Bossa Flor was originally the name given by Philippe Quevauviller in 2009 to a book project on Bossa Nova that he had entitled "Fleur de bossa". His first musical project entitled BosSalvador (initiated in 2007) found a new dimension in 2012 when he met Pierre Barouh. A complicity and friendship were born around this "art of encounters" which is the mark of his life path. Pierre became the tutelary figure of what will become the ASBL Bossa Flor in 2016, shortly before his departure for another place. Over the years, a network of artists has formed around various projects that generate musical exchanges in the context of concerts and recordings of albums produced by the ASBL. This page presents the biographies of this network.

Photo-Phil-800.jpg

Musical production, edition, singer

Bio-Pierre-Barouh-250.jpg

Walker, author, composer, singer, filmmaker, writer

       Philippe Quevauviller (vocals) created the Sextet Bossa Flor in 2012 with the meeting of Fernando de Almeida Barros (guitar, vocals, musical direction) and Wellington Barros (piano, vocals), who were joined by Jacques Martinez (saxophone, flute), Marat Araujo (bass) and Toni Reina (drums). As Jacques and Toni were called to other personal projects, the group welcomed Claudio Rocha (saxophone, flute) in 2016 and Marcos Della Rocha (drums) in 2018. The repertoire revolves around bossa nova classics, mainly Antonio Carlos Jobim's songs, in Portuguese versions and French adaptations, and songs from the French repertoire adapted into Brazilian rhythms (bossa and samba). Pierre Barouh participated in their first album "Rencontres en bossa", the sextet produced a second album "Feminino" with the female voices of Ana Rocha and Amalia Baraona, then a third opus "De Sète à Rio" in 2020 based on songs by Brassens, with the participation of Stéphanie Scultore (vocals). The Sextet is currently working on a double album "Brassens dans tous ses états" (to be released in September 2021). The Sextet is also continuing its programme around a "little history of bossa nova" with the participation of the singer Ylva Berg, in which the writer Jean-Paul Delfino also participated.

Bio-Marat-Araujo-250.jpg

Bassist, percussionist, author, composer

Bio-Fernando-de-Almeida-Barros-250.jpg

Music director, composer, singer, guitarist

 

Bio-Toni-Reina-250.jpg

Drummer

Amália-Baraona-800.jpg

Singer

Bio-Jean-Paul-Delfino-250.jpg

Writer, musicologist between France and Brazil

Bio-Claudio-Rocha-250.jpg

Saxophonist, flautist

Bio-Wellington-Barros-250.jpg

Pianist, singer, choir conductor, composer

Bio-Marcos-Della-Rocha-250.jpg

Drummer

 

Bio-Ylva-Berg-250.jpg

Singer

Bio-Jacques-Martinez-250.jpg

Saxophonist, flautist

       Around the Saravah spirit instilled by Pierre Barouh grafted what he himself described as "underground rivers", encounters that have grown stronger over time and have multiplied. A sort of "Saravah family" has thus developed over the course of meetings with Pierre in Brussels and after his departure for his crescent moon, friends who have since met regularly in Brussels via Bossa Flor. Meetings around Pierre's songs took place in 2018 and 2019, bringing together artists who also presented their respective projects, in rich evenings of musical exchange. In this sphere, Pierre's pianist, Pierre-François Blanchard in a duo with Marion Rampal (vocals), Eric Guilleton (vocals, guitar), Margaux Guilleton (vocals, piano), Claire Elzière (vocals) and Dominique Cravic (guitar), Didier Sustrac (songwriter, guitar, vocals) with his musician friends, Edmundo Carneiro (percussion), José Curier (bass), Roberto Di Ferdinando (guitar) and Odile Barlier (percussion), Claire Taïb (vocals, guitar), Emmanuel Donzella (vocals, guitar) and Julien Doumenjou (guitar). A mutual friend of Pierre's, Emmanuel de Ryckel, accompanies us and supports the production of the meetings. Most of them also participate in the project "Brassens dans tous ses états".

       In another register, the Pataphysique Orchestra was born from the wish of a group of friends (at the origin of the BosSalvador mentioned above) to revive the repertoire of Boris Vian and other greats of French song (Reggiani, Nougaro) in a marriage between jazz and French song. The sextet consists of Philippe Quevauviller (vocals), Bruno Desart (guitar), Jack Gillet (drums), Berny Hoste (trumpet, bugle), Anthony More (piano) and Chistophe 'Cacha' Vaassen (electric double bass). With the complicity and participation of Farida Zouj (vocals) and Jacques Martinez (saxophone), they also participate in the project 'Brassens dans tous ses états'.

Bio-Bruno-Desart-250.jpg

Guitarist

Jack-Gillet-250.jpg

Drummer

Berny-800.jpg

Trompettist

Bio-Anthony-More-250.jpg

Pianist

       Finally, a meeting of guitar virtuosos (seven strings) in 2019 brought together artists living in Brussels, Paris, Lille and London around multiple Brazilian influences such as choro, samba and bossa nova: Mario Bakuna (guitar), Luiz de Aquino (vocals, guitar), Vitor Garbelotto (guitar), Pierre Gillet (guitar), Benoît Minon (guitar) and Osman Martins (cavaquinho, percussions). This sharing continued in the accompaniment of mainly French songs that sublimated the melodies and texts, with the duo SevenZ of Pierre Gillet and Benoît Minon, and the trio Soltacorda of Vitor Garbelotto, Osman Martins and Roberto de Oliveira (mandolin, trombone). From this harmony of notes and words was born the project "Cordes enchantées" which covers Pierre Barouh's songs in Brazilian style. The Soltacorda trio also takes part in the "Brassens dans tous ses états" project.

BioMario-Bakuna-250.jpg

Guitarist, singer, composer, arranger

BioPierre-Gillet-250.jpg

Guitarist seven strings

Luiz-de-Aquino-250.jpg

Author, composer, musical production

 

Bio-Osman-Martins-250.jpg

Author, composer, producer, cavaquinist, guitarist, percussionist, singer

Roberto-de-Oliveira-250.png

Author, composer, arranger,
Multi-instrumentalist

Bio-Vitor-Garbelotto-250.jpg

Guitarist seven strings, arranger

​​​

Bio-Bio-Benoît-Minon-250.jpg

Guitarist seven strings

​​

       All the artists mentioned above are joined by other musicians for the ambitious project 'Brassens dans tous ses états' around the centenary of Georges Brassens. It includes adaptations of his songs in Brazilian mode and different types of jazz, from cool jazz to gypsy rhythms, country music, flamenco, rumba... Pierre Barouh had appreciated in 2016 the adaptations of the Sextet Bossa Flor of songs by the great Georges. The meeting with Joel Favreau in 2017 was the ferment of these musical encounters in different musical styles, which gave birth to the double-album project. Completing the anthology of artists from the ASBL collective (mentioned above) who participate in the project, Joel Favreau (vocals, guitar) who recorded with Thibault Dille (accordion), Diego Amaral Coutinho (cello) who recorded with the Sextet Bossa Flor, Gilles Boujo (guitar, vocals) with his gypsy jazz trio Swing à Jo, the duo of Matteo Carola (guitar) and Stéphanie Scultore (vocals) with the Brazilian influences of their Quartet Rosa, the brothers Pierre Lucas (vocals, guitar, banjo) and Philippe Lucas (vocals, guitar) as well as Dominique Piérard (guitar, vocals) in a country and Hispanic style, with the vocal touch of Farida Zouj who accompanies them, as well as the aforementioned Pataphysique Orchestra.

Bio-Thibault-Dille-250.jpg

Accordéonist, pianist, singer, composer, arranger, producer

Bio-photo-Stéphanie-250.jpg

Author, composer, singer, actress, teacher

Bio-Diego-Amaral-Coutinho-250.jpg

Cellist

​​​

Bio-Philippe-Lucas-250.jpg

Guitarist, singer

Bio-Farida-Zouj-250.jpg

Author, composer, singer

BioGilles-Boujo-250.jpg

Guitarist, singer

Bio-Pierre-Lucas-250.jpg

Guitarist, singer

Matteo-250.png

Author, composer, singer, guitarist

 

Bio-Dominique-Pièrard-250.jpg

Guitarist

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2021 by Bossa Flor

Bossa Flor, à l’origine, est le nom donné par Philippe Quevauviller en 2009 à un projet de livre sur la bossa nova qu’il avait intitulé « Fleur de bossa ». Son premier projet musical intitulé BosSalvador (initié en 2007) trouve une nouvelle dimension en 2012 avec la rencontre de Pierre Barouh. Une complicité et amitié naissent autour de cet « art des rencontres » qui est la marque de son parcours. Pierre devient la figure tutélaire de ce qui va devenir l’ASBL Bossa Flor en 2016, peu avant son départ vers un autre ailleurs. Au fil des années s’est constitué un collectif d’artistes autour de divers projets qui génèrent des échanges musicaux dans le cadre de concerts et d’enregistrements d’albums produits par l’ASBL. Cette page présente les biographies de ce collectif.

Photo-Phil-800.jpg

Production musicale, édition, chanteur

Bio-Pierre-Barouh-250.jpg

Promeneur, auteur, compositeur, chanteur, cinéaste, écrivain

       Philippe Quevauviller (chant) crée le Sextet Bossa Flor en 2012 avec la rencontre de Fernando de Almeida Barros (guitare, chant, direction musicale) et de Wellington Barros (piano, chant), auxquels s’associent Jacques Martinez (saxophone, flûte), Marat Araujo (basse) et Toni Reina (batterie). Jacques et Toni étant appelés à d’autres projets personnels, le groupe accueille Claudio Rocha (saxophone, flûte) en 2016 et Marcos Della Rocha (batterie) en 2018. Le répertoire tourne autour des classiques de la bossa nova, principalement des titres d’Antonio Carlos Jobim, en versions portugaises et adaptations en français, et des chansons du répertoire français adaptées en rythmes brésiliens (bossa et samba). Pierre Barouh participe à leur premier album « Rencontres en bossa », le sextet produit un second album « Feminino » avec les voix féminines d’Ana Rocha et Amalia Baraona, puis un troisième opus « De Sète à Rio » en 2020 autour de chansons de Brassens, avec la participation de Stéphanie Scultore (chant). L’actualité du Sextet est sa participation au double-album « Brassens dans tous ses états » (sortie prévue en septembre 2021). Le Sextet poursuit également sa programmation autour d’une « petite histoire de la bossa nova » avec la participation de la chanteuse Ylva Berg, à laquelle l’écrivain Jean-Paul Delfino a également participé. ​​

Bio-Marat-Araujo-250.jpg

Bassist, percussionist, author, composer

Bio-Fernando-de-Almeida-Barros-250.jpg

Directeur musical, compositeur, chanteur, guitariste

 

Bio-Toni-Reina-250.jpg

Batterie

Amália-Baraona-800.jpg

Chanteuse 

 

Bio-Jean-Paul-Delfino-250.jpg

Écrivain, musicologue entre France et Brésil

Bio-Claudio-Rocha-250.jpg

Saxophoniste, flûtiste

Bio-Wellington-Barros-250.jpg

Pianiste, chanteur, chef de chœur, compositeur

Bio-Marcos-Della-Rocha-250.jpg

Batterie

Bio-Ylva-Berg-250.jpg

Chanteuse

Bio-Jacques-Martinez-250.jpg

Saxophoniste, flûtiste

       Autour de l’esprit Saravah insufflé par Pierre Barouh se greffent ce qu’il qualifiait lui-même de « rivières souterraines », des rencontres qui se sont renforcées au fil du temps et se sont multipliées. Une sorte de « famille Saravah » s’est ainsi développée au fil des rencontres avec Pierre à Bruxelles et après son départ vers son croissant lune, des amis qui se retrouvent depuis à intervalles réguliers à Bruxelles via Bossa Flor. Des rencontres autour des chansons de Pierre se sont produites en 2018 et 2019, réunissant des artistes qui nous ont également présenté leurs projets respectifs, en de riches soirées d’échanges musicaux. Dans cette sphère se sont retrouvés le pianiste de Pierre, Pierre-François Blanchard en duo avec Marion Rampal (chant), Eric Guilleton (chant, guitare), Margaux Guilleton (chant, piano), Claire Elzière (chant) et Dominique Cravic (guitare), Didier Sustrac (auteur-compositeur, guitare, chant) avec ses amis musiciens, Edmundo Carneiro (percussions), José Curier (basse), Roberto Di Ferdinando (guitare) et Odile Barlier (percussions), Claire Taïb (chant, guitare), Emmanuel Donzella (chant, guitare) et Julien Doumenjou (guitare). Un ami commun de Pierre, Emmanuel de Ryckel, nous accompagne et soutient la production des rencontres. La plupart d’entre eux participent également au projet « Brassens dans tous ses états ».

Percussionniste, chanteuse, créatrice d’espaces sonores

       Dans un autre registre, le Pataphysique Orchestra est né de l’envie d’un groupe d’amis (à l’origine du BosSalvador cité plus haut) de faire renaître le répertoire de Boris Vian et d’autres grands de la chanson française (Reggiani, Nougaro) en un mariage entre jazz et chanson française. Le sextet se compose de Philippe Quevauviller (chant), Bruno Desart (guitare), Jack Gillet (batterie), Berny Hoste (trompette, buggle), Anthony More (piano) et Chistophe ‘Cacha’ Vaassen (contrebasse électrique). Avec la complicité et participation de Farida Zouj (chant) et Jacques Martinez (saxophone), ils participent également au projet « Brassens dans tous ses états ».

Bio-Bruno-Desart-250.jpg

Guitariste

 

Jack-Gillet-250.jpg

Batteur

Berny-800.jpg

Trompettiste

 

Bio-Anthony-More-250.jpg

Pianiste

       Enfin, une réunion de virtuoses de la guitare (sept cordes) en 2019 a rassemblé des artistes résidant à Bruxelles, Paris, Lille et Londres autour de multiples influences brésiliennes comme le choro, la samba et la bossa nova : Mario Bakuna (guitare), Luiz de Aquino (chant, guitare), Vitor Garbelotto (guitare), Pierre Gillet (guitare), Benoît Minon (guitare) et Osman Martins (cavaquinho, percussions). Ces partages se sont prolongés dans des accompagnements de chansons principalement françaises qui ont sublimé les mélodies et les textes, avec le duo SevenZ de Pierre Gillet et Benoît Minon, et le trio Soltacorda de Vitor Garbelotto, Osman Martins et Roberto de Oliveira (mandoline, trombone). De cette harmonie de notes et de mots est né le projet « Cordes enchantées » qui reprend des chansons de Pierre Barouh en mode brésilien. Le trio Soltacorda participe également au projet « Brassens dans tous ses états ».

BioMario-Bakuna-250.jpg

Guitariste, chanteur, compositeur, arrangeur

BioPierre-Gillet-250.jpg

Guitariste sept cordes

Luiz-de-Aquino-250.jpg

Guitariste, auteur, compositeur, production musicale

 

Bio-Osman-Martins-250.jpg

Auteur, compositeur, producteur, cavaquiniste, guitariste, percussionniste, chanteur

Roberto-de-Oliveira-250.png

Auteur, compositeur, arrangeur, Multi-instrumentiste

Bio-Vitor-Garbelotto-250.jpg

Guitariste sept cordes, arrangeur

Bio-Bio-Benoît-Minon-250.jpg

Guitariste sept cordes

 

       A tous les artistes déjà cités se joignent d’autres musiciens pour le projet ambitieux « Brassens dans tous ses états » autour du centenaire de Georges Brassens. On y retrouve des adaptations de ses chansons en mode brésilien et différents types de jazz, du cool jazz aux rythmes manouches, la musique country, le flamenco, la rumba… Pierre Barouh avait apprécié en 2016 les adaptations du Sextet Bossa Flor de chansons du grand Georges. La rencontre de Joel Favreau en 2017 a été le ferment de ces rencontres musicales en différents styles musicaux, qui ont donné naissance au projet de double-album. Complétant le florilège des artistes du collectif de l’ASBL (cités plus haut) qui participent au projet, s’associent Joel Favreau (chant, guitare) qui a enregistré avec Thibault Dille (accordéon), Diego Amaral Coutinho (violoncelle) qui a enregistré avec le Sextet Bossa Flor, Gilles Boujo (guitare, chant) avec son trio de jazz manouche Swing à Jo, le duo de Matteo Carola (guitare) et Stéphanie Scultore (chant) avec les influences brésiliennes de leur Quartet Rosa, les frères Pierre Lucas (chant, guitare, banjo) et Philippe Lucas (chant, guitare) aihsi que Dominique Piérard (guitare, chant) en mode country et hispanisant, avec la touche vocale de Farida Zouj qui les accompagnent ainsi que le Pataphysique Orchestra cité plus haut.

Bio-Thibault-Dille-250.jpg

Accordéoniste, pianiste, chanteur, compositeur, arrangeur, producteur

Bio-photo-Stéphanie-250.jpg

Autrice, compositrice, chanteuse, comédienne, enseignante

Bio-Diego-Amaral-Coutinho-250.jpg

Violoncelliste

Bio-Philippe-Lucas-250.jpg

Guitariste, chanteur

Bio-Farida-Zouj-250.jpg

Auteure, compositrice,

chanteuse

BioGilles-Boujo-250.jpg

Guitariste, chanteur

Bio-Pierre-Lucas-250.jpg

Guitariste, chanteur

Matteo-250.png

Guitariste, chanteur, auteur, compositeur

Bio-Dominique-Pièrard-250.jpg

Guitariste

 

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2021 by Bossa Flor