Dominique Cravic

Guitarist, composer, author, interpret

Biography

Bio-Dominique-Cravic-800.jpg

Photo credit: ©Adrien Quevauviller

Dominique Cravic, born in 1946, a self-taught guitarist attracted by jazz, rhythm and blues, and musette, took his classes with the concert artist Ramon Cueto. He studied classical guitar and obtained a master's degree in musicology at the University of Paris-VIII. 


In the middle of the 80's, he set up the group "Cordes et Lames" with Francis Varis, a bass, drums, accordion and guitar quartet. There they rearranged the repertoire of jazz/swing/musette and proposed original compositions. They have played and recorded with Lee Konitz, Tal Farlow, Steve Lacy, Larry Corryell, Dominique Pifarely and Michel Grallier. Dominique and Didier Roussin around jazz, blues set up the trio "Bluestory" with Olivier Blavet on chromatic harmonica, then Jean-Jacques Milteau, dedicated to pre-war blues.


He is the creator and leader of the group "Les Primitifs du futur", an instrumental and vocal ensemble whose influences range from the 1930s to musette, blues, jazz and biguine. At the beginning, they are five-six: Dominique Cravic, Daniel Huck, Jean-Jacques Milteau, Guy Lefèbvre, Didier Roussin... Then, little by little, the family grew. The idea was born from a meeting with Robert Crumb who was a fan of musette and Auvergne music. Les Primitifs du futur? A family of musicians brought together at the initiative of Dominique Cravic since 1987 with Daniel Colin on accordion, Daniel Huck on scat and saxophones, Jean-Philippe Viret on double bass, Jean-Michel Davis on xylophone, vibraphone, percussion and drums, Fay Lovsky on vocals and musical saw, on theremin and ukulele, Claire Elzière on vocals, Bertrand Auger on saxophones, Raùl Barboza on accordion, Robert Crumb on mandolin, Hervé Legeay on guitar, Mathilde Febrer on violin, Mohammed El Baazi on oud, Khirredine Medjoubi on darbouka, Mieko Miyazaki on Koto,... who meet on stage and on disc. Dominique Cravic and Les Primitifs du Futur have recorded 4 albums "Cocktail d'amour", "Trop de routes, trop de trains", "World musette" and "Tribal musette" (Universal Jazz). They give concerts in the United States, France, Europe and Canada. 


A meeting that marked Dominique Cravic is that of Henri Salvador. It was Jacques Ehrart, a sound engineer (and neighbour), who took him to Place Vendôme and told him: "Take your guitar, we're going to go and see an old singer, it's to make some musical tries with him". Dominique went on to work with Henri Salvador for many years, recording his album "Jardin d'Hiver" with him and accompanying him to his concerts from 2001 to 2005. Other albums followed.
Dominique is a founding member of the Ukulele Club de Paris, a group that relaunched the ukulele wave/fashion in France with Joseph Racaille, Tony Truant, Cyril Lefebvre, Brad Scott, Fay Lovsky, François Ovide and Pierre Sangra. Together they recorded the album "Manuïa" a Universal/Jazz production. As a guitarist, he has accompanied on stage, or during recording sessions, artists of the French chanson scene such as OIivia Ruiz, Georges Moustaki, Pierre Louki, Claire Elzière, Charles Aznavour, Gérard Pierron, Pierre Barouh, Hélène Maurice, Annie Papin...


At the beginning of the 2000s, Dominique Cravic met Pierre Barouh, and the two of them were invited to play concerts together. In 2008, Pierre Barouh was invited to participate in the recording of the album "Tribal musette" by Les Primitifs du Futur. In 2003, Dominique played guitar and ukulele on Claire Elzière's album "la vie va si vite" (Saravah production). 


Since 2007, he is artistic director, guitarist singer for many albums produced by Respect Record, Japanese label of music and songs from the French repertoire: "Claire Elzière chansons d'amour de Paris, vol 1 & vol 2", "Paris Cinéma", "Le voyage de Django", "Gus versus Tony", "Mon cœur est un accordéon", "Rencontre à Paris", "Rendez-vous à Saint-Germain-dès-Prés".... And tours extensively in Japan with Claire Elzière whom he accompanies on guitar, as well as with accordionists Daniel Colin, Raùl Barboza and Christophe Lampidecchia, pianist Grégory Veux, double bassist Laurent Larcher and violinist Mathilde Febrer. 


In 2009, Dominique composed music on unpublished texts by Pierre Louki, he recorded and was the musical director of Claire Elzière's new album "Un original, 13 originaux" (Saravah production). In 2011, for the cinema, Dominique Cravic and Les Primitifs du Futur participated in the music for the film "Hugo Cabret" by Martin Scorcese. 


In 2013, he participated in the music of Daniel Auteuil's "Marius".  The same year, for the animated film, the music composed by Dominique Cravic "C'est la goutte d'or qui fait déborder la valse" illustrated the soundtrack of the animated short film "Goutte d'or" directed by Christophe Peladan.


In 2014, he composed the music for Claire Elzière's next album based on previously unpublished texts written and proposed by Allain Leprest. He was the musical director of the album "Claire Elzière chante Allain Leprest" (Saravah production).


Dominique Cravic also composed music for musical illustration, in particular with Fay Lovsky for Cézame Music Agency. They composed melodies inspired notably by Caribbean music found on the album "Marines" (CEZ 4057/58) or contemporary blues in "American Roadbook" (CEZ 4053/54). He also collaborated in the collection Patrimoine des Productions Frémeaux as artistic director for music from the West Indies, Yiddish, Gypsy, accordion, Brazil and Madagascar, and he directed the collection "Les As du Musette" for the label Paris Jazz Corner.


In 2018, Dominique Cravic composed the music for the film "Trouble" by Catherine Dirand. In December 2019, release of the album "Un an à Paris", an anthology of songs about Paris interpreted by Dominique Cravic and Claire Elzière, songs that illustrate the documentary film "Un an à Paris" directed by Lionel Isy-Schwartz and broadcast in more than 50 cinemas in Quebec.


In September 2020, Dominique Cravic directed the recording of a new album to celebrate the 80th birthday of Daniel Colin, considered in Japan as a living treasure, produced by Respect Record, Japan.


In March-April 2021, Dominique Cravic, accompanied by Mathilde Febrer on violin, Christophe Lampidecchia on accordion, Olivier Moret on double bass and Grégory Veux on piano, will be back on tour in Japan to give 28 concerts in 27 cities, accompanying singer Claire Elzière.


The crossroads with Bossa Flor occurred when Pierre Barouh passed away… At the beginning of January 2017, Dominique took part in a farewell concert at the Théâtre 13 which Philippe Quevauviller attended. He invited Claire and Dominique to continue the appointments to which Pierre had been faithful since 2012, and a concert brought them together, along with Grégory Veux in Brussels in November 2018. The link has been maintained ever since and they will join the Bossa Flor2020-2021 program.

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor

Dominique Cravic

Guitariste, compositeur, auteur, interprète

Biographie

Bio-Dominique-Cravic-800.jpg

Crédit photo : ©Adrien Quevauviller

Dominique Cravic, né en 1946, guitariste autodidacte attiré par le jazz, le rhythm and blues, le musette, fera ses classes auprès du concertiste Ramon Cueto. Il étudie la guitare classique et obtient une maîtrise de musicologie à l’Université de Paris-VIII. 


Au milieu des années 80, il monte le groupe « Cordes et Lames » avec Francis Varis, un quartet basse, batterie, accordéon et guitare. Ils s’y réapproprient le répertoire du jazz/swing/musette et proposent des compositions originales. Ils ont joué et enregistré avec Lee Konitz, Tal Farlow, Steve Lacy, Larry Corryell, Dominique Pifarely et Michel Grallier. Dominique et Didier Roussin autour du jazz, blues  montent le trio « Bluestory » avec Olivier Blavet à l’harmonica chromatique, puis Jean-Jacques Milteau ; consacré au blues d’avant guerre.


Il est le créateur et leader du groupe « Les Primitifs du futur », un ensemble instrumental et vocal dont les influences métissées vont des années 1930 au musette en passant par le blues, le jazz et la biguine. Au début, ils sont cinq-six : Dominique Cravic, Daniel Huck, Jean-Jacques Milteau, Guy Lefèbvre, Didier Roussin… Puis, peu à peu, la famille s’est étoffée. L’idée nait d’une rencontre avec Robert Crumb qui était fan de musette et de musique auvergnate. Les Primitifs du futur ? Une famille de musiciens réunie à l’initiative de Dominique Cravic depuis 1987 avec Daniel Colin à l’accordéon, Daniel Huck au scat et aux saxophones, Jean-Philippe Viret à la contrebasse, Jean-Michel Davis au xylophone, vibraphone, percusssions, et à la batterie, Fay Lovsky au chant, à la scie musicale, au thérémine et au ukulélé, Claire Elzière au chant, Bertrand Auger aux saxophones, Raùl Barboza à l’accordéon, Robert Crumb à la mandoline, Hervé Legeay à la guitare, Mathilde Febrer au violon, Mohammed El Baazi au oud, Khirredine Medjoubi à la darbouka, Mieko Miyazaki au Koto,… qui se retrouvent sur scène et sur disque. Dominique Cravic et Les Primitifs du Futur ont enregistré 4 albums « Cocktail d’amour », « Trop de routes, trop de trains », « World musette » et « Tribal musette » (Universal Jazz). Ils donnent des concerts aux États-Unis, en France, en Europe, au Canada. 


Une rencontre qui marque Dominique Cravic est celle d’Henri Salvador. C’est Jacques Ehrart, ingénieur du son (et voisin), qui le conduit Place Vendôme en lui disant : « Prends ta guitare, on va aller voir un vieux chanteur, c’est pour faire quelques maquettes avec lui ». S’en suit une collaboration pendant de belles années, Dominique enregistre avec Henri Salvador son album « Jardin d'Hiver », et il l’accompagnera pour ses concerts de 2001 à 2005. D’autres albums suivront.


Dominique est membre fondateur du Ukulélé Club de Paris groupe qui relança la vague/mode du ukulélé en France avec Joseph Racaille, Tony Truant, Cyril Lefebvre, Brad Scott, Fay Lovsky, François Ovide et Pierre Sangra. Ils enregistrent ensemble l’album « Manuïa » une production Universal/Jazz. Guitariste, il a accompagné en scène, ou lors de séances d'enregistrement, des artistes de la scène française de la chanson tels qu’OIivia Ruiz, Georges Moustaki, Pierre Louki, Claire Elzière, Charles Aznavour, Gérard Pierron, Pierre Barouh, Hélène Maurice, Annie Papin…


Au début des années 2000, Dominique Cravic rencontre Pierre Barouh, s’en suivent des invitations réciproques lors de concerts qu’ils proposent l’un et l’autre. En 2008, Pierre Barouh sera invité à participer à l’enregistrement de l’album « Tribal musette » des Primitifs du Futur. En 2003, Dominique joue de la guitare et du ukulélé sur l’album de Claire Elzière « la vie va si vite » (production Saravah). 


Depuis 2007, il est directeur artistique, guitariste chanteur pour de nombreux albums produits par Respect Record, label japonais de musiques et chansons du répertoire français : « Claire Elzière chansons d’amour de Paris, vol 1 & vol 2 », « Paris Cinéma », « Le voyage de Django », « Gus versus Tony », « Mon cœur est un accordéon », « Rencontre à Paris », « Rendez-vous à Saint-Germain-dès-Prés »…. Et fait de nombreuses tournées au Japon avec Claire Elzière qu’il accompagne à la guitare, ainsi qu’avec les accordéonistes Daniel Colin, Raùl Barboza et Christophe Lampidecchia, le pianiste Grégory Veux, le contrebassiste Laurent Larcher et la violoniste Mathilde Febrer. 


En 2009, Dominique compose des musiques sur des textes inédits de Pierre Louki, il enregistre et assure la direction musicale du nouvel album de Claire Elzière « Un original, 13 originaux » (production Saravah). En 2011, pour le cinéma, Dominique Cravic et Les Primitifs du Futur participent à la musique du film « Hugo Cabret » de Martin Scorcese. 


En 2013, il participe à la musique de « Marius » de Daniel Auteuil.  La même année, pour le cinéma d’animation, la musique composée par Dominique Cravic « C’est la goutte d’or qui fait déborder la valse » illustre la bande sonore du court métrage d’animation « Goutte d’or » réalisé par Christophe Peladan.


En 2014, il compose les musiques du prochain album de Claire Elzière à partir de textes inédits écrits et proposés par Allain Leprest. Il assure la direction musicale du disque « Claire Elzière chante Allain Leprest » (production Saravah).


Dominique Cravic compose également des musiques destinées à l’illustration musicale, en particulier avec Fay Lovsky pour Cézame Music Agency. Ils composent des mélodies inspirées notamment de la musique antillaise que l'on retrouve sur l'album « Marines » (CEZ 4057/58) ou du blues contemporain dans « American Roadbook » (CEZ 4053/54). Il collabore également à la collection Patrimoine des Productions Frémeaux en qualité de directeur artistique pour les musiques des Antilles, yiddishes, tziganes, d’accordéon, du Brésil et de Madagascar ; il dirige la collection « Les As du Musette » pour le label Paris Jazz Corner.


En 2018, Dominique Cravic compose la musique du film « Trouble » de Catherine Dirand. En décembre 2019, sortie de l’album « Un an à Paris », un florilège de chansons sur Paris interprétées par Dominique Cravic et Claire Elzière, chansons qui illustrent le film-documentaire « Un an à Paris » réalisé par Lionel Isy-Schwartz diffusé dans plus de 50 salles de cinéma au Québec.


En septembre 2020, Dominique Cravic dirigera l’enregistrement d’un nouvel album pour fêter les 80 ans de Daniel Colin, considéré au Japon comme un trésor vivant, produit par Respect Record, Japon.

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor