Stéphanie Scultore

Author, composer, singer, actress, teacher

Biography

Bio-Stephanie-Scultore.jpg

Photo credit: © Francis Schrauwen

Born in 1987, Stéphanie Scultore is a French vocal artist, singer, author, composer, actress and teacher. She began music at a very young age, first playing the piano then the guitar, and studied jazz singing at the JAM in Montpellier while she became interested in theatre and performing arts traditions. 


She then left for Paris, where she entered Marc Ernotte's class at the Conservatoire d'art dramatique (Paris VIIIème) and participated in parallel in numerous courses, many of which took place at the Cartoucherie of Vincennes and were directed by directors and teachers that she admires (Ariane Mnouchkine, Yoshi Oida, Philippe Hottier, Tapa Sudanna, Yves Sioui-Durant and Catherine Joncas of the Compagnie Ondinook) before entering the INSAS (Brussels) to learn directing in 2010. 


Eager to delve into the roots of the performing arts and the essential link between traditional, popular and sacred aspects, her Mediterranean origins (born in Nîmes in the south of France to a family of Italian, Portuguese and North African descent) provide her with a vast field of inspiration. 


Attached on the one hand to the world of childhood and in search of a language that is both poetic and direct, familiar, she developed during her studies writing projects similar to the autofiction "Manou je t'aime" (radio), "Un été à Noël" (theatre) in which she tried to translate by its musicality, its accents, its rhythms and its colours, a "family language", the fruit of the mixtures from which she comes from. 


The world of sounds remaining her "world of predilection", music (re)took little by little an essential place in her practice. She took jazz singing lessons with Chrystel Wautier and at the Lemmensinstituut with Lynn Cassiers. Jazz made her plunge into Brazilian music, first the bossa nova and then samba, choro and all the Brazilian popular and traditional music.  


In 2016 she met Matteo Carola (guitarist) who had just returned from Brazil and together with Mathieu Robert (soprano saxophonist) and Falk Schrauwen (percussionist) they created the quartet ROSA. Gathered around Brazilian popular music and their own compositions and texts, they advocate together a popular poetry and wish to pay a tribute through the Brazilian repertoire and the French and Portuguese language, to an acoustic music, demanding while being much popular and federative.


The same year she made a first trip to Brazil, to Rio, where she studied with the singer Nina Wirtti mainly, but also with the singer Ronaldo Gonçalves and took some guitar and percussion lessons. It was also during this trip that she met the cavaquinist and painter João Callado, author of the paintings illustrating ROSA's new album "Chorando Sim" released in October 2019 on the Bossa Flor label. Half compositions - half adaptations, it is recorded and mixed by Rudy Coclet.

Curious to deepen her vocal work in a more global approach of the body and internal mechanisms, she followed training courses in the Feldenkreiss method with Sylvie Storme and François Combeau which opened new perspectives of exploration. In this quest and adventure through body and voice, she was initiated to Capoeira Angola in 2019 during a new trip to Rio de Janeiro by Mestre Rodgerio. Immediately passionate and very inspired by this art, her sounds, this new universe where the popular and the sacred intermingle and play together, to the sound of the berimbau, she continues this practice in Brussels with Charel Perêrê d'Angoleiros do Mar.


We find her in several musical projects notably in the quartet ROSA with whom she created several projects: "A viagem" (EP album), "ROSA canta Cartola", "ROSA in the middle of guitars" in partnership with the guitarist Sandrine Vuidart and her 24 students of classical guitar, "Chorando Sim" their new album, and a new project in progress ... But also in some theatrical and performative projects, and as such is part of the team for the next choreographic creation of Adele Vandroth "Fatras". 


Finally, Stéphanie also teaches group and individual singing for adults and children, vocal work, especially for actors and is in charge of the Vocal Training Workshop at Cours Florent in Brussels since 2018. In all the work she undertakes (as an artist or teacher) music always holds a fundamental place for its universal character and its ability to speak and bring people together across all divides.


Her link with the dynamic Bossa Flor is on the one hand via the musical programming (and the label) of the association, and on the other hand via the album project "Brassens dans tous ses états" in which she will record several tracks in duo with Philippe Quevauviller and other musicians.

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor

Stéphanie Scultore

Autrice, compositrice, chanteuse, comédienne, enseignante

Biographie

Bio-Stephanie-Scultore.jpg

Crédit photo : ©Francis Schrauwen

Née en 1987, Stéphanie Scultore est une artiste vocale française, chanteuse, autrice, compositrice, comédienne et enseignante. Elle commence la musique très jeune, le piano puis la guitare et étudie le chant jazz au JAM à Montpellier tandis qu’elle s’intéresse au théâtre et aux traditions de spectacle vivant. 


Partie ensuite pour Paris, elle entre dans la classe de Marc Ernotte au conservatoire d’art dramatique du VIIIème et participe en parallèle à de nombreux stages dont beaucoup ont lieu à la cartoucherie de Vincennes et sont dirigés par des metteurs en scène et pédagogues qu’elle admire (Ariane Mnouchkine, Yoshi Oida, Philippe Hottier, Tapa Sudanna, Yves Sioui-Durant et Catherine Joncas de la Compagnie Ondinook) avant d’entrer à l’INSAS (Bruxelles) en mise en scène en 2010. 


Désireuse de creuser dans les racines des arts vivants et le lien essentiel entre les aspects traditionnels, populaires et sacrés, ses origines méditerranéennes (née à Nîmes dans le sud de la France d’une famille d’origine italienne, portugaise et d’Afrique du Nord) lui fournissent un vaste champ d’inspiration. 


Attachée d’une part à l’univers de l’enfance et à la recherche d’un langage à la fois poétique et direct, familier, elle développe pendant ses études des projets d’écriture s’apparentant à l’autofiction « Manou je t’aime » (radio), « Un été à Noël » (théâtre) dans lesquels elle tente de traduire par sa musicalité, ses accents, ses rythmes et ses couleurs, une « langue familiale », fruit des mélanges dont elle est issue. 


Le monde des sons restant son « monde de prédilection », la musique (re)prend peu à peu une place essentielle dans sa pratique. Elle prend des cours de chant jazz avec Chrystel Wautier et au Lemmensinstituut avec Lynn Cassiers. Le jazz la fait plonger dans la musique Brésilienne, d’abord la bossa nova et puis la samba, le choro et toute la musique la musique populaire brésilienne et traditionnelle.  


En 2016 elle rencontre Matteo Carola (guitariste) qui rentre à peine du Brésil et ils créent ensemble avec Mathieu Robert (saxophoniste soprano), et Falk Schrauwen (percussionniste) le quartet ROSA. Rassemblés autour de la musique populaire brésilienne et de leurs propres compositions et textes, ils prônent ensemble une poésie populaire et désirent remettre à l’honneur à travers le répertoire brésilien et la langue française et portugaise, une musique acoustique, exigeante et pour autant populaire et fédératrice.


La même année elle fait un premier voyage au Brésil, à Rio, où elle étudie auprès de la chanteuse Nina Wirtti principalement, mais aussi du chanteur Ronaldo Gonçalves et prend quelques cours de guitare et percussions. C’est aussi durant ce voyage qu’elle rencontre le cavaquiniste et peintre João Callado, auteur des peintures qui illustrent le nouvel album de ROSA « Chorando Sim » sorti en octobre 2019 sous le label Bossa Flor. Moitié compositions - moitié adaptations, il est enregistré et mixé par Rudy Coclet.

Curieuse d’approfondir le travail vocal dans une approche plus globale du corps et des mécanismes internes, elle suit des cours de formation à la méthode Feldenkreiss avec Sylvie Storme et François Combeau qui lui ouvrent de nouvelles perspectives d’exploration. Dans cette quête et aventure à travers le corps et la voix, elle est initiée à la Capoeira Angola en 2019 lors d’un nouveau voyage à Rio de Janeiro, par Mestre Rodgerio. Immédiatement passionnée et très inspirée par cet art, ses sons, ce nouvel univers ou le populaire et le sacré s’entremêlent et jouent ensemble, au son du berimbau, elle poursuit cette pratique à Bruxelles auprès de Charel Perêrê d’Angoleiros do Mar.
On la retrouve dans plusieurs projets musicaux notamment dans le quartet ROSA avec qui elle crée plusieurs projets : « A viagem » (album EP) , « ROSA canta Cartola », « ROSA au milieu des guitares » en partenariat avec la guitariste Sandrine Vuidart et ses 24 élèves de guitare classique, « Chorando Sim » leur nouvel album, et un nouveau projet en cours de création …  Mais aussi dans quelques projets théâtraux et performatifs, et fait à ce titre partie de l’équipe de la prochaine création chorégraphique d’Adèle Vandroth « Fatras ». 


Enfin, Stéphanie enseigne également le chant en groupe et individuel pour adultes et enfants, le travail vocal, notamment pour les comédiens et est en charge de l’Atelier de formation vocale au Cours Florent à Bruxelles depuis 2018. Dans tous les travaux qu’elle entreprend (en tant qu’artiste ou enseignante) la musique y tient toujours une place fondamentale pour son caractère universel et sa capacité à parler et rassembler au-delà de tout clivage.


Son lien avec la dynamique Bossa Flor est d’une part via la programmation musicale (et le label) de l’association, et le projet d’album « Brassens dans tous ses états » dans lequel elle enregistrera plusieurs titres en duo avec Philippe Quevauviller et d’autres musiciens. 

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor