Julien Doumenjou

Composer, pianist, guitarist, singer

Biography

Bio-Julien-Doumenjou-800.jpg

Photo credit: ©Philippe Quevauviller

Born in 1975, Julien Doumenjou is a composer, arranger and performer. He sings, plays guitar, piano and banjo. In addition to training in musicology, he has taken jazz classes at the C.I.M and the Bill Evans Piano Academy. He studied harmony with Bernard Maury, piano with Emmanuel Bex, singing with Anne Ducros, guitar with Edouardo Makaroff from the "Gothan Project", banjo with Kieran Hanrahan and orchestration with Laurent Couson, Claude Lelouch's regular composer-arranger.


Julien Doumenjou has been performing on the French scene and in different countries for the past twenty years. Pianist-arranger for the "Big bang du 19e". Pianist and musical director of the play "Peau d'âne" for one year, at the Théâtre du Nord-Ouest. Co-author of the musical comedy "Vampire" played at the Trianon. Author and interpreter of the group "Jefferson" alongside musicians such as Magic Malik, Stephane Belmondo, Pierrick Pedron or Vincent Artaud with whom he recorded the album "Sweet Rendez-vous". He founded "Tra la la", a vocal quartet of French songs. In Egypt, for four years, he was pianist-arranger for the "Riff Band" and the "Urban jazz quartet". In the United States, he accompanied, as a banjo player, the folk singer Bill O'Neal for one year. Back in France, he mainly led three bands: "Jive at Five" a vocal swing band with singer Camille Bertault, "The bitch and the boys" a tribute band that highlights the vocal art of Brian Wilson, and finally "A Banda", a quintet of Brazilian popular music that he has been directing for four years and with whom he recorded two albums, "A Banda em Paris" and "Saudade" with Jean-Marc Sauvagnargues the drummer/singer of "Fatals Picards".


He crossed Bossa Flor's path in February 2020 by participating in a concert by Emmanuel Donzella (and Andrea Monteiro), an encounter that would be followed by other projects, including recordings on the album "Cordes enchantées".

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor

Julien Doumenjou

Compositeur, pianiste, guitariste, chanteur

Biographie

Bio-Julien-Doumenjou-800.jpg

Crédit photo : ©Philippe Quevauviller

Né en 1975, Julien Doumenjou est compositeur, arrangeur, interprète. Il chante, joue de la guitare, du piano et du banjo. En plus d’une formation en musicologie, il a suivi des cours de jazz au C.I.M et à la Bill Evans Piano Academy. Il étudie l’harmonie avec Bernard Maury, le piano avec Emmanuel Bex, le chant avec Anne Ducros, la guitare avec Edouardo Makaroff du « Gothan Project », le banjo avec Kieran Hanrahan et l’orchestration avec Laurent Couson, compositeur-arrangeur régulier de Claude Lelouch.


Depuis une vingtaine d’années, Julien Doumenjou, se produit sur la scène française et dans différents pays. Pianiste arrangeur pour le « Big bang du 19e ». Pianiste et directeur musical de la pièce « Peau d’âne » pendant un an, au théâtre du Nord-Ouest. Co-auteur de la comédie musicale « Vampire » jouée au Trianon. Auteur et interprète du groupe « Jefferson » aux côtés de musiciens tels que Magic Malik, Stephane Belmondo, Pierrick Pedron ou encore Vincent Artaud avec lesquels il enregistre l’album « Sweet Rendez-vous ». Il fonde « Tra la la » un quatuor vocal de chansons françaises. En Egypte, durant quatre ans, il est pianiste-arrangeur pour le « Riff Band » et le « Urban jazz quartet ». Aux Etats Unis, il accompagne, en tant que banjoiste, le chanteur folk Bill O’Neal pendant une année. De retour en France, il dirige principalement trois formations : « Jive at Five » un orchestre de swing vocal avec la chanteuse Camille Bertault, « The bitch and the boys » un tribute band qui met en lumière l’art vocal de Brian Wilson, et enfin « A Banda », un quintet de musique populaire brésilienne qu’il dirige depuis quatre ans et avec lequel il enregistre deux albums, « A Banda em Paris » et « Saudade » aux côtés de Jean-Marc Sauvagnargues le batteur/chanteur des « Fatals Picards ».


Il croise la trajectoire de Bossa Flor en février 2020 par sa participation à un concert d’Emmanuel Donzella (et Andrea Monteiro), rencontre qui se prolongera par d’autres projets, dont celui d’enregistrements dans l’album « Cordes enchantées ».

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor