Christophe ‘Cacha’ Vaassen

Bassist

Biography

Bio-Christophe-Vaassen-800.jpg

Photo credit: ©Luna Valderrama

Christophe Vaassen, born in 1977, experienced his first musical emotions at the Waterloo Academy of Music, where, as a child, he took piano and music theory lessons for a few years. At the same time, he seized the opportunity to join the Shepherds' Choir - again in Waterloo - whose repertoire combines sacred and secular songs. He will be a soprano for three years. This was his first contact with the stage (including multiple performances in Bozar, Brussels), professional orchestras and classical musicians, a TV show and, as a memorable souvenir, a European tour in five countries when he was barely ten years old.


As a teenager, he began to let off steam on a six-string guitar. Blessed period of Woodstock's 25th anniversary, discovery of the Hendrix, Clapton, Led Zep, Pink Floyd, etc. Then some friends approached him: they were looking for a bass player and convinced him to get rid of his cuti. Then began a waltz of concerts at the school, and he will remain confined to the bass.


Well, not quite: like other bass players, he gradually became a multi-instrumentalist. It was the time of "world music", so-called "exotic" influences. He discovered other horizons and instruments: djembe, darbukka, didjeridoo. Then sampling and electronic music.


In 2005, thanks to a new professional page, he joined a swing band, led by a British trombonist and former Royal Navy. After hovering to the sound of psychedelic rock from the seventies, then stopping off in the grunge rock repertoire of his teenage years, landing in "Dixieland" proved to be very laborious, but the support and perseverance instilled by the leader, a true musical father, paid off and it was in this context that he crossed paths with Anthony More, a talented pianist.


In 2007, a meeting of Anthony More during a dinner with Philippe Quevauviller gave the ferment of a group around bossa nova and Henri Salvador's songs, and they invited Chris to join the brand new group BosSalvador with Dyanne Bennink (saxophone, flute, vocals) and Jacques Gillet (drums). They were joined in 2010 by percussionist Miguel Uribe. The group dissolved at the end of 2011 while keeping links that will take shape over the years through new encounters around bossa nova, French song and jazz.


Christophe started playing electric double bass, and joined the group Betty & Co, led by Bruno Desart (guitar), with Dyanne Bennink (vocals), Julie Legrand (violin), Anthony More (piano) and Eric Ivens (drums). 


Since 2020, he joined the Pataphysique Café Orchestra, which covers, in a jazzy form ,French chanson repertoires, in particular Boris Vian, Michel Legrand, Claude Nougaro, Serge Reggiani. The group is made up of Philippe Quevauviller (vocals), Dominique Pièrard (guitar), Bruno Desart (guitar), Anthony More (piano), Berny Hoste (trumpet), and himself on electric double bass. This same group participates in the project "Brassens dans tous ses états", in association with Jacques Martinez (saxophone, flute).

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor

Christophe ‘Cacha’ Vaassen

Bassiste

Biographie

Bio-Christophe-Vaassen-800.jpg

Crédit photo : ©Luna Valderrama

Christophe Vaassen, né en 1977, connaît ses premiers émois musicaux à l’académie de musique de Waterloo, où, enfant, il suit des cours de piano et de solfège pendant quelques années. À la même période, il saisira l’occasion d’intégrer la chorale des Pastoureaux - à Waterloo toujours -  dont le répertoire allie chants sacrés et profanes. Il y officiera trois ans en qualité de soprano. Ce fut un premier contact avec la scène (notamment de multiples prestations à Bozar, Bruxelles), les orchestres et musiciens classiques professionnels, une émission TV et, mémorable souvenir, une tournée européenne dans cinq pays alors qu’il a dix ans à peine.


À l’adolescence, il commence à se défouler sur une six-cordes. Période bénie du 25e anniversaire de Woodstock, découverte des Hendrix, Clapton, Led Zep, Pink Floyd, etc. Puis des amis l’approchent : ils cherchent un bassiste et le convainquent de virer sa cuti. Commence alors une valse des concerts au bahut, et il restera confiné à la basse.


Enfin, pas tout à fait : comme d’autres bassistes, il devient progressivement multi-instrumentiste. C’est le temps de la « world music », des influences dites « exotiques ». Il découvre d’autres horizons et instruments : djembé, darbukka, didjeridoo. Puis le sampling et la musique électronique.


En 2005, à la faveur d’une nouvelle page professionnelle, il intègre un swing band, emmené par un tromboniste britannique et ancien de la Royal Navy. Après avoir plané au son du rock psychédélique des seventies, puis fait escale dans le répertoire du rock grunge de son adolescence, l’atterrissage en « Dixieland » s’avère très laborieux, mais le soutien et la persévérance insufflés par le leader, véritable père musical, paient et c’est dans ce contexte qu’il croise la route d’Anthony More, talentueux pianiste.


En 2007, une rencontre d’Anthony More au cours d’un dîner avec Philippe Quevauviller donne le ferment d’un groupe autour de la bossa nova et des chansons d’Henri Salvador, et ils invitent Chris à rejoindre le tout nouveau groupe BosSalvador avec Dyanne Bennink (saxophone, flûte, chant) et Jacques Gillet (batterie). Ils sont rejoints en 2010 par le percussionniste Miguel Uribe. Le groupe se dissout à la fin 2011 tout en gardant des liens qui se concrétiseront au fil des années par de nouvelles rencontres autour de la bossa nova, la chanson française et le jazz.


Christophe se met à la contrebasse électrique, et rejoint le groupe Betty & Co, dirigé par Bruno Desart (guitare), avec Dyanne Bennink (chant), Julie Legrand (violon), Anthony More (piano) et Eric Ivens (batterie). 


Depuis 2020, Il a rejoint le Pataphysique Café Orchestra qui reprend sous une forme jazzy des répertoires de la chanson française, en particulier Boris Vian, Michel Legrand, Claude Nougaro, Serge Reggiani. La formation se compose de Philippe Quevauviller (chant), Dominique Pièrard (guitare), Bruno Desart (guitare), Anthony More (piano), Berny Hoste (trompette), et lui-même à la contrebasse électrique. Cette même formation participe au projet « Brassens dans tous ses états », en association avec Jacques Martinez (saxophone, flûte). 

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor