Alexandre Latora

Guitar, trumpet, vocals

Biography

Alexandre-Latora-800-2.png

Photo credit: ©Philippe Quevauviller

Blind from birth, Alexandre Latora has always been bathed in music by his mother, a pianist, and his father, a drummer. A gifted young talent, he has already made a lot of headlines, notably for having passed his CESS with success at the Central Jury, but also for having performed in numerous concerts from a very young age, whether it be for his talents as a singer, trumpet player or guitarist.


He started singing at the academy at the age of 8. It was there that he fell in love with the sound of the trumpet. But it was the guitar that became his main instrument. He did not neglect the harmonica, the bass guitar, the keyboard and even the Jew's harp. Endowed with an absolute ear and a phenomenal memory, he has always been interested in harmony. Very early on, he turned to jazz, the colours of which he appreciates, and he never misses his daily appointment with Le Grand Jazz by Philippe Baron. Non-exclusive, he listens to a lot of music of all kinds and from all horizons. His tastes have evolved towards Latino, South American music and more particularly for Ruben Blades, as much for his music as for the message he puts across in his texts. He does not however ignore French variety music with Renaud, Bécaud, Fugain, Lavilliers, Voulzy, Macias... The only criterion that guides him: to touch the heart. For the sake of authenticity, Alexandre taught himself several languages so that he could sing not only in French and English, but also in Spanish and Brazilian. 


From one thing to another, or rather from one CD to another, he discovered Salsa, Milton Nascimento, Pablo Milanes... A concert by Didier Sustrac followed by a meeting with the artist seduced him and gave him the opportunity to discover bossa nova. His godfather gave him the mythical album by João Gilberto and Stan Getz, which was a revelation. Alexandre reproduced all the tracks almost instantly without any help and, even better, with his own personal colours. 


A meeting with Philippe Quevauviller, a passionate and underground navigator, led him to get to know other musicians who were in tune with the same heartbeat. And concert projects were set up with musicians such as Osman Martins, Farida Zouj... From there, the Balladins quartet was born, based on French songs and Brazilian music.

Alexandre Latora

Guitariste, trompettiste, chanteur

Biographie

Alexandre-Latora-800-2.png

Crédit photo : ©Philippe Quevauviller

Non-voyant de naissance, Alexandre Latora a toujours été baigné par la musique de par sa mère, pianiste, et son père, batteur. Jeune talent doué, il a déjà fait couler beaucoup d'encre, notamment pour avoir réussi haut la main son CESS au Jury Central, mais aussi pour s'être produit dès son plus jeune âge dans de nombreux concerts, que ce soit pour ses talents de chanteur, de trompettiste ou de guitariste.


Il a commencé le chant à l'académie à 8 ans. C'est là qu'il est tombé en admiration pour le son de la trompette. Mais c'est la guitare qui est devenue son instrument majeur. Il ne néglige pour autant pas l'harmonica, la guitare basse, le clavier et même la guimbarde. Doté d'une oreille absolument absolue et d'une mémoire phénoménale, il a toujours été intéressé par l'harmonie. Très tôt, il se tourne vers le jazz dont il apprécie les couleurs et ne rate pour rien au monde son rendez-vous quotidien avec Le Grand Jazz de Philippe BARON. Non exclusif, il écoute beaucoup de musiques de tous genres et de tous horizons. Ses goûts ont évolué vers le latino, les musiques d'Amérique du Sud et plus particulièrement pour Ruben Blades, autant pour sa musique que pour le message qu'il fait passer dans ses textes. Il ne fait pas pour autant l'impasse sur la variété française avec Renaud, Bécaud, Fugain, Lavilliers, Voulzy, Macias... Le seul critère qui le guide : toucher le cœur. Par soucis d'authenticité, Alexandre apprend seul plusieurs langues pour pouvoir chanter non seulement en français et anglais, mais aussi en espagnol et brésilien. 


De fil en aiguilles, ou plutôt de cd en cd, il découvre la Salsa, Milton Nascimento, Pablo Milanes… Un concert de Didier Sustrac suivi d'une rencontre avec l'artiste le séduit et lui met le pied à l'étrier de la bossa nova. Son parrain lui offre l'album mythique de João Gilberto et Stan Getz qui est une révélation. Alexandre reproduit quasi instantanément tous les titres sans aucune aide et, mieux encore, avec ses couleurs personnelles. 


Une rencontre avec Philippe Quevauviller, passionné passionnant et navigateur sous-terrain, l'amène à connaître d'autres musiciens accordés au même diapason du cœur. Et des projets de concerts se mettent en place avec des musiciens comme Osman Martins, Farida Zouj… De là naît le quartet des Balladins autour de la chanson française et de la musique brésilienne.