and deep democracy.


Currently, Ylva is forming an a capella singing duo with Felisa Cereceda: La Louve Heureuse. Their main project is to discover, deepen and arrange for 2 voices the repertoire of Violeta Parra, a renowned Chilean artist. Since 2019 they also work with the Argentinean guitarist Martin López Muro, in trio.


Ylva crossed paths with Bossa Flor in 2012 during a show on the history of bossa nova. A recent re-contact during a concert with Didier Sustrac in May 2019 gave the idea for an adaptation of the show with a narration in Dutch as part of the Bossa Flor2020-2021 season.

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor

Ylva Berg

Chanteuse

Biographie

www.ylvaberg.com

Bio-Ylva-Berg-800.jpg

Crédit photo : ©Adrien Quevauviller

Née à Eindhoven en 1981, Ylva Berg commence ses activités musicales dès l’âge de 8 ans. Ses parents d’origines Suédoise et Hollandaise-Antillaise étaient de grands amateurs de musiques diverses, du classique au jazz, du folk des Balkans aux rythmes des Caraïbes. Avec leur soutien, le chant est rapidement devenu pour elle une source d’énergie et épanouissement, à travers la Chorale Nationale des Enfants des Pays Bas (Nationaal Nederlands Kinderkoor) et des cours de chants classique particuliers. Sa longue histoire avec le piano, la flûte à bec et le chant l’accompagnera jusqu'à aujourd'hui. 


L’envie de chanter le jazz et la musique brésilienne grandit pendant l’adolescence, et Ylva entame des études au conservatoire de jazz à Maastricht ainsi que des études de psychologie à l’université. En 2000, elle décide de déménager à Bruxelles, où elle laisse les instruments en arrière-plan pendant quelques années, le temps de terminer des études en Sciences Socio-culturelles à la VUB et de faire un voyage de cinq mois pour écrire son mémoire à Porto Alegre, au Brésil. En revenant, l’envie de chanter prend forme en dirigeant un groupe de chants traditionnels du monde « Canteria », projet commun avec Flávio Maciel de Souza. Avec lui, elle développe également son répertoire de musique brésilienne dans des différents formations et projets. Elle cherche dans ses projets à faire sortir la force vitale et universelle de la musique, en s’inspirant des musicien(ne)s et artistes de tous les coins du monde. Elle combine également l’initiation musicale pour enfants et professeurs avec son métier de coaching et gestion de stress par les méthodes de la pleine conscience et de la démocratie profonde.


Actuellement, Ylva forme un duo de chant a capella avec Felisa Cereceda : La Louve Heureuse. Leur projet principal consiste à faire découvrir, approfondir et arranger pour 2 voix le répertoire de Violeta Parra, artiste renommée chilienne. Depuis 2019 elles travaillent aussi avec le guitariste argentin Martin López Muro, en trio.


Ylva a croisé la route de Bossa Flor en 2012 lors d’un spectacle sur l’histoire de la bossa nova. Une reprise de contact récente lors d’un concert avec Didier Sustrac en mai 2019 a donné l’idée d’une adaptation du spectacle avec une narration en néerlandais dans le cadre de la saison Bossa Flor2020-2021. 

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor