Osman Martins

Author, composer, producer, cavaquinist, guitarist, percussionist, singer

Biography

Bio-Osman-Martins-800.jpg

Photo credit: ©Philippe Quevauviller

Osman Martins was born in Bahia, Brazil on October 12, 1961. He became interested in music at a very early age and, between two football games, he watched the musicians play in the street. He was particularly fascinated by the "cavaquinho", a small Brazilian guitar with four strings. The object of his dreams was given to him on his tenth birthday, and from then on he played it every day. At the age of fifteen Osman enrolled at the Curson school and took cavaquinho lessons with Maestro Robinson Miguel, a very famous guitarist in Brazil. He graduated with great distinction and gradually established himself as one of the best "little guitar" players in São Paulo. From then on, he performed all over Brazil and toured Europe with the group "Oba-Oba", after which he settled in Rome. 


In 1987 Osman moved to Brussels, where he decided to settle while continuing to perform regularly throughout Europe with the group Samba Tuque (Germany, Switzerland, Turkey). Osman composed and was interested in different projects in which he could interpret the traditional rhythms of his country by mixing them with other music. The "Caminhada" project thus offered an explosive mix of Brazilian music and reggae. He then formed the group "Batida de Samba", which represented all the crossbreeding of Brazil. His compositions, full of sweetness and nostalgia, make you dream of an idyllic Brazil where everything is poetry, music and perfumes. 


In 2005 Osman and his group "Euro Samba" launched into a repertoire based on South American rhythms, samba, salsa, bossa nova, pagoda, baião, afoxé, chorinho and all the rhythms of Brazil. Osman further accentuated "fusion" rhythms and melodies such as samba-fusion, samba reggae. A world music par excellence. He was invited to participate in a compilation of the RTBF show "Le Monde est un Village", on which he proposed original compositions. 


In June 2008, Osman launched a new album entitled "Motivo De Alegria". His path then crossed that of Pierre Gillet, with whom he began an exciting partnership between his cavaquinho and Pierre's Brazilian 7-string guitar which resulted in the album "Parceria". In just a few years, Osman Martins has become one of the most sought-after Brazilian artists in Europe, with a repertoire mixing samba, bossa-nova and choro.


His latest artistic project "Vontade Saudade" is the result of a meeting with a young talented arranger, Pierre Slinckx, and the MP4 String Quartet (violins and cello). The artist invites us on a journey into saudade, a typically Brazilian feeling, in order to connect us to a clever mix of tradition and modernity. This project, initiated by Didier Mélon, was presented for the first time at Theatre 140 in Brussels in April 2015. 


Osman carries within him this generous opening allowing an original understanding of bossa nova, samba or chorinho. He invites us into his multi-faceted artistic universe which he shares in his teachings, for example in the context of Muziekpublique. It is this openness towards others and his passion for musical sharing that has led him to meet many musicians throughout his rich career. 


He was invited by Philippe Quevauviller in June 2011 to participate, with Pierre Gillet, in the "Bossafolies du BAO", and he participated in the launch of the Festival Âmes Latines in 2014 in which he proposed a quartet illustrating the crossbreeding of Brazil around a repertoire based on South American rhythms, samba, salsa, bossa nova, pagoda, baião, afoxé, chorinho and other Brazilian rhythms, with Vincent Penasse (saxophone, flute), Junior Martins (percussion) and José Alvaro (bass).


His curiosity for links between Brazilian music and French chanson also led him to cross paths with Didier Sustrac for a participation in his album "Ostende Bossa" in 2016. The invitation of the latter in the Bossa Flor program the following year made Osman join several concerts in 2018-2019 and a guitar encounter in February 2020. From this meeting was born the Bossa Flor's "Cordes enchantées" project in which he participates with Luiz de Aquino and Vitor Garbelotto.

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor

Osman Martins

Auteur, compositeur, producteur, cavaquiniste, guitariste, percussionniste, chanteur

Biographie

Bio-Osman-Martins-800.jpg

Crédit photo : ©Philippe Quevauviller

Osman Martins est né à Bahia au Brésil en le 12 octobre 1961. Très tôt, il s’intéresse à la musique et entre deux parties de football, regarde les musiciens jouer dans la rue. Il est particulièrement fasciné par le « cavaquinho », petite guitare brésilienne à quatre cordes. L’objet de ses rêves lui est offert le jour de son dixième anniversaire, et dès ce moment-là, il en jouera chaque jour. A quinze ans Osman s’inscrit à l’école Curson et prend des cours de  cavaquinho avec le Maestro Robinson Miguel, guitariste très réputé au Brésil. Il est diplômé avec grande distinction et s’affirme progressivement comme l’un des meilleurs joueurs de la « petite guitare » de São Paulo. Il se produit dès ce moment un peu partout au Brésil et fait une tournée européenne avec le groupe « Oba-Oba » à l’issue de laquelle il s’installe à Rome. 


En 1987 Osman prend la direction de Bruxelles, où il décide de s’installer tout en continuant à se produire régulièrement à travers l’Europe avec le groupe Samba Tuque (Allemagne, Suisse, Turquie). Osman compose et s’intéresse à différents projets dans lesquels il peut interpréter les rythmes traditionnels de son pays en les métissant avec d’autres musiques. Le projet « Caminhada » propose ainsi un mélange détonnant de musique brésilienne et de reggae. Il forme ensuite le groupe « Batida de Samba » qui représente tout le métissage du Brésil. Ses compositions empreintes de douceur, de nostalgie font rêver à un Brésil idyllique où tout ne serait que poésies, musiques et parfums. 


En 2005 Osman et son groupe « Euro Samba » se lance dans un répertoire basé sur les rythmes sud-américains, samba, salsa, bossa nova, pagode, baião, l’afoxé, chorinho et tous les rythmes du Brésil. Osman accentue encore les rythmes et mélodies « fusions » telles que samba-fusion, samba reggae. Une musique du monde par excellence. Il est invité à participer à une compilation de l’émission de la RTBF « Le Monde est un Village », sur laquelle il propose des compositions originales. 


En Juin 2008, Osman lance un nouvel album intitulé « Motivo De Alegria ». Son chemin croise alors celui de Pierre Gillet, avec lequel il entame un partenariat passionnant entre son cavaquinho et la guitare brésilienne à 7 cordes de Pierre qui se traduit par l’album « Parceria ». En quelques années, Osman Martins est devenu l’un des artistes brésiliens les plus cotés en Europe, à travers un répertoire mélangeant samba, bossa-nova et choro.


Son dernier projet artistique « Vontade Saudade » est le fruit d’une rencontre avec un jeune arrangeur talentueux, Pierre Slinckx, et le Quatuor à cordes MP4 (violons et violoncelle). C’est à un voyage dans la saudade, sentiment typiquement brésilien, que nous invite l’artiste afin de nous connecter à un savant mélange ente traditions et modernité. Ce projet, initié par Didier Mélon, a été présenté pour la première fois au Théâtre 140 à Bruxelles en avril 2015. 


Osman porte en lui cette ouverture généreuse permettant une compréhension originale de la bossa nova, la samba ou le chorinho. Il nous invite dans son univers artistique aux multiples facettes qu’il partage dans ses enseignements, par exemple dans le cadre de Muziekpublique. C’est cette ouverture vers les autres et sa passion pour les partages musicaux qui lui a fait rencontrer de nombreux musiciens au long de son riche parcours. 


Il est invité par Philippe Quevauviller en juin 2011 à participer, avec Pierre Gillet, aux « Bossafolies du BAO », et il participe au lancement du Festival Âmes Latines en 2014 dans lequel il propose un quartet illustrant le métissage du Brésil autour d’un répertoire basé sur les rythmes sud-américains, samba, salsa, bossa nova, pagode, baião, afoxé, chorinho et d'autres rythmes du Brésil, avec Vincent Penasse (saxophone, flûte), Junior Martins (percussions) et José Alvaro (basse).


Sa curiosité pour des liens entre la musique brésilienne et la chanson française lui a aussi fait croiser la route de Didier Sustrac pour une participation à son album « Ostende Bossa » en 2016. L’invitation de ce dernier dans la programmation Bossa Flor l’année suivante fait qu’Osman rejoint plusieurs concerts en 2018-2019 et une rencontre en guitares en février 2020. De cette rencontre est d’ailleurs né le projet « Cordes enchantées » de Bossa Flor auquel il participe avec Luiz de Aquino et Vitor Garbelotto.

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor