Anne Wolf 

Pianist, composer

Biography

Anne-Wolf-800-2.png

Photo credit: ©Jacky Lepage

Born in 1967 to a father who loved painting and a mother who adored Chopin's music, Anne Wolf is a Belgian pianist living in Brussels. After ten years of classical studies at the music academy, she discovered other musical styles, Jimmy Hendrix, Funkadelic, Miles Davis, Return to Forever, The Brother Johnson etc. At the age of 15, she decided to interrupt her schooling to devote herself to music and began to earn a living by alternating various small jobs. She then took the entrance exam to the Royal Conservatory of Music in Brussels, classical section, while taking her first jazz lessons with Alain Rochette. Two years later, she was accepted for courses in music theory, musical analysis, harmony, choir and psycho-pedagogy. At the same time, she started playing in a band as a keyboard player, playing French songs and jazz-funk. Then, everything followed, she became little by little a professional keyboard and piano sidewoman, while continuing her studies at the conservatory, jazz section this time, with Éric Legnigi and Charles Loos as teachers. She then touched all kinds of music, soul, African, Brazilian, pop, FM rock, Flemish and French songs... She went to Paris to attend a master class with Michel Petrucciani, an encounter that particularly touched her. She then performed solo or with musicians of various styles and cultures, mainly Brazilian and African.


A few years later, with her first prize in jazz piano under her arm, Anne began to feel the need to create her own trio. Her first album "Amazone" was released in 2001, recorded on the Igloo label, with Cedric Waterschoot on electric bass, Chris Joris on percussion, and a guest appearance by Brazilian singer Marcia Maria. At the same time, she toured with Pierre van Dormael's band "Vivaces" and the band "Parfum Latin" with Charles Loos. In 2002 she won the Django d'or prize, awarded once a year to a young Belgian jazz musician. Her composition 'Moon at noon' won the 2006 International Jazz Competition in Hoeilaert, where a compulsory piece was chosen.  


The meeting with Dutch bass player Theo de Jong gave a new lease of life to his approach to music and life with the birth of their son Lenny. Her second album "Moon@Noon" was released in 2010, recorded with Dutch percussionist Janco van der Kaaden on the Mogno label. In 2016 the live album 'Wolf in the Wood' was released. Her current focus is on more modern jazz in a quartet with Theo de Jong, Lionel Beuvens and Sigrid Vandenbogaerde. 


LatinAlma Jazz was born on her initiative.

Anne Wolf

Pianiste, compositrice 

Biographie

Anne-Wolf-800-2.png

Crédit photo : ©Jacky Lepage

Née en 1967 d’un père amoureux de la peinture et d’une mère pianiste adoratrice des œuvres de Chopin, Anne Wolf est une pianiste belge établie à Bruxelles. Après dix années d’études classiques à l’académie de musique, elle découvre d’autres styles musicaux, Jimmy Hendrix, Funkadelic, Miles Davis, Return to Forever, The Brother Johnson etc. A 15 ans, elle décide d’interrompre sa scolarité pour se consacrer à la musique et commence à gagner sa vie en alternant divers petits boulots. Elle passe alors l’examen d’entrée au Conservatoire Royal de musique de Bruxelles, section classique, tout en suivant ses premiers cours de jazz en compagnie d’Alain Rochette. Deux ans plus tard, elle est acceptée aux cours de solfège, analyse musicale, harmonie, chorale et psychopédagogie. En parallèle, elle commence à jouer au groupe en tant que claviériste, de la chanson française et du jazz-funk. Ensuite, tout s’enchaîne, elle devient petit à petit Sidewoman professionnelle du clavier et du piano, tout en poursuivant ses études au conservatoire, section jazz cette fois, avec pour professeurs notamment Éric Legnigi et Charles Loos. Elle touche alors à toutes les musiques, soul, africaine, brésilienne, pop, rock FM, chanson flamande et française… Elle se rend à Paris pour suivre une master class de Michel Petrucciani, une rencontre qui la touche tout particulièrement. Elle se produit alors en solo ou avec des musiciens de divers styles et cultures, principalement brésiliennes et africaines.


Quelques années plus tard, son premier prix de piano jazz sous le bras, Anne commence à sentir le besoin de créer son propre trio. Son premier album « Amazone » voit le jour en 2001, enregistré sous le label Igloo, avec Cédric Waterschoot à la basse électrique, Chris Joris aux percussions, et en invitée, la chanteuse brésilienne Marcia Maria. Dans le même temps, elle tourne entre autres avec le groupe de Pierre van Dormael « Vivaces » et le groupe « Parfum Latin » aux côtés de Charles Loos. En 2002, elle gagne le prix Django d’or octroyé une fois par an à un jeune musicien de jazz belge. Sa composition « Moon at noon » est primée en 2006 au terme du concours international de jazz à Hoeilaert, destiné à choisir une œuvre imposée.  


Une pause s’ensuit, une tendinite, une remise en question… La rencontre avec le bassiste hollandais Theo de Jong donne un nouveau souffle à son approche de la musique et de la vie avec la naissance de leur fils Lenny. Son deuxième album « Moon@Noon » sort en 2010, enregistré avec le percussionniste hollandais Janco van der Kaaden sous le label Mogno. En 2016 sort l’album live « Wolf in the Wood ». Son actualité la tourne vers du jazz plus moderne en quartet avec Theo de Jong, Lionel Beuvens et Sigrid Vandenbogaerde. 


Le LatinAlma Jazz nait à son initiative.