Roberto Di Ferdinando

Guitarist, arranger, composer

Biography

Bio-Roberto-Di-Ferdinando-800.jpg

Photo credit: ©Luca Di Ferdinando

Born in 1962, Roberto Di Ferdinando became interested in music at the age of 6. He followed a theoretical training at the conservatory of La Louvière until 1983, where he learnt violin and guitar, and also took private accordion lessons. Between 1990 and 1994, Roberto took private guitar lessons with Fabien Degryse, and jazz courses at the Lundis d'Hortense.


Roberto began playing solo in 1978. In 1979, he played as an opening act for Daniel Balavoine in Trazgnie, and from 1980 to 1994 he performed with various regional groups. He then composed theatre music for "Théâtre Action" (1994). Roberto participated in many variety concerts between 1995 and 2011, for example with the groups Iguaçu, Owen Curtiz, Frankie Rose and his brother Perry Rose, Les pâtes d'Eph, William Dunker (touring Belgium, Canada, Switzerland), Jeff Smallwood, Albert Delchambre... and Open country concerts (2005-2009) with musicians such as Dan Rieser (Norah Jones' drummer), Nicolas Thys (Toots Thielemans), and appearances on radio "Le monde est un village" and television, William Dunker (2007-2011), Edmundo Carneiro (2007). In 2010-2011, he performed with the Roberto Di Ferdinandino Trio with Antoine Cirri, Nicolas Thys (modern jazz). After a tour in Belgium with Jeff Smallwood they record the album "Live in Belgium" by Jeff Smallwood (2000), two Open Country albums (2005, 2006) with Nicolas Thys and Frankie Rose.


Between 2012 and 2016, Roberto collaborated in the studio "Pro Sound Studio Mons", and various arrangement projects. He is a demonstrator of Breedlove and Mayones guitars, and collaborates with Omega Music. 


In 2016-2018, he was accompanying musician in Télévie RTL TVI concerts, session guitarist at the Pro Sound Studio, of Jacques Nuovo, Miles Bloo, in Jazz concerts with Patrick Deltenre and Hervé Noirod, as well as concerts with William Dunker for whom he was musical director and recording the album Live at the Sablon 2012-2016, followed by radio tours on RTL, RTBF, Vivacité, Sud Radio, Nostalgie, Centre FM... During these years, he accompanied various musicians in jazz concerts, including Diego Voglino, Dan Rieser, Nicola Thys, Patrick Deltenre, Fabien Degryse, Hervé Noirod, Antoine Cirri, Frankie Rose, Frank Deruyter, Didier Deruyter, and many others.


He met Didier Sustrac in 2017 as part of the Bossa Flor program and has played regularly with him since then in various venues in Brussels and the Mons region. He reinforced his collaboration with Didier in 2019 with a bossa nova album project. In 2020, Roberto conducted studio recordings of Didier Sustrac and Paula Morelenbaum for a promotional clip, and accompanied them in a concert (with Osman Martins) in March 2020 co-produced by BossaMag (Emmanuel De Ryckel) and the non-profit organization Bossa Flor.

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor

Roberto Di Ferdinando

Guitariste, arrangeur, compositeur, animateur

Biographie

Bio-Roberto-Di-Ferdinando-800.jpg

Crédit photo : ©Luca Di Ferdinando

Né en 1962, Roberto Di Ferdinando s’intéresse dès l’âge de 6 ans à la musique. Il suit une formation théorique au conservatoire de La Louvière jusqu’en 1983, où il apprend le violon et la guitare, et il suit également des cours privés d’accordéon. Entre 1990 et 1994, Roberto suit des cours privés de guitare avec Fabien Degryse, et des stages de jazz des Lundis d’Hortense.


Roberto débute la scène en 1978 en solo. En 1979, il joue en première partie de Daniel Balavoine à Trazgnie, et de 1980 à 1994 se produit avec différents groupes régionaux. Il compose ensuite de la musique de théâtre pour « Théâtre Action » (1994). Roberto participe à de nombreux concerts de variétés entre 1995 et 2011, par exemple avec les groupes Iguaçu, Owen Curtiz, Frankie Rose et son frère Perry Rose, Les pâtes d’Eph, William Dunker (tournée Belgique, Canada, Suisse), Jeff Smallwood, Albert Delchambre… et des concerts d’Open country (2005-2009) avec des musiciens comme Dan Rieser (batteur de Norah Jones), Nicolas Thys (Toots Thielemans), et des passages à la radio « Le monde est un village » et télévision, William Dunker (2007-2011), Edmundo Carneiro (2007). En 2010-2011, il se produit avec le Roberto Di Ferdinandino Trio avec Antoine Cirri, Nicolas Thys (modern jazz). Après une tournée en Belgique avec Jeff Smallwood ils enregistrent l’album « Live in Belgium » de Jeff Smallwood (2000), deux albums d’Open Country (2005, 2006) avec Nicolas Thys et Frankie Rose.


Entre 2012 et 2016, Roberto collabore au studio « Pro Sound Studio Mons », et divers projets arrangements. Il est démonstrateur des guitares Breedlove et Mayones, et collabore avec Omega Music. 


En 2016-2018, Il est musicien accompagnateur dans des concerts Télévie RTL TVI, Guitariste de session au Pro Sound Studio, de Jacques Nuovo, de Miles Bloo, dans des concerts de Jazz avec Patrick Deltenre et Hervé Noirod, ainsi que des concerts avec William Dunker dont il assure la direction musicale et l’enregistrement de l’album Live au Sablon 2012-2016, suivi de tournée radio TV RTL, RTBF, Vivacité, Sud Radio, Nostalgie, Centre FM… Durant ces années, il accompagne divers musiciens dans des concerts de jazz, dont Diego Voglino, Dan Rieser, Nicola Thys, Patrick Deltenre, , Fabien Degryse, Hervé Noirod, Antoine Cirri, Frankie Rose, Frank Deruyter, Didier Deruyter, et beaucoup d’autres.


Il rencontre Didier Sustrac en 2017 dans le cadre de la programmation Bossa Flor et joue régulièrement avec lui depuis lors dans diverses salles bruxelloises ou de la région de Mons. Il renforce sa collaboration avec Didier en 2019 avec un projet d’album de bossa nova. En 2020, Roberto dirige des enregistrements studio de Didier Sustrac et Paula Morelenbaum pour un clip promotionnel, et les accompagne en concert (avec Osman Martins) en mars 2020 co-produit par BossaMag (Emmanuel De Ryckel) et l’ASBL Bossa Flor.

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor