José Curier

Bassist

Biography

Bio-Jose-Curier-800.jpg

Photo credit: ©Alain Dereymaeker

José Curier was born in Basse-Terre in Guadeloupe in 1961. He grew up on the island, surrounded by a brotherhood of musicians. At the age of 13, he profited from his big brother's absence, to play on his guitar. One day, the latter returned a little earlier, and discovered his little brother's innate talent. He offered him his first bass for his 18th birthday. The results were not long to come. As soon as he arrived in Paris, in 1981, he made his first big stage appearance at the Palais des Glaces to play gwo ka with guitarist Guy Konket and Roger Raspail on percussion. This concert was followed by a French tour. He immediately hit the road again in 82 to accompany the talented guitarist Patrick Gros: the heart of the West Indies beats between the two artists. 


In 1984 José flew to Belgium to follow the pianist Patrick Nuissier, in the best salsa club "Le Machado" where all the New York Salseros liked to go when they arrived in Brussels. There, he made there his weapons, affined in the style and was noticed by the initiates. This is also the period when José frequented TV sets for the recording of live shows and studio albums where he will also played for Barry White, George Plonquitte, Jean Louis Taulne, Jocelyn Curier Otto, Deloumaux, Flavio Dell' isola, Pascal Charpentier, etc...  


In 1989, José set off again on the road and in aeroplanes for three hectic years in the infernal rhythm of the world tour of the mythical group Dynamita Salsa. It is with all this team that he concretized his status as a reference bass player in salsa and Caribbean music. He also tours Europe as part of the Festival Do Brasil and Brasil Tropical.


Back in Belgium in 1992, he went on an adventure on different musical paths, to try his hand at fusion music with Frankie Rose, Christophe Vervoort, Jean Pierre Catoul. Dynamita Salsa called him back for a series of great concerts, including a memorable one with Toots Thielemans ... José also played with Belgian musicians such as Charles Loos, Osman Martins, Vincent Penasse's band Montouno etc.


In 1997 he returned to Paris, in Brazilian music clubs. While playing with the percussionist Dada Viana da Costa, he met Didier Sustrac. The current passed and very quickly they both went back to work together to record the album Ostende Bossa.  


Today, José Curier is an accomplished musician who has managed, to the nonchalant rhythm of his insularity, to conquer throughout the world and the encounters of a lifetime, a palette of Latino games that is said to be a reference. From his native Guadeloupe, to the Caribbean, via Brazil, José brings a deep knowledge of folklore and a singular playing style. If today, the "sound" of his bass accompanies Didier Sustrac, José does not forget the music of his country, the gwo ka, on which he took his first steps as a man and a musician. So, as soon as the opportunity arises, he goes to share it with the Guadeloupean percussionist Roger Raspail, as if he was going to take a breath of fresh air on a beach in Basse Terre. 


His crossroads with Bossa Flor is an underground river generated by Pierre Barouh since it is the meeting between Philippe Quevauviller and Didier Sustrac that made him join the Bossa Flor program in 2017 for a concert linked to the launch of the album "Ostende Bossa" with Didier and Edmundo Carneiro. He came back in 2018 for two other concerts with Didier Sustrac, and a participation in the show "Une petite histoire de la bossa nova". He took part in the recording of two tracks from the Bossa Flor EP "Feminino", as well as the album in preparation for the project "Brassens dans tous ses états".

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor

José Curier

​​Bassiste

Biographie

Bio-Jose-Curier-800.jpg

Crédit photo : ©Alain Dereymaeker

José Curier est né à Basse-Terre en Guadeloupe en 1961. Il grandit sur l’île, entouré d’une fratrie de musiciens. A l’âge de 13 ans, il profite de l’absence de son grand frère, pour jouer sur sa guitare… Un jour, celui-ci rentre un peu plus tôt, et découvre le talent inné de son petit frère. Il lui offrira sa première basse pour ses 18 ans. Les résultats ne se font pas attendre. Dès son arrivée à Paris, en 1981, il fait sa première grande scène au Palais des Glaces pour jouer le gwo ka avec le guitariste Guy Konket et Roger Raspail aux percussions. Après ce concert, suivra une tournée française. Il reprendra aussitôt la route en 82 pour accompagner le talentueux guitariste Patrick Gros : le cœur des Antilles bat entre les deux artistes. 


En 1984 José s’envole pour la Belgique suivre le pianiste Patrick Nuissier, dans le meilleur club de salsa « Le Machado » où tous les Salseros de New York aiment passer quand ils débarquent à Bruxelles. Là, il y fait ses armes, s’affine dans le style et se fait remarquer par le milieu des initiés. C’est la période aussi où José fréquente les plateaux de TV pour l’enregistrement des lives et des albums studios où il jouera aussi pour Barry White, George Plonquitte, Jean Louis Taulne, Jocelyn Curier Otto, Deloumaux, Flavio  Dell’ isola, Pascal Charpentier, etc…  


En 1989, José repart sur la route et dans les avions pour trois trépidantes années dans le rythme infernal de la tournée mondiale du groupe mythique Dynamita Salsa. C’est avec toute cette équipe qu’il concrétisera son statut de bassiste référent en matière de salsa et de musique Caraïbéenne. Il fait également des tournées européennes dans le cadre du Festival Do Brasil et Brasil Tropical. 


De retour en Belgique en 1992, il part à l’aventure sur des chemins musicaux différents, pour s’essayer à la musique fusion avec Frankie Rose, Christophe Vervoort, Jean Pierre Catoul. Dynamita Salsa le rappelle pour des séries de grands concerts dont un mémorable avec  Toots Thielemans … José joue également avec des musiciens belges dont Charles Loos, Osman Martins, le groupe Montouno de Vincent Penasse etc.


En 1997 il revient à Paris, dans les clubs de musiques Brésiliennes. Alors qu’il joue avec le percussionniste Dada Viana da Costa, il rencontre Didier Sustrac. Le courant passe et très vite ils rentrent tous les deux en collaboration pour enregistrer l’album Ostende Bossa.  


Aujourd’hui, José Curier est un musicien accompli qui a réussi au rythme nonchalant de son insularité, à conquérir à travers le monde et les rencontres d’une vie, une palette de jeux latino dont on dit qu’il est une référence. De sa Guadeloupe natale, à la caraïbe, en passant par le Brésil, José apporte une connaissance profonde des folklores et un jeu singulier. Si aujourd’hui, le « son » de sa basse accompagne Didier Sustrac, José n’oublie pas la musique de son pays, le gwo ka, sur laquelle il a fait ses premiers pas d’homme et de musicien. Alors, dès que l’occasion se présente, il s’en va la partager avec le percussionniste Guadeloupéen Roger Raspail, comme s’il allait prendre l’air sur une plage de Basse Terre. 


Sa croisée de chemins avec Bossa Flor est une rivière souterraine générée par Pierre Barouh puisque c’est la rencontre entre Philippe Quevauviller et Didier Sustrac qui fait qu’il rejoint la programmation Bossa Flor en 2017 pour un concert lié au lancement de l’album « Ostende Bossa » avec Didier et Edmundo Carneiro. Il revient en 2018 pour deux autres concerts avec Didier Sustrac, et une participation au spectacle « Une petite histoire de la bossa nova ». Il a participé à l’enregistrement de deux morceaux de l’EP « Feminino » du Bossa Flor, ainsi qu’à l’album en préparation du projet « Brassens dans tous ses états ».

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor