​​Didier Sustrac

Author, composer, guitarist, singer

Biography

www.sustrac.com

Didier-Sustrac-800.jpg

Photo credit: ©Christian Colomb

Born in 1959 in Grasse, Didier Sustrac picked up the family guitar in his eighth year, which he learned on his own, like a grown-up. By the age of ten, he was already writing songs. Growing up between Grasse and Avignon, in a family of music lovers, he listened to everything from Jeanne Moreau to James Brown, from Billie Holiday to Led Zep. But he remembers having searched for a different path from rock as a teenager, somewhere between the cool jazz of Chet Baker and the Californian jazz of Michael Franks. Not forgetting the bucolic and romantic Pierre Barouh, the ludophilia composer of the iconic theme of the film Un homme et une femme (1966), who was for many in his desire to travel.


Ten years later, nourished by the stories of his grandmother, a poet and painter, he set off to explore Venezuela, then headed for Brazil in 1979, spurred on by a record by João Gilberto and Stan Getz. Arriving in Rio during the dictatorship, he immediately understood that he had finally found what he was looking for: the smooth harmonies, the African rhythms of the Afro-sambas and João's bossa jazz, cut for the sweetness of his temperament and his whispering voice. “I took up bossa like the yéyés took up rock" he would later say. He stayed there for three years, enough time to swap his folk guitar for a violão and take his first classical guitar lessons, but also to learn Portuguese and understand that his writing language would remain French forever.


On his return home at the age of 23, he began his new life as a bossa singer in the piano bars of the Gulf of Saint-Tropez, before setting off for the capital to try his hand at labels. In vain... The talent’s discoverer Varda Kakon (Dany Brillant, Lara Fabian...) was the first to believe in his swaying swing, in his dream world, in his "music for women", and convinced the producer Marc Lumbroso to sign him in 1993: first record, Zanzibar (Remark), first hit, Tout seul, and the Olympia in the wake, as the first part of Smaïn show... Since then, Didier Sustrac has made a series of albums and encounters: those of Chico Buarque, invited as a duo on the album Blues Indigo (Remark, 1995), Marcio Faraco, whose album he produced, and Claude Nougaro, who offered him an exceptional duo on the track Cogne (2003). There was also, in the early 2000s, that magical night spent playing and chatting with João Gilberto in his London hotel room... Among his innumerable concerts, we will note some prestigious duets: Chico Buarque, Michel Fugain, Yuri Buenavetura, Claude Nougaro, Pierre Barouh, Philippe Baden Powell and David Linx. An artist who makes no concessions between poetry, bossa and jazz, Didier Sustrac shows that he is one of those who best succeed in marrying Brazilian music and the French language.


In the midst of the crisis in the record industry, Didier also had to deal with the majors. Labelled as "variété" singer, he himself admits to having "sold" himself to EMI with Chanteur d'ascenseur (2000), an album whose bitter title bore his disillusions. He "found himself" back with Matière Première (Zinzin production, 2003), an album in his own image which sealed his friendship with Claude Nougaro in a rare duet on the song Cogne... During these chaotic years, his Brazilian tropism remained intact. He recorded in Rio the record Je chante un air (Zinzin production, 2006) with percussions and cariocas band, and continued to use bossa as a language to talk about himself, his life as a father (Au pays des papas, album of nursery rhymes released in 2010) and his dreams elsewhere. In 2011, he produced the DVD Voyageur (Azimut collection). Didier also wrote songs for Jane Fostin (Blues de Billie), Nana Mouskouri (Voir le monde) and Maurane (J't'ai pas tout dit), among others. 


Didier also shows his talents as an author by publishing several books, including "Busca Vida" (Orphie, 2000), and children's stories, "Chut le roi pourrait t'entendre" (Gautier-Languereau, 2007), "Mon grand livre des papas" (Thomas Jeunesse, 2009), "Le Capitaine Pff et le Dragon rouge" (Thomas Jeunesse, 2010), and his first novel, "Je hais les DJs" in 2016.


In 2016, Didier recorded the album Ostende Bossa (WEA music) which contains duets with Pierre Barouh (Samba saravah), David Linx (Mousailllon) and Camila Costa (Rua Madureira).  


More serene, freer than ever, Didier is turned towards the future but doesn't forget his role as a passer. With his musicians, partly Brazilian, he rebuilds with his generation this bridge always dreamed of between France and Brazil. He is thus recognized as the "most Brazilian bossanovist in France", but if his universe revolves around bossa nova, he draws his roots from his French roots. Claude Nougaro once told him "Your homeland is your language". In this context, Pierre Barouh has always been a kind of tutelary figure in his Franco-Brazilian universe. Faithful to his past, Didier Sustrac is regenerating himself, working tirelessly on new texts and new compositions.


His crossroads with Bossa Flor is linked to the release of his album Ostende Bossa, and constitutes what Pierre Barouh called an "underground river". Philippe Quevauviller came across a video where he sings Samba saravah with Pierre, accompanied by Philippe Baden Powell and other musicians, which led him to discover the album project, a double wink through the reference to Belgium and their common link with Pierre Barouh. From there was born their meeting, an appointment had been made in December 2016 with Pierre to discuss a concert in Brussels, but fate had another project and it was at the Montmartre cemetery that they would meet one day in January, accompanying the friend to his final resting place. Didier still came to present his album in June 2017, and a friendship, a common space for sharing, developed over time, with multiple encounters in Brussels and elsewhere ...

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor

Didier Sustrac

Auteur, compositeur, guitariste, chanteur

Biographie

www.sustrac.com

Didier-Sustrac-800.jpg

Crédit photo : ©Christian Colomb

Né en 1959 à Grasse, Didier Sustrac s’empare de la guitare familiale dès sa huitième année, qu’il apprend, tout seul, comme un grand. Il n’a pas dix ans et, déjà, écrit des chansons. Grandi entre Grasse et Avignon, dans une famille de mélomanes, il écoute de tout, de Jeanne Moreau à James Brown, de Billie Holiday à Led Zep. Mais il se souvient avoir cherché dès l’adolescence un autre chemin que celui du rock, quelque part entre le cool jazz de Chet Baker et le jazz californien de Michael Franks. Sans oublier le bucolique et romantique Pierre Barouh, compositeur lusophile du thème iconique du film Un homme et une femme (1966), qui fut pour beaucoup dans son envie de voyager.


Dix ans plus tard, nourri des récits de sa grand-mère poétesse et peintre, il part explorer le Venezuela, puis il met le cap sur le Brésil en 1979, aiguillé par un disque de João Gilberto et Stan Getz. Débarqué à Rio, pendant la dictature, il a aussitôt compris qu’il avait enfin trouvé ce qu’il cherchait : les harmonies suaves, les rythmes africains des afro-sambas et la bossa jazz de João, taillée pour la douceur de son tempérament et sa voix murmurante. « Je me suis accaparé la bossa comme les yéyés se sont accaparé le rock », dira-t-il plus tard. Il est resté là-bas trois ans, le temps de troquer sa guitare folk contre un violão et de prendre ses premiers cours de guitare classique, mais aussi d’apprendre le portugais et de comprendre que sa langue d’écriture resterait, à jamais, le français.


De retour au pays, à 23 ans, il rode sa nouvelle vie de chanteur de bossa dans les pianos-bars du golfe de Saint-Tropez, avant de partir à l’assaut de la capitale, pour y démarcher les labels. En vain... La dénicheuse de talents Varda Kakon (Dany Brillant, Lara Fabian...) a été la première à croire en son swing chaloupé, à son univers rêveur, à sa « musique pour femmes », et a convaincu le producteur Marc Lumbroso de le signer en 1993 : premier disque, Zanzibar (Remark), premier tube, Tout seul, et l’Olympia dans la foulée, en première partie de Smaïn... Depuis, Didier Sustrac a enchaîné les disques et les rencontres : celles de Chico Buarque, invité en duo sur l’album Blues Indigo (Remark, 1995), de Marcio Faraco, dont il a produit le disque, ou encore de Claude Nougaro, qui lui a offert un duo d’exception sur le titre Cogne (2003). Il y eut aussi, au début des années 2000, cette nuit magique passée à jouer et discuter avec João Gilberto dans sa chambre d’hôtel londonienne... Parmi ses innombrables concerts, on notera quelques duos prestigieux : Chico Buarque, Michel Fugain, Yuri Buenavetura, Claude Nougaro, Pierre Barouh, Philippe Baden Powell et David Linx. Artiste sans concession entre poésie, bossa et jazz, Didier Sustrac montre qu’il est l’un de ceux qui réussissent le mieux le mariage de la musique brésilienne et de la langue française.


En pleine crise de l’industrie du disque, Didier a dû aussi composer avec les majors. Etiqueté « variété », lui-même concède s’être « vendu » à EMI avec Chanteur d’ascenseur (2000), album dont le titre amer portait ses désillusions. Il s’est « retrouvé » avec Matière Première (Zinzin production, 2003), disque à son image qui a scellé son amitié avec Claude Nougaro dans un duo rare sur la chanson Cogne... Pendant ces années chaotiques, son tropisme brésilien, lui, est resté intact. Il a ainsi enregistré à Rio le disque Je chante un air (Zinzin production, 2006) avec percussions et fanfare cariocas, et continué d’user de la bossa comme d’un langage pour parler de lui, de sa vie de père (Au pays des papas, album de comptines pour enfants sorti en 2010) et de ses rêves d’ailleurs. En 2011, il produit le DVD Voyageur (Azimut collection). Didier écrit également des chansons, entre autres, pour Jane Fostin (Blues de Billie), Nana Mouskouri (Voir le monde) et Maurane (J’t’ai pas tout dit). 


Didier montre également ses talents d’auteur par la publication de plusieurs ouvrages, dont « Busca Vida » (éditions Orphie, 2000), et des contes pour enfants, « Chut le roi pourrait t’entendre » (éditions Gautier-Languereau, 2007), « Mon grand livre des papas » (Thomas Jeunesse, 2009), « Le Capitaine Pff et le Dragon rouge » (Thomas Jeunesse, 2010), et son premier roman, « Je hais les DJs » en 2016.


En 2016, Didier enregistre l’album Ostende Bossa (WEA music) qui contient des duos avec Pierre Barouh (Samba saravah), David Linx (Mousailllon) et Camila Costa (Rua Madureira).  


Plus serein, plus libre que jamais, Didier est tourné vers l’avenir mais n’oublie pas son rôle de passeur. Avec ses musiciens, en partie brésiliens, il reconstruit avec sa génération ce pont toujours rêvé entre la France et le Brésil. Il est ainsi reconnu comme le « bossanoviste le plus brésilien de France », mais si son univers tourne autour de la bossa nova, il puise ses sources dans ses racines françaises. Claude Nougaro lui a dit un jour « Ta patrie, c’est ta langue ». Dans ce contexte, Pierre Barouh a été depuis toujours une sorte de figure tutélaire dans son univers franco-brésilien. Fidèle à son passé, Didier Sustrac se régénère, travaille sans relâche sur de nouveaux textes, de nouvelles compositions.


Sa croisée de chemin avec Bossa Flor est liée à la sortie de son album Ostende Bossa, et constitue ce que Pierre Barouh appelait une « rivière souterraine ». Philippe Quevauviller est tombé sur une vidéo où il chante Samba saravah avec Pierre, accompagné par Philippe Baden Powell et d’autres musiciens, ce qu’il l’a amené à découvrir le projet d’album, un double clin d’œil par la référence à la Belgique et leur lien commun avec Pierre Barouh. De là est né leur rencontre, rendez-vous avait été pris en décembre 2016 avec Pierre pour discuter d’un concert à Bruxelles, mais le destin avait un autre projet et c’est au cimetière de Montmartre qu’ils se verront un jour de janvier, accompagnant l’ami vers sa dernière demeure. Didier est quand même venu présenter son album en juin 2017, et une amitié, un même espace de partages, s’est développé au fil du temps, avec de multiples rencontres à Bruxelles et ailleurs…

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor