Vitor Garbelotto

Guitariste sept cordes, arrangeur

Biography

www.vitorgarbelotto.com

Bio-Vitor-Garbelotto-800.jpg

Photo credit: ©Philippe Quevauviller

Born in 1981, Vitor Mateus Garbelotto is an emerging figure of the new generation of Brazilian guitarists who has built a solid international career over the last ten years. Brazilian, Italian, world citizen residing in France since 2016, Vitor shares the Brazilian sun with the French public. Between street festivals, private concerts and major national stages, such as "La Folle Journée", "Le Rendez-vous de l'Erdre", Le Lieu Unique and the Graslin Theatre, his music transcends and fascinates.


A versatile guitarist, already known for his remarkable debut and bold choices, his first album, "Radamés Gnattali - Complete works for solo guitar", has earned him the 2010 APCA Award (São Paulo Art Critics' Prize) and the Brazilian Music Award Nomination, as a revealing Artist. 


In 2015, he released his second album, entitled "Sarau para Radamés". This time, sharing his creativity and sensitivity around arrangements for solo guitar of classics from Brazilian music. Hailed by international critics, this album was the CD of the month by the French magazine "Guitare Classique Magazine".


From 2014 to 2016, Vitor was a member of the Tau Quartet guitar quartet. With this quartet, he toured three times in Denmark, where they gave more than forty concerts in public schools in several Danish cities.


His most recent work (2018), entitled "Loro Project", is the result of a meeting between the Garbelotto's Brazilian guitar and Henrik André's violin jazz. This project reveals to the public dialogues and connections between continents. In the free and improvised language of jazz, mainly translated by the violinist's strings, the quartet recording (with drums and double bass) presents jazz and South American sounds, intertwining works ranging from Tom Jobim to Chick Corea.


Whether for the rhythmic characteristic or the warm virtuosity that transports us to the radiant sun of his country, Garbelotto and his guitar are the bridge that leads to a rich experience in the Brazilian cultural universe.


Then based in Nantes, Vitor crossed paths with Philippe Quevauviller at the first Lille Choro Festival in 2018. They met again in Nantes in May 2019 to perform bossa nova classics as a duo. Vitor and Philippe share a bond with Pierre Barouh through their friendship with his son, Benjamin. In February 2020, he was invited to take part in the Bossa Flor program for a guitar encounter.  From this meeting was born the project "Cordes enchantées" of Bossa Flor in which he participates with his accomplice Osman Martins.

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor

Vitor Garbelotto

Guitariste sept cordes, arrangeur

Biographie

www.vitorgarbelotto.com

Bio-Vitor-Garbelotto-800.jpg

Crédit photo : ©Philippe Quevauviller

Né en 1981, Vitor Mateus Garbelotto est une figure émergente de la nouvelle génération de guitaristes brésiliens qui s'est construit une solide carrière internationale au cours des dix dernières années. Brésilien, italien, citoyen du monde résidant en France depuis 2016, Vitor partage le soleil brésilien avec le public français. Entre festivals de rue, concerts privés et grandes scènes nationales, telles que « La Folle Journée », « Le Rendez-vous de l'Erdre », Le lieu unique et le Théâtre Graslin, sa musique transcende et passionne.


Guitariste polyvalent, déjà reconnu pour ses débuts remarquables et ses choix audacieux, son premier album, « Radamés Gnattali - Complete works for solo guitar », lui a permis d’obtenir le Prix APCA 2010 (prix des critiques d’arts de São Paulo) et la Nomination au Prix de la Musique Brésilienne, en tant qu’Artiste révélation. 


En 2015, il publie son second album, intitulé « Sarau para Radamés ». Cette fois, partageant sa créativité et sa sensibilité autour des arrangements pour guitare seule de classiques de la musique brésilienne. Salué par la critique internationale, cet ouvrage a également été élu CD du mois par le magazine français « Guitare Classique Magazine ».


De 2014 à 2016, Vitor a fait partie du quatuor de guitares Tau Quartet. Avec ce quatuor, il a fait trois tournées en Danemark, où ils ont fait plus de quarante concerts, dans des écoles publiques en plusieurs villes danoises.  


Son travail le plus récent (2018), intitulé « Loro Project », est le résultat d'une rencontre entre le Brésil de Garbelotto et la France du violoniste Henrik André. Ce projet révèle au public des dialogues et des connexions entre les continents. Dans le langage libre et improvisé du jazz, principalement traduit par les cordes du violoniste, l’enregistrement en quatuor (avec batterie et contrebasse) présente des sonorités jazz et sud-américaines, entremêlant des œuvres allant de Tom Jobim à Chick Corea.


Que ce soit pour la caractéristique rythmique ou pour la chaleureuse virtuosité qui nous transporte vers le soleil radieux de son pays, Vitor et sa guitare sont le pont qui mène à une riche expérience dans l’univers culturel brésilien.


Alors basé à Nantes, Vitor croise la route de Philippe Quevauviller lors du premier Festival de Choro de Lille en 2018. Ils se retrouvent à Nantes en mai 2019 pour interpréter en duo des classiques de bossa nova. Vitor partage avec Philippe un lien avec Pierre Barouh, par leur amitié avec son fils, Benjamin. Il est invité en février 2020 à participer à la programmation Bossa Flor dans le cadre d’une rencontre en guitares. De cette rencontre est né le projet « Cordes enchantées » de Bossa Flor auquel il participe avec son complice Osman Martins.

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor