Pierre Barouh

Walker, author, composer, singer, filmmaker, writer

Biography

Bio-Pierre-Barouh.jpg

Photo credit: ©Philippe Matsas / Saravah

It is a delicate exercise to write Pierre Barouh's biography as his career is so rich in experiences, encounters and achievements! He recounts himself in his book "Les rivières souterraines" (À vos pages, 2011), and his son Benjamin retraces the Saravah saga in his book "Saravah, c'est où l'horizon, 1967-1977" (Le mot et le reste, 2018). Anecdotes collected by Philippe Quevauviller are also recounted in "La vie est l'art des rencontres - Pierre Barouh, Anecdotes et chansons" (Bossa Flor, 2018). The interested reader will therefore find all the details on the career of this humanist with a big heart who said he was above all a walker. This biography flies over his life path that he left for other stars on December 28, 2016.


Pierre was born Elie in 1934. He grew up in Levallois-Perret in a family of cloth merchants, Jews from Turkey. During the Second World War, his parents hid him and his brother and sister in Montournais, Vendée, in three different families. Elie, from then on renamed Pierre, found refuge with Hilaire and Marie Rocher, of whom he will always speak with emotion as his adoptive parents. From these childhood years, he will say that he drew inspiration from songs such as "À bicyclette", "Des ronds dans l'eau" and "Crépuscule". Little inclined to study and more attracted by the side roads, the eternal walker that is Pierre Barouh began a career as a sports journalist and practiced volleyball assiduously.


In 1959, he left for Lisbon to meet his girlfriend of the moment for a missed appointment. Pierre discovered a world that will change the course of his life... life in the Bairro Alto, the meeting of the Brazilian musician Sivuca who initiate him to bossa nova made him decide to go to Brazil to meet the artists who make him vibrate, Vinicius de Moraes for the words, Antonio Carlos Jobim for the harmonies, João Gilberto for the syncopated rhythms. He found a cargo ship that took him to Rio... There, he did not meet the greats of the bossa nova, but exchanges that he had already sew the seed of the passer he has become. 


He was not only passionate about music but also about the beauty of words, and so he adapted Brazilian songs with his own poetry, without betraying them. One of them is "A noite do meu bem" (Dolores Duran) which he adapted into "The night of my love". On his return to Paris, he looked for a way to make these artists known. He told a friend at a dinner in a restaurant and sung him the song of Dolores Duran. A lady approached him, she was Brazilian, was surprised that he knew this song and invited him to a party she was giving at her home that same evening. Pierre went there, in the apartment were Vinicius de Moraes and Baden Powell. This is probably where his later journey was guided by what Vinicius himself taught: life is the art of meeting people...


Pierre then fed his daily life with various roles in the cinema. We saw him as the head of the guards giving Johnny Hallyday a line in the film "Where did you come from Johnny?" (1963). He also accepted roles in "Une fille à la dérive" of Paula Del Sol and "Une fille et des fusils" of Claude Lelouch. At the same time, he composed his first hit "Les filles du dimanche" and wrote for many performers such as Dalida, Marie Laforêt or Claude Goaty. Lucien Morisse (Europe 1, Disc'AZ) produced his first singles and launched his first hits composed by his accomplice Francis Lai: "Tes dix huit ans", "Nous", "Le courage d'aimer" and "Chanson pour Teddy".  Back in Brazil, he shot a documentary that has become mythical "Saravah" with his friend Baden Powell, we find the artists who formed the basis of what Brazilian Popular Music has become afterwards. This film was released on DVD, was forgotten for a while, and found a second life when it was re-released in Japan and then by Frémeaux & Associés in 2005. This film has since become cult in Brazil.


From the meeting with Baden the magic of the version of the "Samba da benção" was born, which under his pen became "Samba saravah". They recorded it in one evening. Pierre returned to France because he was called by Claude Lelouch to shoot in his film project "Un homme et une femme". He played the recording to the filmmaker who immediately changed the scenario of the film to insert a cult scene where Pierre sings "Samba saravah" to his wife (fictitious in the film, then soon in reality) played by Anouk Aimée. His royalties will also enable him to help Claude Lelouch to complete his budget to finish the film in which he wrote the original songs composed with his friend and accomplice Francis Lai. In 1966, the film was a hit and won the Palme d'Or at Cannes. This notoriety gave him a certain visibility as an actor, author and performer of songs, he gave the name "Saravah" to the publishing house he set up, and he created the label of the same name. 


With his first earnings, Pierre bought a house in Le Boupère on the banks of the Grand Lay, the river where he spent his childhood in Vendée. Several years later, in the 90's, the mill of La Morvient became a recording studio dedicated to Saravah artists. 


Within his label, he wanted to mix musicians and styles, and multiplied musical encounters. He signed promising young artists such as Brigitte Fontaine, Jacques Higelin, Areski Belkacem and David McNeil. The Saravah label, whose slogan is "There are years when you feel like doing nothing", also featured Nana Vasconcelos, Pierre Akendengué, Jean-Roger Caussimon, Jack Treese or the Art Ensemble of Chicago and Steve Lacy and later Allain Leprest, Richard Galliano, Gérard Ansaloni, the singers Bïa and Maurane…


His marriage in 1970 with his second wife Dominique marked the beginning of the Saravah des Abbesses studio and Saravah evenings at the Palace, the Mouffetard Theatre and the Ranelagh Theatre. He recorded with her "La transatlantique" and "La nuit des masques" (which he had also recorded with Elis Regina). From their union is born Benjamin (quoted at the beginning of this biography).  


If the activity of label owner slowed down the author of "Vivre pour vivre" (Claude Lelouch, 1967), Pierre Barouh nevertheless returned to music and released a handful of albums that delighted collectors: "Ça Va, Ça Vient" and "Dites 33" (1972), and "Viking Bank" (1976). In 1979, he directed his fourth film "Le Divorcement" with Léa Massari and Michel Piccoli. 


In the early 80's Pierre was invited to record in Japan with the best musicians of the new electro-acoustic wave. The two records "Pollen" (including a song dedicated to his friend Jean Cormier) and "Sierras" released in 1983 and 1985 were a great success in Japan and allowed him to discover this country he fell in love with. He opened a Saravah office there. His daughter Maïa, born in 1984, is also an author-composer and pursues an international career. Pierre and Atsuko have two other children: Amie-Sarah and Akira. 


In 1991 the album "Noël" was released, and in 1992 the album "Au Kabaret de la dernière chance", which includes the songs from the 3 plays written, edited and performed with the exiled Chilean playwright Oscar Castro, the composer Aneta Vallejo and the Aleph Troupe. The eponymous song is the last song recorded by Yves Montand! After the albums "Itchi Go, Itchi É" (1998) and "Dites 33 - Volume 2" (2001), Pierre Barouh compiled his archives in "Le Grenier de Saravah" (2003) and "Saudade - Un manque habité" (2003), and recorded "Daltonien" (2007). The compilations "Les Années Disc'AZ" (2008) and "60 Ans de Chansons à des Titres Divers (sometimes Dit Vert) sur l'humain et ce qui l'entoure (double CD Saravah)" (2011) covers his repertoire from the beginnings and the follow up with Saravah. The Saravah label remains probably to date the oldest active independent French label. 


It is by a wink of fate that the roads of Pierre Barouh and Philippe Quevauviller crossed. Philippe, like many others, knew Pierre through the soundtrack of "Un homme et une femme" and hits such as "À bicyclette" and "Des ronds dans l'eau". It was Emmanuel De Ryckel who pointed out the book "Les rivières souterraines" and the record "60 ans de chansons" to him, at a time when Philippe had just passed a European law on the protection of groundwater and was also exploring the French versions of bossa nova, including those of Pierre Barouh. A wink of the eye that made Philippe write him a letter and they met in Paris in 2011. Pierre then participated six times in the Bossa Flor program. His first concert in 2012 coincided with the creation of the group Bossa Flor as it has developed to date. At his last concert in Brussels, Philippe had done what Pierre himself described as a "hold-up", he had offered him to record him in a friend's studio... from there come his latest recordings of "Corcovado" and "Notre guerre" which appear on the Bossa Flor album "Rencontres en bossa - De Jobim à Barouh", as well as the live version of "La nuit des masques". Unfortunately, Pierre was not able to hear these recordings (mixed in 2017) because he left us in singing mood on December 28, 2016, missing an appointment with Philippe and Didier Sustrac...


Missed appointment? No, because Pierre Barouh's underground rivers are flowing with force. The meeting with Didier Sustrac took place on this grey day of January 2017 in Montmartre where Pierre was accompanied to his piece of land of Paris. Since then, the Bossa Flor programme has brought together artists from the "Saravah sphere", Eric Guilleton, his daughter Margaux Guilleton, Françoise Kucheida, Claire Elzière, Dominique Cravic, Didier Sustrac, on the same stage to sing his songs. This circle includes, of course, Benjamin Barouh who follows its evolution and Étienne Clément, a mutual friend, who is an active promoter of Brazilian music and links with Saravah. The project "Autour de Saravah" constitutes this space of encounters of which he is and will remain the tutelary figure. 

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor

Pierre Barouh

Promeneur, auteur, compositeur, chanteur, cinéaste, écrivain

Biographie

Bio-Pierre-Barouh.jpg

Crédit photo : ©Philippe Matsas / Saravah

C’est un délicat exercice que d’écrire la biographie de Pierre Barouh tant son parcours est riche en expériences, rencontres et réalisations ! Il se raconte dans son livre « Les rivières souterraines » (éditions À vos page, 2011), et son fils Benjamin retrace la saga Saravah dans son livre « Saravah, c’est où l’horizon, 1967-1977 » (éditions Le mot et le reste, 2018). Des anecdotes recueillies par Philippe Quevauviller sont également narrées dans « La vie est l’art des rencontres – Pierre Barouh, Anecdotes et chansons » (éditons Bossa Flor, 2018). Le lecteur intéressé y trouvera donc tous les détails sur le parcours de cet humaniste au grand cœur qui se disait avant tout promeneur. Cette biographie survole son chemin de vie qu’il a laissé pour d’autres étoiles le 28 décembre 2016.


Pierre est né Elie en 1934. Il grandit à Levallois-Perret dans une famille de marchands de tissus, juifs originaires de Turquie. Durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, ses parents le cachent ainsi que son frère et sa sœur à Montournais, en Vendée, dans trois familles différentes. Elie, dès lors rebaptisé Pierre, trouve refuge chez Hilaire et Marie Rocher, dont il parlera toujours avec émotion comme de ses parents d’adoption. De ces années d'enfance, il dira avoir puisé l'inspiration de chansons telles que « À bicyclette », « Des ronds dans l’eau » et « Crépuscule ». Peu enclin aux études et plus attiré par les chemins de traverse, l’éternel promeneur qu’est Pierre Barouh commence une carrière de journaliste sportif et pratique assidument le volley-ball.


En 1959, il part à Lisbonne retrouver sa compagne du moment pour un rendez-vous manqué. Pierre y découvre un univers qui va changer le cours de sa vie… la vie dans le Bairro Alto, la rencontre du musicien brésilien Sivuca qui l’initie à la bossa nova fait qu’il décide de partir au Brésil pour rencontrer les artistes qui le font vibrer, Vinicius de Moraes pour les mots, Antonio Carlos Jobim pour les harmonies, João Gilberto pour les rythmes syncopés. Il trouve un cargo qui l’embarque vers Rio…  Là-bas, point de rencontres des grands de la bossa nova, mais des échanges qui déjà sèment la graine du passeur qu’il est devenu. 


Il se passionne non seulement pour la musique mais également pour la beauté des mots, et adapte ainsi des chansons brésiliennes avec sa propre poésie, sans les trahir. L’une d’elles est « A noite do meu bem » (Dolores Duran) qu’il adapte en « La nuit de mon amour ». À son retour à Paris, il cherche le moyen de faire connaître ces artistes. Il en parle à un ami lors d’un dîner au restaurant et lui chante la chanson de Dolores Duran… une dame s’approche de lui, elle est brésilienne, s’étonne qu’il connaisse cette chanson et l’invite à une fête qu’elle donne chez elle le soir même. Pierre s’y rend, dans l’appartement se trouvent Vinicius de Moraes et Baden Powell. De là vient sans doute ce qui guidera son parcours par la suite, celui enseigné par Vinicius lui-même : la vie est l’art des rencontres…


Pierre alimente alors son quotidien de rôles divers au cinéma. On le voit ainsi en chef des gardians donner la réplique à Johnny Hallyday dans le film « D'où viens-tu Johnny ? » (1963). Il accepte également des rôles dans « Une fille à a dérive » de Paula Del Sol ou « Une fille et des fusils » de Claude Lelouch. Dans le même temps, il compose sa première grande chanson « Les filles du dimanche » et écrit pour de nombreux interprètes dont Dalida, Marie Laforêt ou Claude Goaty. Lucien Morisse (Europe 1, Disc'AZ) produit ses premiers 45-tours et lance ses premiers succès composés par son complice Francis Lai : « Tes dix huit ans », « Nous », « Le courage d'aimer » ou encore « Chanson pour Teddy ». Reparti au Brésil, il tourne un documentaire qui est devenu mythique « Saravah » avec son ami Baden Powell, on y retrouve les artistes qui ont formé le socle de ce que la Musique Populaire Brésilienne est devenue par la suite. Ce film n'est pas exploité en salle et sera un peu oublié avant sa sortie en DVD au Japon puis par Frémeaux & Associés en 2005. Ce document est depuis devenu culte au Brésil.


De la rencontre avec Baden naît la magie de la version de la « Samba da benção » qui devient sous sa plume « Samba saravah ». Ils l’enregistrent en une soirée. Pierre rentre en France car appelé par Claude Lelouch pour tourner dans son projet de film « Un homme et une femme », il fait écouter l’enregistrement au cinéaste qui change immédiatement le scénario du film pour y insérer une scène culte où Pierre chante « Samba saravah » à son épouse (fictive dans le film, puis bientôt dans la réalité) jouée par Anouk Aimée. Ses droits d’auteur lui permettront d’ailleurs d’aider Claude Lelouch à boucler son budget pour terminer le film dans lequel il a écrit les chansons originales avec Francis Lai. En 1966, le film est un succès et est primé Palme d'or à Cannes. Cette notoriété lui apporte une certaine visibilité en tant qu'acteur, auteur et interprète de chansons, il donne le nom « Saravah » à la maison d’édition qu’il a montée, et il créé le label du même nom. 


Avec ses premiers gains, Pierre achète une maison au Boupère au bord du Grand Lay, la rivière où il a passé son enfance vendéenne. Plusieurs années plus tard, dans les années 90, le moulin de La Morvient devient un studio d’enregistrement dédié aux artistes Saravah. 


Au sein de son label, il souhaite mélanger les musiciens et le styles, et multiplier les rencontres musicales. Il signe ainsi de jeunes gens prometteurs : Brigitte Fontaine, Jacques Higelin, Areski Belkacem ou David McNeil. Le label Saravah qui a pour slogan « Il y a des années où l'on a envie de ne rien faire » héberge également Nana Vasconcelos, Pierre Akendengué, Jean-Roger Caussimon, Jack Treese ou encore l'Art Ensemble of Chicago et Steve Lacy  et plus tard Allain Leprest,  Richard Galliano, Gérard Ansaloni, les chanteuses Bïa et Maurane,...


Son mariage en 1970 avec sa deuxième épouse Dominique marque le début du studio Saravah des Abbesses et des soirées Saravah au Palace, au Théâtre Mouffetard et au Théâtre du Ranelagh. Il enregistre avec elle « La transatlantique » et « La nuit des masques » (qu’il avait également enregistrée avec Elis Regina). De leur union naît Benjamin (cité au début de cette biographie). 


Si l'activité de patron de label freine celle de l'auteur de « Vivre pour vivre » (Claude Lelouch, 1967), Pierre Barouh revient néanmoins à la musique et sort une poignée d'albums qui font le bonheur des collectionneurs : « Ça Va, Ça Vient » (1971) et « Viking Bank » (1976). En 1979, il réalise son quatrième long métrage « Le Divorcement » avec Léa Massari et Michel Piccoli. 


Au début des années 80 Pierre est invité a enregistré au Japon avec les meilleurs musiciens de la nouvelle vague électro-acoustique. Il rencontre Atsuko Ushioda, antiquaire entre Tokyo et Paris. Les deux disques « Pollen » (incluant la chanson titre dédiée à son ami Jean Cormier) et « Sierras » sortis en 1983 et 1985 ont un grand succès au Japon et lui permettent de découvrir ce pays dont il tombe amoureux. Il y ouvre un bureau Saravah. Sa fille Maïa, née en 1984, est également autrice-compositrice et poursuit une carrière internationale. Pierre et Atsuko ont deux autres enfants : Amie-Sarah et Akira. 


En 1991 sortent l’album « Noël », et en 1992 l’album « Au Kabaret de la dernière chance » qui regroupe les chansons des 3 pièces de théâtres écrites, montées et jouées avec le dramaturge chilien exilé Oscar Castro, la compositrice Aneta Vallejo et la Troupe Aleph. La chanson éponyme est la dernière chanson enregistrée par Yves Montand ! Après l'album « Itchi Go, Itchi É » (1998) et « Dites 33 – Volume 2 » (2001), Pierre Barouh compile ses archives dans « Le Grenier de Saravah » (2003) et « Saudade – Un manque habité » (2003), et enregistre « Daltonien » (2007). Les compilations « Les Années Disc'AZ » (2008) et « 60 Ans de Chansons à des Titres Divers (parfois Dit Vert) sur l’humain et ce qui l’entoure (double CD Saravah) » (2011) font le tour de son répertoire des débuts et de la suite avec Saravah. Le label Saravah est probablement le plus ancien label français indépendant en activité. 


C’est par un clin d’œil du destin que les routes de Pierre Barouh et de Philippe Quevauviller se croisent. Philippe, comme beaucoup d’autres, connaissait Pierre par la bande son de « Un homme et une femme » et des succès comme « À bicyclette » et « Des ronds dans l’eau ». C’est Emmanuel De Ryckel qui lui signale le livre « Les rivières souterraines » et le disque « 60 ans de chansons », à un moment où Philippe vient de faire adopter une loi européenne sur la protection des eaux souterraines et explore en parallèle les versions françaises de bossa nova, dont celles de Pierre Barouh… un clin d’œil qui fait que Philippe lui écrit une lettre et ils se rencontrent à Paris en 2011. Pierre a ensuite participé à six reprises à la programmation Bossa Flor. Son premier concert en 2012 coïncide d’ailleurs avec la création du groupe Bossa Flor tel qu’il s’est développé jusqu’à ce jour. A son dernier concert bruxellois, Philippe avait fait ce Pierre lui-même qualifiait de « hold-up », il lui avait proposé de l’enregistrer dans le studio d’un ami… de là viennent ses derniers enregistrements de « Corcovado » et « Notre guerre » qui apparaissent sur l’album Bossa Flor « Rencontres en bossa – De Jobim à Barouh », ainsi que la version en public de « La nuit des masques ». Pierre n’a hélas pas pu entendre ces enregistrements (mixés en 2017) car il est parti en chantonnant le 28 décembre 2016, en manquant un rendez-vous pris avec Philippe et Didier Sustrac…


Rendez-vous manqué ? Non, car les rivières souterraines de Pierre Barouh coulent avec force. La rencontre avec Didier Sustrac s’est faite en ce jour de grisaille de janvier 2017 à Montmartre où Pierre a été accompagné vers son coin de terre parisienne. Depuis, la programmation Bossa Flor a réuni des artistes de la « sphère Saravah », Eric Guilleton, sa fille Margaux Guilleton, Françoise Kucheida, Claire Elzière, Dominique Cravic, Didier Sustrac, sur une même scène pour chanter ses chansons. Ce cercle comprend bien sûr Benjamin Barouh qui suit son évolution et Étienne Clément, ami commun, qui est un actif promoteur de la musique brésilienne et des liens avec Saravah. Le projet « Autour de Saravah » constitue cet espace de rencontres dont il est et restera la figure tutélaire. 

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor