Luiz de Aquino

Author, composer, musical production

Biography

www.luizdeaquino.com

Luiz-de-Aquino-800.jpg

Photo credit: ©Studio Paraíso-Paris

Luiz de Aquino, born in Santos in 1959, studied music from the age of 7 in a family of artists. His mother and aunt, the "Miranda Sisters", had an artistic career in Brazilian radio shows in the 1950s. Her father, Luiz de Aquino, a painter, intellectual, musician and carioca merchant, moved to Santos in the early 1960s and created the "Xavantes" club, one of the first Brazilian nightclubs where bossa nova was played. 


After obtaining his first guitar diploma at the age of 14, he undertook further studies in classical guitar, harmony and instrumentation with the most renowned masters in Brazil and Latin America such as Turibio Santos, Abel Carlevaro, Henrique Pinto, Hans Joachim Kolreutter, Nelson Ayres and Roberto Sion, among others. At the age of 19, he was admitted to the State University of São Paulo (UNESP) in Composition and Conducting where he studied with John Neschling, Regis Duprat, Sauel Kerr, and the Frenchmen Roger Cotte and Michel Phillipot, among others. 


Luiz arrived in France in 1983 and was received at the CNSM in Paris in Alexandre Lagoya's class. In Paris he began a career as a solo guitarist and accompanist in classical and Brazilian music. He also studied Jazz with Pierre Cullaz and Bernard Maury and started his activity as a composer of music for the image with Sophie Tatisheff, the daughter of the famous Jacques Tati. He trained in sound professions and set up his first studio at the end of the 90s. Luiz went on to work for some of France's leading music publishers and developed a catalogue of original compositions for synchronisation. His music illustrated several films, documentaries, commercials and games in several countries around the world. In addition to composing and producing music, Luiz also works as a teacher. He was one of the founders of the ATLA school (Antoine Tatich Luiz de Aquino) and taught functional harmony and arrangements at the Guitar Workshop of the University of Jussieu.


In 2009, he founded his own publishing company "Nova Nota" (www.novanota.fr) and became a copyright specialist in the France/Brazil axis. With his partner Thomas Jamois (www.creaminal.com) he then founded two publishing companies specialized in the representation of prestigious Brazilian editorial catalogues in Europe. His current priorities focus on several different axes: creation, composition and production, artistic direction and publishing of musical projects, documentation and accompaniment of musical works up to copyright at the international level, and finally the transmission of knowledge based on a 360° vision of artistic-musical activities. For the 2020/2021 season he is working on 2 major projects: 1) A new publishing company "CraftTunes" whose vocation is the production of music for the audiovisual market but also available on streaming platforms, and 2) The creation of iMusicSchool Brazil in partnership with the French website www.imusicshool.com.  


His links with the dynamic Bossa Flor are both old and recent... old because Luiz shares with several other artists of this "family" a longstanding friendship with Pierre Barouh (who died in 2016), recent through his participation in a concert of the Bossa Flor2019-2020 season in February 2020 which generated prospects for future collaborations around the links between the Brazilian guitar and French chanson, and among others the project "Cordes enchantées".

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor

Luiz de Aquino

Guitariste, auteur, compositeur, production musicale

Biographie

www.luizdeaquino.com

Luiz-de-Aquino-800.jpg

Crédit photo : ©Studio Paraíso-Paris

Luiz de Aquino, né à Santos en 1959, étudie la musique dès l’âge de 7 ans, au sein d’une famille d’artistes. Sa mère et sa tante, les « Sœurs Miranda » ont une carrière artistique dans des émissions de radio brésilienne dans les années 1950. Son père, Luiz de Aquino, peintre, intellectuel, musicien et commerçant carioca, s’est installé à Santos au début des années 60, et a créé le club « Xavantes », une des premières boîtes de nuits brésiliennes où se jouait de la bossa nova. 


Après l’obtention de son premier diplôme de guitare à l’age de 14 ans, il entreprend des études plus poussées de guitare classique, harmonie et instrumentation avec les maitres les plus réputés au Brésil et en Amérique Latine tels que Turibio Santos, Abel Carlevaro, Henrique Pinto, Hans Joachim Kolreutter, Nelson Ayres et Roberto Sion, entre autres. À l’âge de 19 ans, il est admis à l’Université d’État de São Paulo (UNESP) en Composition et Direction d’Orchestre où il étudie entre autres avec John Neschling, Regis Duprat, Sauel Kerr, et les français Roger Cotte et Michel Phillipot. 


Luiz arrive en France en 1983 et est reçu au CNSM de Paris dans la classe d’Alexandre Lagoya. À Paris il entame une carrière de guitariste soliste et accompagnateur dans le milieu classique et la musique brésilienne. Il étudie également le Jazz avec Pierre Cullaz et Bernard Maury et démarre son activité de compositeur de musique pour l’image auprès de Sophie Tatisheff, la fille du célèbre Jacques Tati. Il se forme aux métiers du son et monte son premier studio à la fin des années 90. Luiz travaille ensuite pour quelques uns des plus grands éditeurs musicaux français et développe un catalogue de compositions originales destiné à la synchronisation. Ses musiques illustrent plusieurs films, documentaires, publicités et jeux dans plusieurs pays du monde. Parallèlement à la composition et la production musicale, Luiz exerce l’activité de professeur. Il a été l’un des fondateurs de l’école ATLA (Antoine Tatich Luiz de Aquino) et a enseigné l’harmonie fonctionnelle et les arrangements à l’Atelier de Guitare de l’Université de Jussieu.


En 2009, il fonde sa propre société d’édition « Nova Nota » (www.novanota.fr) et devient spécialiste du droit d’auteur dans l’axe France/Brésil. Avec son partenaire Thomas Jamois (www.creaminal.com) il fonde par la suite deux sociétés d’édition spécialisées dans la répresentation de prestigieux catalogues editoriaux brésiliens en Europe. Ses priorités actuelles s’orientent vers plusieurs axes différents : la création, la composition et la production, la direction artistique et l’édition de projets musicaux, la documentation et l’accompagnement d’œuvres musicales jusqu’aux droits d’auteur au niveau international, et enfin la transmission de connaissances basée sur une vision à 360° des activités artistico-musicales. Pour la saison 2020/2021 il travaille sur 2 grands chantiers : 1) Une nouvelle société d’édition « CraftTunes » dont la vocation est la production des musiques destinées au marché de l’audiovisuel mais également disponibles sur les plateformes de streaming, et 2) La création de iMusicSchool Brésil en partenariat avec le site français www.imusicshool.com 


Ses liens avec la dynamique Bossa Flor sont à la fois anciens et récents… anciens car Luiz partage avec plusieurs autres artistes de cette « famille » une amitié de longue date avec Pierre Barouh (disparu en 2016), récents par sa participation à un concert de la saison Bossa Flor2019-2020 en février 2020 qui a généré des perspectives de futures collaborations autour des liens entre la guitare brésilienne et la chanson française, et entre autres le projet « Cordes enchantées ».

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor