Fernando De Almeida Barros

Music director, composer, singer, guitarist

Biography

Bio-Fernando-de-Almeida-Barros-800.jpg

Photo credit: ©Adrien Quevauviller

Fernando De Almeida Barros was born in 1981 in São Paulo, Brazil. Graduated in musical direction and composition at the State University of São Paulo, Júlio de Mesquita Filho (UNESP), he began his musical practice as an amateur at the age of 11. At the age of 15, Fernando won the first prize for original song at the Student Music Festival of São José do Rio Preto (Brazil), and the same year he discovered classical music through the semi-professional choir where he started as a singer and later on, assistant conductor. 


At the age of 17, he moved to Mexico City to study electronic engineering, but he soon fell in love with the cultural effervescence of the megalopolis and ventured out as a street musician - a very rich tradition in Mexico. At the age of 18, he left engineering school and returned to Brazil to take the composition and conducting course at the university, while resuming his activities as a singer and choirmaster, having the opportunity to sing in 2000 at the Konzerthaus in Berlin with the Berlin Singing Academy and the Berlin Symphony Orchestra. 


At university, Fernando was a student of teachers such as Abel Rocha, Achille Picchi, Flo Menezes, Samuel Kerr and other names of Brazilian classical music. During his years of study he worked in parallel with theatre music, choral music and Brazilian popular music, which gave him a rather rich and diverse musical approach.


In 2012, he won the first prize for original song at the Canta! Festival in Brussels, where he settled and participated in several projects as a composer, arranger, director and music producer, choir conductor, orchestra conductor, guitarist and singer.


Since 2017, he participates as a composer, arranger and conductor in the pedagogical project "Les Couroumîms - An Amazonian Adventure", a stage cantata for orchestra, children's choir and soloists.


Fernando composed the music for the television series "Snowboarding in Iran" which won the Bronze Award for Documentary Film at the New York Festivals TV & Film Awards 2020. 


Fernando joined the Sextet Bossa Flor in 2013. He quickly became its musical director, taking charge of the musical arrangements of the pieces for the many concerts organized by Bossa Flor. He also directed and arranged the recordings of the group's two albums, "Rencontres en bossa - De Jobim à Barouh" (2018) and "Feminino" (2019), and is continuing this musical direction for the new ongoing project "Brassens dans tous ses états". 

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor

Fernando de Almeida Barros

Directeur musical, compositeur, chanteur, guitariste

Biographie

Bio-Fernando-de-Almeida-Barros-800.jpg

Crédit photo : ©Adrien Quevauviller

Fernando De Almeida Barros est né en 1981 à São Paulo, Brésil. Diplômé en direction musicale et composition à l’Université de l’État de São Paulo, Júlio de Mesquita Filho (UNESP), il commence sa pratique musicale comme amateur à l'âge de 11 ans. Lors de ses 15 ans, Fernando remporte le premier prix de chanson originale du Festival de Musique des Étudiants de São José do Rio Preto (Brésil), et la même année, il découvre la musique classique à travers le chœur semi-professionnel où il commence comme chanteur et par après, chef assistant. 


À 17 ans, il s'installe à Mexico pour étudier l’ingénierie électronique, mais il tombe bientôt amoureux de l'effervescence culturelle de la mégalopole et s'aventure comme musicien de rue - une très riche tradition au Mexique. À 18 ans, il quitte l'école d’ingénieur et retourne au Brésil pour suivre le cours de composition et direction musicale à l’université, tout en reprenant ses activités de chanteur et de chef de chœur, ayant l'occasion de chanter en 2000 au Konzerthaus, à Berlin, avec l’Académie Berlinoise de Chant et l'Orchestre Symphonique de Berlin. 


À l'université, Fernando est l'élève de professeurs tels qu'Abel Rocha, Achille Picchi, Flo Menezes, Samuel Kerr et d'autres noms de la musique classique brésilienne. Au cours de ses années d’études, il travaille parallèlement avec la musique pour théâtre, la musique de chorale et la musique populaire brésilienne, ce qui lui apporte une approche musicale assez riche et diverse.


En 2012, il remporte le premier prix de chanson originale au Festival Canta! à Bruxelles, où il s’installe et participe à plusieurs projets, autant comme compositeur, arrangeur, directeur et producteur musical, chef de chœur, chef d’orchestre, que guitariste et chanteur.


Depuis 2017, il participe en tant que compositeur, arrangeur et chef d’orchestre au projet pédagogique « Les Couroumîms - Une Aventure Amazonienne », cantate scénique pour orchestre, chœur d’enfants et solistes.


Fernando a composé la musique de la série télévisée « Snowboarding in Iran » qui a remporté le Prix de Bronze de Documentaires au New York Festivals TV & Film Awards 2020. 


Fernando rejoint le Sextet Bossa Flor en 2013. Il en est vite devenu le directeur musical, prenant en charge les arrangements musicaux des morceaux des nombreux concerts organisés par Bossa Flor. Il a également dirigé et arrangé les enregistrements des deux albums du groupe, à savoir « Rencontres en bossa - De Jobim à Barouh » (2018) et « Feminino » (2019), et il poursuit cette direction musicale pour le nouveau projet en cours « Brassens dans tous ses états ». 

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor