Marion Rampal

Singer, songwriter, composer

Biography

www.marionrampal.com

Bio-Marion-Rampal-800.jpg

Photo credit: ©Marie Rouge

"Preventing her from humming in circles, too madly in love with music to put it away in watertight boxes, Marion Rampal, like Nina Simone or Joni Mitchell, does as she pleases, which she keeps as close to the stars as she does to her heart" (Richard Robert, Nuits de Fourvière). Timeless, impervious to fashion, magnificently inventive and sumptuously moving, Marion Rampal is a total songwriter who nourishes an eminently personal repertoire of luxuriant creativity: from the most emblematic folk songs to classical scores, from pop intonations to blues confidences, her voice is a true instrument.


Born in 1980 in Marseille, Marion Rampal is a singer and author. She studied music and singing through the whimsical encounters and gifts of life: a mother who invented lullabies in the Michel Legrand way, a pianist grandfather who played all Nat King Cole in F, a few flute lessons - but nothing like the flutist! -Then, as a teenager, she started writing songbooks - in English - with a passion for Patti Smith, Jim Morrison, Jeff Buckley, Joni Mitchell and Leonard Cohen. Her Rock & Folk loves led her in 1998 to found the group Wesh Wesh with François Richez for whom she composed the lyrics and co-signed the music, then the duo We Used to Have a Band. Marion also collaborates with guitarist Tristan Loriaut on a project dedicated to the poetry of Jim Morrison: Open Wild.


From 2002 to 2004 she studied at IMFP and at the Marseille Conservatory. She set up a sextet project in homage to the first Walt Disney movie soundtracks: Super Kali & The Fragili-Sticks in collaboration with the guitarist and composer Rémy Jouffroy.


On the occasion of a commission for the Jeunesses Musicales de France, she created, alongside pianist Benjamin Rando, the show "I Got Plenty!", a musical and narrative adaptation of G. Gershwin's opera Porgy & Bess. She participated in many cabaret, theatre and contemporary creation projects, as a singer or narrator, notably with the collectives "Territoire3" or "La Force Molle". 


Since 2005, she has collaborated in several creations within the Nine Spirit Company under the artistic direction of Raphaël Imbert. It is on her label that she wrote and released "Own Virago" in 2009. In 2011, Marion is the voice and the pen of "Vertigo Songs" by Perrine Mansuy (Laborie/Abeille 2011).


Noticed by Archie Shepp with whom she collaborates since 2012 in France and in the USA, she joined the Attica Blues and the Archie Shepp Quintet (the album " I Hear the Sound ", Archieball /HM2013, nominated at the Grammy Awards), then she recorded "Heavens" then "Music Is My Home" with Raphael Imbert for Jazz Village (Jazz Village/HM 2013).
She has long been passionate about poetic research on what she calls "the gestures of the Blues", and inspired by her travels in Louisiana and New York, she began writing "Main Blue" in 2013, alongside Anne Paceo and Pierre-François Blanchard. The album, composed in English and French, has been released in 2016 on the E-motive records label (Fip Selection and Artist of the Year Jazz Radio).


Performing Purcell's "Dido's Lament" or a Schubert Lieder, Marion Rampal also pursued a bushy but always demanding pickaxe in the classical repertoire to find new standards. The singer lent her voice to the great arias of the 1930s Berlin cabaret alongside the Manfred Quartet in the project "Bye Bye Berlin" in 2018 (with Harmonia Mundi/PIAS for which she was nominated for the Opus Klassik Prize in 2019).


Finally, the songwriter lends her words with pleasure to the voices and music of others. She has written lyrics for the singer Virginie Teychené, for Anne Paceo (in "Circles", performed by Leila Martial) or Raphaël Imbert (in "Music is my Home", performed by Leyla McCalla, Alabama Slim and Big Ron Hunter).


With Pierre-François Blanchard, she forms a duo with multiple strings that revisits melodies and lieder in an unusual and libertarian way. Their common news is the release of the album "Le Secret" (Music Ovation) in 2019. 


Her crossroads with Bossa Flor was in 2017 for the presentation with Pierre-François of the album "Main Blue". She joined the Bossa Flor program for an annual rendezvous since then, with a presentation of the album "Le secret" in February 2020. 

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor

Marion Rampal

Chanteuse, parolière, compositrice

Biographie

www.marionrampal.com

Bio-Marion-Rampal-800.jpg

Crédit photo : ©Marie Rouge

« Empêcheuse de chantonner en rond, trop follement éprise de la musique pour la ranger dans des boîtes étanches, Marion Rampal, telle Nina Simone ou Joni Mitchell, n’en fait qu’à sa tête, qu’elle garde aussi près des étoiles que du cœur » (Richard Robert, Nuits de Fourvière). Hors du temps, imperméable aux modes, d’une magnifique inventivité et somptueusement émouvante, Marion Rampal est une songwriter totale qui nourrit un répertoire éminemment personnel et d’une luxuriante créativité : de la folk song la plus emblématique aux partitions classiques, des intonations pop aux confidences blues, sa voix s’impose en véritable instrument.


Née en 1980 à Marseille, Marion Rampal est chanteuse et autrice. Elle étudie la musique et le chant au gré des rencontres et des cadeaux fantaisistes de l'existence : une maman qui invente des berceuses façon Michel Legrand, un grand-père pianiste qui joue tout Nat King Cole en Fa, quelques cours de flûte – mais rien à voir avec le flûtiste !-, de piano, une fabuleuse chorale de lycée qui fait le tour d’Europe…puis elle noircit dès l’adolescence des carnets de chansons — en Anglais -, passionnée par Patti Smith, Jim Morrison, Jeff Buckley, Joni Mitchell et Leonard Cohen. Ses amours Rock & Folk la portent en 1998 à fonder le groupe Wesh Wesh avec François Richez pour lequel el compose les textes et co-signe les musiques, puis le duo We Used to Have a Band. Marion collabore également avec le guitariste Tristan Loriaut sur un projet consacré à la poésie de Jim Morrison : Open Wild.


De 2002 à 2004 elle étudie à IMFP et au Conservatoire de Marseille. Elle monte un projet en sextet en hommage aux premières Bandes originales des films de Walt Disney : Super Kali & The Fragili-Sticks en collaboration avec le guitariste et compositeur Rémy Jouffroy.


A l’occasion d’une commande pour les Jeunesses Musicales de France, elle crée aux côtés de Benjamin Rando, pianiste, le spectacle « I Got Plenty ! », une adaptation musicale et narrative autour de l’opéra de G. Gershwin, Porgy & Bess. Elle participe à de nombreux projets de cabaret, théâtre et de création contemporaine, en tant que chanteuse ou narratrice, notamment auprès des collectifs « Territoire3 » ou « La Force Molle ». 


Depuis 2005, elle collabore à plusieurs créations au sein de la Compagnie Nine Spirit sous la direction artistique de Raphaël Imbert. C'est sur son label qu'elle écrit et sort « Own Virago » en 2009. En 2011, Marion est la voix et la plume de « Vertigo Songs » de Perrine Mansuy (Laborie/Abeille 2011).


Remarquée auprès d’Archie Shepp avec qui elle collabore depuis 2012 en France et aux USA , elle rejoint l'Attica Blues et le Quintet d'Archie Shepp (l’album « I Hear the Sound », Archieball /HM2013, nominé aux Grammy Awards), Ensuite elle enregistre « Heavens » puis « Music Is My Home » avec Raphael Imbert pour Jazz Village (Jazz Village/HM 2013).


Depuis longtemps passionnée par une recherche poétique sur ce qu’elle nomme « les gestes du Blues », et inspirée par ses voyages en Louisiane et à New York, elle se lance dès 2013 dans l’écriture de « Main Blue », aux côtés d’Anne Paceo et de Pierre-François Blanchard. L’album, composé en anglais et en français, sort en 2016 sur le label E-motive records (Sélection Fip et artistes de l’année Jazz Radio).


Interprétant le « Dido’s Lament » de Purcell ou un lied de Schubert, Marion Rampal poursuit également une pioche buissonnière mais toujours exigeante dans le répertoire classique pour y trouver de nouveaux standards. La chanteuse prête sa voix aux grands airs du cabaret berlinois années 30 aux côtés du Quatuor Manfred dans le projet « Bye Bye Berlin » en 2018 (chez Harmonia Mundi/PIAS pour lequel elle est nominée au prix Opus Klassik en 2019).


Enfin, la songwriter prête avec plaisir ses mots aux voix et aux musiques des autres. C'est ainsi qu'elle signe des textes pour la chanteuse Virginie Teychené, pour Anne Paceo (dans « Circles », interprêté par Leila Martial) ou Raphaël Imbert (dans « Music is my Home », interprêtés par Leyla McCalla, Alabama Slim et Big Ron Hunter).
Elle forme avec Pierre-François Blanchard un duo aux multiples cordes qui revisite de manière insolite et libertaire mélodies et lieder. Leur actualité commune est la sortie de l’album « Le Secret » (Music Ovation) en 2019. 


Sa croisée de chemin avec Bossa Flor se fait en 2017 pour la présentation avec Pierre-François de l’album « Main Blue ». Elle rejoint depuis la programmation Bossa Flor pour un rendez-vous annuel, avec une présentation de l’album « Le secret » en février 2020. 

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor