Philippe Quevauviller

Musical production, edition, singer

Biography

Photo-Phil-800.jpg

Photo credit: ©Alain Dereymaeker

Born in 1959, Philippe Quevauviller is from the Bordeaux region where his childhood was rocked by the sound of jazz played by his father on the piano, aeronautical engineer and jazz pianist in his spare time. He grew up with jazz standards mainly from Bud Powell and listening to paternal vinyl collection covering bebop and jazzy singers of the 50s and 60s including Boris Vian, Michel Legrand .... A little later comes the shock from bossa nova by Getz & Gilberto's vinyl brought back by his father from the United States, he is ten years old and he is falling into the pot of Brazilian music that has accompanied him ever since.

Without consciously wanting to follow the pianistic traces of his father, inaccessible in its improvisations which inspires him without understanding them, He takes classical piano lessons with music theory basics, but without enthusiasm, he wants something else, and a booklet of scores by Scott Joplin brings him into the world of the piano .... there is also singing songs, from Georges Brassens of course, Henri Salvador too, but especially Georges Moustaki and Maxime Le Forestier, and later Serge Reggiani, Jacques Brel, Michel Fugain, and all the leading groups of the 1970s and 80s, from the Beatles, Elton John to Carlos Santana via Neil Young and other influences, which made him abandon the piano for the guitar, learned in picking with the revolutionary tablatures of a man named Marcel Dadi. From there, his musical path is made by the guitar. In this beginning of the path, there are the texts of Pierre Barouh and the music of Francis Lai from the soundtrack of the film A man and a woman, and a booklet of scores offered to him for a birthday, containing Jobim standards and the song Samba Saravah .... already an approach to this bridge between the French-speaking world and the Brazilian song repertoire, which marked it until today and which will result in the Bossa Flor project many years later. And as the contamination of jazz remains anchored in its fibers, it starts on bass at the request of his father, and they play in trio with his younger brother, drummer in his spare time.

He studied geology and then oceanology in Bordeaux, then left for Lisbon in scientific cooperation at the age of 25. His father, meanwhile, has rediscovered the pleasure to play in a group, and has formed a quintet which has become the Jazza muffins with which he plays from time to time on his return from Portugal. In Lisbon, beyond his doctoral studies, he fell into another pot, that of fado which he discovered in Bairro Alto, with among the fadists, Amália Rodrigues' own nephew. Learning Portuguese opened him up to the world of Vinicius de Moraes, whose texts he only sang in phonetics until then. He became friends with Nelinho, a Métis from Mozambique, a guitarist and singer of bossa and samba at night in a small pub in Bairro Alto, and a civil servant by day.

He goes back to the benches of his Bordeaux oceanographic institute, with the joyful surprise to discover there an aréopage of Brazilian students, finally freed from the Brazilian dictatorship ended in 1984. He builds solid friendships and gains an immersion in the rich Brazilian music’s repertoire. However, it was not the musical career that opened his doors to him, holder of two doctorates, he was first a researcher in oceanography in Portugal, then in environmental chemistry in the Netherlands. He moved to Brussels in 1989 where he pursued a career as head of European research programs in the field of the environment, while keeping academic activities at the Free University of Brussels (VUB) as a professor in an international masters dealing with water management. He participated in numerous conferences / seminars, and published numerous scientific papers and books. In addition to his professional activities, he is a judoka and genealogist. Music survived as a solo leisure activity during a parenthesis of ten years during which he founded a family. In the early 2000s, the little miracle of Chambre avec vue, with Henri Salvador back on stage and singing Jardin d'été, made him dust off his guitar and resume singing amidst the babbling of his children.

In 2007, a dinner with friends gave birth to what quickly became an amateur quintet of jazz and bossa nova (Jobim standards and songs by Henri Salvador), the BosSalvador, in which he sang and played the guitar, accompanied by Anthony More (piano), Dyanne Bennink (saxophone, flute), Christophe Vaassen (bass) and Jacques Gillet (drums), soon joined by Miguel Uribe (percussion). He built an experience in musical performing and organizing concerts, and from 2011, he contacts a network of musicians from the Brussels sphere, some of whom of international fame, and organizes events in various Brussels halls. He formed a new quintet in 2012, a very jazzy formula that he did not pursue. His meeting with the Barros brothers (Fernando on guitar, Welllington on piano) on the same day as Pierre Barouh's first visit (October 2012), brought him back to the sources of bossa with a new sound, he then devoted himself only to vocals, and formed the Bossa Flor Sextet by inviting Berny Hoste (trumpet), Marat Araujo (bass) and Jacques Gillet (drums) to join him.

He developed multicultural programming with a charity character from 2014 in partnership with the association Arte N'Ativa (whose mission is to promote cultural exchanges with Brazil). It also partnered with the Afiliatys association and BossaMag (Emmanuel de Ryckel) for the promotion and support of concerts. It was thanks to Emmanuel that he had met an heir to João Gilberto, Paulo Costa, in 2009 and Pierre Barouh in 2011. The Âmes Latines Festival (2014) seeked to bring together the driving forces of Brazilian music in Brussels, the next year, the Arts en Scène et en Saisons Festival organized a dozen concerts highlighting various "Latin" countries around musical tales, concerts, theatre plays and dance. The Bossa Flor Sextet was redesigned with the Barros brothers, Marat Araujo and new musicians with Jacques Martinez (saxophone, flute) and Toni Reina (drums).

2016 is a pivotal year during which he founded the Non-Profit Association (ASBL) BOSSA FLOR which now manages the dynamics of the events he organizes. He refocused his activity around the bridges between the French-speaking world and bossa nova, and an album project was born, including recordings by Pierre Barouh made in March 2016, the last of this great artist, too soon disappeared in December of the same year. The album "Rencontres en bossa - De Jobim à Barouh" was released in March 2018. Called by other projects, Jacques Martinez and Toni Reina left Bossa Flor who was joined by Claudio Rocha (saxophone, flute) and Marcos Della Rocha (drums). The same year, he created the Bossa Flor Music Label and Bossa Flor Éditions, covered by the ASBL statutes. He wrote three books published by the association in 2018 and 2019, and a 4-track EP "Feminino" was produced the same year with the Sextet Bossa Flor and two female voices, Ana Rocha and Amalia Baraona.

Gatherings via the network of contacts opened by Pierre Barouh allowed him to build new and splendid connections, with Pierre-François Blanchard first, then Didier Sustrac, Eric Guilleton and Emmanuel Donzella. He also developed collaborations with Brazilian guitarists like Vitor Garbelotto, Luiz de Aquino, Mario Bakuna and the cavaquinist Osman Martins. The Bossa Flor program aligned with the agendas of the cultural seasons (from September to June) and opened with sharings that represent his vision of the links between Brazilian music, fado, French song and jazz. In this movement, he created the Pataphysique Café Orchestra, with Dominique Piérard (guitar), Bruno Desart (guitar), Anthony More (piano), Berny Hoste (trumpet) and Christophe Vaassen (bass), which allows him to return to the sources of his influences of French songs with a jazzy touch. These links, which might seem improbable, illustrate in fact his musical and poetic journey, that of jazz, of the French song repertoire, of bossa nova, and of fado, itself echoing the songs of the troubadours and therefore its occitan roots.

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor

Philippe Quevauviller

Production musicale, édition, chanteur 

Biographie

Photo-Phil-800.jpg

Crédit photo : ©Alain Dereymaeker

Né en 1959, Philippe Quevauviller est originaire de la région bordelaise où son enfance est bercée par le son du jazz joué par son père au piano, ingénieur aéronautique à la ville et pianiste de jazz à ses heures. Il grandit ainsi avec des standards de jazz principalement de Bud Powell et l’écoute de la discographie paternelle musardant dans le bebop et des chanteurs jazzy des années 50-60 dont Boris Vian, Michel Legrand.... Un peu plus tard vient le choc de la bossa nova par le vinyle de Getz & Gilberto ramené par son père des États-Unis, il a dix ans et il tombe dans la marmite de la musique brésilienne qui l'accompagne depuis lors.

 

Sans vouloir consciemment suivre les traces pianistiques de son père, inaccessibles dans les improvisations dont il se nourrit sans les comprendre, Il prend des cours de piano classique avec des bases de solfège, mais sans entrain, il a envie d'autre chose, et c'est un livret de partitions de Scott Joplin qui le fait entrer dans le monde du piano.... il y a aussi la chanson, Georges Brassens bien sûr, Henri Salvador aussi, mais surtout Georges Moustaki et Maxime Le Forestier, et plus tard Serge Reggiani, Jacques Brel, Michel Fugain, et tous les groupes phares des années 1970-80, des Beatles, Elton John à Carlos Santana en passant par Neil Young et d’autres influences, qui lui font délaisser le piano pour la guitare, apprise en picking avec les tablatures révolutionnaires d'un dénommé Marcel Dadi. A partir de là, son chemin musical se fait par la guitare. Dans ce début de chemin, il y a les textes de Pierre Barouh et la musique de Francis Lai de la bande son du film Un homme et une femme, et un livret de partitions qui lui est offert pour un anniversaire, contenant des standards de Jobim et la chanson Samba Saravah.... déjà une approche de ce pont entre la francophonie et la chanson brésilienne, qui l'a marqué jusqu'à aujourd'hui et qui se traduira par le projet Bossa Flor bien des années plus tard. Et comme la contamination du jazz reste ancrée dans ses fibres, il se met à la basse à la demande de son père, et ils jouent en trio avec son frère cadet, batteur à ses heures.

Il étudie la géologie puis l’océanologie à Bordeaux, puis part à Lisbonne en coopération scientifique à l’âge de 25 ans. Son père, entretemps, a retrouvé le goût de jouer en groupe, et a formé un quintet devenu le Jazza muffins avec lequel il joue de temps en temps à ses retours du Portugal. A Lisbonne, au-delà de ses études doctorales, il tombe dans une autre marmite, celle du fado qu’il découvre dans le Bairro Alto, avec parmi les fadistes, le propre neveu d'Amália Rodrigues. L'apprentissage du portugais l’ouvre à l'univers de Vinicius de Moraes dont il ne chantait jusqu'alors les textes qu’en phonétique. Il se lie d’amitié avec Nelinho, métis originaire du Mozambique, guitariste et chanteur de bossa et samba la nuit dans un petit pub du Bairro Alto, et fonctionnaire le jour.

Il retrouve les bancs de son institut océanographique bordelais, avec la surprise joyeuse d'y découvrir un aréopage d'étudiants brésiliens, enfin libérés de la dictature brésilienne terminée en 1984. Il en bâtit de solides amitiés et y gagne une immersion dans le riche répertoire de la musique brésilienne. Ce n’est pourtant pas la carrière musicale qui lui ouvre ses portes, détenteur de deux doctorats, il est tout d’abord chercheur en océanographie au Portugal, puis en chimie environnementale aux Pays-Bas. Il s'établit à Bruxelles en 1989 où il poursuit une carrière de responsable de programmes de recherche européenne dans le domaine de l'environnement, tout en gardant des activités académiques à l'université libre de Bruxelles (VUB) comme professeur dans un mastère international traitant de la gestion de l'eau. Il participe à de nombreuses conférences / séminaires, et publie de nombreux articles et ouvrages scientifiques. En parallèle de ses activités professionnelles, il est judoka et généalogiste. La musique survit comme loisir en solo au cours d’une parenthèse d’une dizaine d’années durant laquelle il fonde une famille. Au début des années 2000, le petit miracle de Chambre avec vue, avec Henri Salvador revenu sur scène et chantant Jardin d'hiver, lui fait dépoussiérer sa guitare et reprendre le chant au milieu du babillements de ses enfants.

En 2007, un dîner chez des amis donne le ferment de ce qui devient très vite un quintet amateur de jazz et de bossa nova (standards de Jobim et chansons d’Henri Salvador), le BosSalvador, dans lequel il chante et joue de la guitare, accompagné par Anthony More (piano), Dyanne Bennink (saxophone, flûte), Christophe Vaassen (basse) et Jacques Gillet (batterie), bientôt rejoint par Miguel Uribe (percussions). Il se bâtit une expérience musicale et d’organisation de concerts, et à partir de 2011, il tisse un réseau de musiciens de la sphère bruxelloise, dont certains de portée internationale, et organise des événements dans diverses salles bruxelloises. Il forme un nouveau quintet en 2012, une formule très jazzy qu’il ne poursuit pas. Sa rencontre avec les frères Barros (Fernando à la guitare, Welllington au piano) le même jour de la première venue de Pierre Barouh (octobre 2012), lui fait revenir aux sources de la bossa avec un nouveau son, il se consacre alors uniquement au chant, et forme le Sextet Bossa Flor en invitant Berny Hoste (trompette), Marat Araujo (basse) et Jacques Gillet (batterie) à le rejoindre.

Il développe des programmations multiculturelles à caractère caritatif à partir de 2014 en partenariat avec l'association Arte N'Ativa (dont la mission est de promouvoir les échanges culturels avec le Brésil). Il s’associe également avec l’association Afiliatys et BossaMag (Emmanuel de Ryckel) pour la promotion et le soutien aux concerts. C’est grâce à Emmanuel qu’il avait rencontré un héritier de João Gilberto, Paulo Costa, en 2009 et Pierre Barouh en 2011. Le festival Âmes Latines (2014) cherche à rassembler les forces vives de la musique brésilienne à Bruxelles, l’année suivante, le Festival Arts en Scène et en Saisons organise une dizaine de concerts mettant à l'honneur divers pays "latins" autour de contes musicaux, concerts, pièces de théâtre et danse. Le Sextet Bossa Flor se refond avec les frères Barros, Marat Araujo et de nouveaux musiciens avec Jacques Martinez (saxophone, flûte) et Toni Reina (batterie).

2016 est une année charnière durant laquelle il fonde l'Association Sans But Lucratif (ASBL) BOSSA FLOR qui gère désormais la dynamique des événements qu’il organise. Il recentre son activité autours des ponts entre la francophonie et la bossa nova, et un projet d'album voit le jour, comprenant des enregistrements de Pierre Barouh réalisés en mars 2016, les derniers de ce grand artiste, trop tôt disparu en décembre de la même année. L’album « Rencontres en bossa – De Jobim à Barouh » sort en mars 2018. Appelés par d'autres projets, Jacques Martinez et Toni Reina quittent le Bossa Flor qui est rejoint par Claudio Rocha (saxophone, flûte) et Marcos Della Rocha (batterie). La même année, il crée le Label Bossa Flor Music et Bossa Flor Éditions, couverts par les statuts de l’ASBL. Il écrit trois livres publiés par l’association en 2018 et 2019, et un EP 4 titres « Feminino » est produit la même année avec le Sextet Bossa Flor et deux voix féminines, Ana Rocha et Amalia Baraona.

Les rencontres faites via le réseau de contacts ouvert par Pierre Barouh lui permettent de bâtir de nouvelles et splendides complicités, avec Pierre-François Blanchard tout d'abord, puis Didier Sustrac, Eric Guilleton et Emmanuel Donzella. Il développe également des collaborations avec des guitaristes brésiliens comme Vitor Garbelotto, Luiz de Aquino, Mario Bakuna et le cavaquiniste Osman Martins. La programmation Bossa Flor s’aligne aux agendas des saisons culturelles (de septembre à juin) et s’ouvre sur des partages qui représentent sa vision des liens entre la musique brésilienne, le fado, la chanson française et le jazz. Dans cette mouvance, il crée le Pataphysique Café Orchestra, avec Dominique Piérard (guitare), Bruno Desart (guitare), Anthony More (piano), Berny Hoste (trompette) et Christophe Vaassen (basse), qui lui permet de revenir aux sources de ses influences de chansons françaises avec une touche jazzy. Ces liens qui pourraient paraître improbables illustrent de fait son cheminement musical et poétique, celui du jazz, des grands de la chanson française, de la bossa nova, et de celui du fado, lui-même faisant écho aux chants des troubadours et donc à ses racines occitanes.

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor