Pierre Gillet

Guitarist seven strings

Biography

www.pgillet.com

Bio-Pierre-Gillet-800.jpg

Photo credit: ©Adrien Quevauviller

Pierre Gillet was born in 1987. After many musical experiences in Belgium, Portugal and Brazil, he decided to attend the Antwerp Jazz Studio, the Royal Conservatory of Brussels and the summer programs of the Berklee School of Music. As a guitarist, he mainly plays Latin jazz, swing, choro and acoustic music. After spending some time in Rio, he discovered the 7-string acoustic guitar and since then he uses it as its main instrument. Thanks to various collaborations with many artists, Pierre has played in Belgium (Bozar, Music Village, Théâtre Molière, Bouche à Oreillle...), France (Studio l'Ermitage and Cabaret Sauvage), Spain (Casa da América, Madrid), Portugal (Onda Jazz, CC Carnide), Poland (Globaltica Festival), Germany (Artliners, Café Tasso in Berlin) and Brazil.


Among his projects, in 2008 he crossed paths with Osman Martins, with whom he combined his talent as a seven-string guitarist with that of the internationally renowned cavaquinist. Their album "Parceria" was released the same year. Another of his projects is the result of encounters dating back to his teenage years, friendships with Ana Rocha (vocals), Thibault Dille (accordion, piano) and Miguel Rosal Martins (double bass), who will be guided by the singer Cristina Rosal, with tours in Brazil and Belgium around Portuguese and Brazilian ballads. The result iwas a first album, Espelhos, in 2011, followed by a second CD produced by Swami Jr, Encontros d'Agua, in 2015. 


Pierre played in a trio in the band Metzi with Sergio Carjaval (guitar) and Danilo Flores (percussion) in 2013-2015. He participated in the recording of the Vincent Penasse Jazz Quartet's album "Rosa dos Ventos" (2018). He also plays in David Miller's orchestra " Fiddle in the Roof ".


Two recent projects have been developed from 2019 onwards. One is the SevenZ duo of seven-string guitars with Benoît Minon, accompanied on percussion by Marcos Della Rocha (www.sevenz.be), whose acoustic formation revisits the Brazilian choro in its own way. The second project is Ana and the Duorkestra, composed of Ana Rocha (vocals), Thibault Dille (accordion) and himself on seven-string guitar.


Pierre crossed the road of Bossa Flor in 2011 and participated in the "Bossafolies du BAO" with Osman Martins and the sextet BosSalvador. He joined the program led by Philippe Quevauviller at several other occasions, first with the Metzi trio in 2013 and 2014, Espelhos in 2014 and 2015, and more recently at a guitar gathering in February 2020. From this meeting was born the project "Cordes enchantées" of Bossa Flor in which he participates with his accomplice Benoît Minon.

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor

Pierre Gillet

Guitariste sept cordes

Biographie

www.pgillet.com

Bio-Pierre-Gillet-800.jpg

Crédit photo : ©Adrien Quevauviller

Pierre Gillet est né en 1987. Après de nombreuses expériences musicales en Belgique, au Portugal et au Brésil, il décide de fréquenter le Jazz Studio d'Anvers, le Conservatoire royal de Bruxelles et les programmes d'été de la Berklee School of Music. Guitariste, il joue principalement du jazz latin, du swing, du choro et de la musique acoustique. Après avoir passé un certain temps à Rio, il découvre la guitare acoustique à 7 cordes et l'utilise dès lors comme son instrument principal. Grâce à différentes collaborations avec de nombreux artistes, Pierre a joué en Belgique (Bozar, Music Village, Théâtre Molière, Bouche à Oreillle...), en France (Studio l'Ermitage et Cabaret Sauvage), en Espagne (Casa da América, Madrid), au Portugal (Onda Jazz, CC Carnide), en Pologne (Globaltica Festival), en Allemagne (Artliners, Café Tasso à Berlin) et au Brésil.


Parmi ses projets, il croise en 2008 le chemin de Osman Martins avec qui il associe son talent de guitariste sept cordes à celui du cavaquiniste internationalement reconnu. De là sort leur album « Parceria » la même année. Un autre de ses projets est le résultat de rencontres datant de son adolescence, des amitiés avec Ana Rocha (chant), Thibault Dille (accordéon, piano) et Miguel Rosal Martins (contrebasse), qui seront guidées par la chanteuse Cristina Rosal, avec des tournées au Brésil et en Belgique autour de ballades portugaises et brésiliennes. Il en résulte un premier album, Espelhos, en 2011, puis un second CD produit par Swami Jr, Encontros d’Agua, en 2015. 


Pierre a joué en trio dans le groupe Metzi avec Sergio Carjaval (guitare) et Danilo Flores (percussions) en 2013-2015. Il participe à l’enregistrement de l’album du Vincent Penasse Jazz Quartet « Rosa dos Ventos » (2018). Il joue également dans l’orchestre de David Miller « Fiddle in the Roof ».


Deux projets récents se sont développés à partir de 2019. L’un est le duo SevenZ de guitares sept cordes avec Benoît Minon, accompagné de percussions par Marcos Della Rocha (www.sevenz.be), dont la formation acoustique revisite à sa manière le choro brésilien. Le second projet est celui d’Ana et le Duorkestra, composé d’Ana Rocha (chant), Thibault Dille (accordéon) et lui-même à la guitare sept cordes.


Pierre a croisé la route du Bossa Flor en 2011 et participé aux « Bossafolies du BAO » avec Osman Martins et le sextet BosSalvador. Il rejoint la programmation animée par Philippe Quevauviller à plusieurs occasions, avec le trio Metzi tout d’abord en 2013 et 2014, Espelhos en 2014 et 2015, et plus récemment lors d’une rencontre en guitares en février 2020. De cette rencontre est d’ailleurs né le projet « Cordes enchantées » de Bossa Flor auquel il participe avec son complice Benoît Minon.

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor