Emmanuel de Ryckel

Bridger among French-Brazilian music

Biography

bio-Emmanuel-de-Ryckel-800.jpg

Photo credit: ©Philippe Quevauviller

Emmanuel de Ryckel was born in Congo in the mid-1950s into a large, traditional Belgian family. From a very young age, he was not very passionate about his studies, but one thing led to another, encouraged by his family background, and he ended up obtaining a degree in Economics and Finance at HEC Liège, and then gradually settled in what his family members call "a beautiful situation" within the Industrial Planning and Organisation in the Pharmaceutical industry. Over the past 20 years, he has taken on the more perilous status of "Free Lance", but one that fully corresponds to his desperate need for freedom and creativity, which he could just as well have expressed through a status of artist that he did not choose in the end. 


Indeed, since he was a child, Emmanuel had only one dream: music. 


Music, not to play it but to listen to it, to taste it, to share it with others. Without really having a choice, his younger brothers and sisters were regularly hired by him to listen to the radio programs and hit parades they concocted for them. As a child, he would dream for hours about the only Philips transistor owned by the family in Brussels at the time.


So he dreamed, he strolled to tunes by Gilbert Bécaud, Henri Salvador, Nino Ferrer, Christophe, Adamo and so many others. Their faces remained unknown to him for a long time, but their names were forever fixed in his memory, and for a long time they were displayed on the pediment of an Olympia which then existed only in his imagination. The 60's brought him French chanson, the 70's Soul Music and then naturally blues, the 80's jazz.


At the end of the 90s, a professional chance led him to Rio de Janeiro, a city in a country that until then hadn't represented the slightest interest for him. The love at first sight for this city, its nature, its people, its architecture was immediate, inevitably reminding him of the African roots of his birth. Long weekends in Rio gave him the opportunity to explore the city in detail, but above all to browse the many record shops still numerous at the time in Copacabana and Ipanema. His taste for jazz naturally made him discover and deepen his taste for Bossa Nova.


He also discovered on this occasion that the idols of his childhood in the 60s had left many traces in Brazil. Emmanuel then began to research on both sides of the Atlantic, on everything that linked Brazil and France through popular song. It was while working on a project of Tribute to Jean Sablon in Rio that he became friends one day in Paris with Pierre Barouh.
In 2000, Henri Salvador brought out his masterpiece "Chambre avec vue" with the standard "Jardin d'hiver". Discovering this song on a Sunday on television, his childhood with Henri Salvador and his "Minnie little mouse", and Brazil joined together in an instant. From this discovery, Emmanuel will never stop going back to the sources of the story linking Henri and Brazil. In 20 years, combining his research on music and his professional activities, he will make more than a hundred trips to Rio. In 2005, he finally met Henri Salvador, discovering that with a little boldness and perseverance, everything becomes possible, including reaching stars that seemed unattainable. A little later, he reached Henri on the phone in Paris, to suggest that he returns to the traces of his glory days in Brazil. 


Taking advantage of his visit to Rio in 2006 to record his latest album "Révérence", Emmanuel organized under the Spotlights of the TF1 cameras the return of his favorite artist to the Casino de Urca, where he overcame the first obstacles leading him to glory, within the Orchestra of Ray Ventura and his fellow students, in 1942. This last trip to Rio for Henri, was also the occasion for Emmanuel and his friend Carlos Albert Afonso de la Toca do Vinicius, to invite him to Ipanema, cradle of the Bossa Nova, in order to engrave his hands for the "sidewalk of celebrities" project of this mythical district. On this occasion, the carioca public massaged in the street will pay a final vibrant tribute to Henri, who will never return to Brazil.


In the course of his Franco-Brazilian research and projects, Emmanuel will also make friends with Dominique Cravic, Maurice Pon, Georges Henry and Micheline Day, former students of Ray Ventura, Paulo Costa, Emmanuel Donzella, Catherine Salvador, but also with Brazilian singers Leny Andrade, Paula Morelenbaum, Joyce Moreno, and Wanda Sà. He also frequented Toots Thielemans for a while, which he also led to engraving his hands at the "Celebrity Walkway" in Ipanema, just like his friend Pierre Barouh.


Thanks to his magazine "Bossamag.com" created in 1998, he met a whole range of artists who have marked the history of Bossa Nova: Johnny Alf, Billy Blanco, João Donato, Carlos Lyra, Roberto Menescal, Jaques Morelenbaum, Pery Ribeiro, Oscar Castro Neves, Marcos Valle, Stacey Kent. All these encounters made him discover the depth of the imprint left by Henri Salvador in the soul of all these Brazilian musicians.


This was confirmed in 2016, when on the eve of the centenary of Henri's birth, at the request of his wife Catherine Salvador, he launched a huge concert project in homage to the artist at the Municipal Theatre in Rio. All Bossa Nova artists without exception were part of the project, as well as Gilberto Gil and Caetano Veloso. Alas, this project was clearly shattered in its momentum by the economic crisis that shook Brazil, and then by the arrival of a new president, who was not very much interested in culture.


While waiting to reactivate this dream, Emmanuel has been working since then, in France and Brazil, on other projects still aiming to enhance the musical heritage left by Henri. Among these, the project "Caminhos cruzados, jazz on the road to Brazil and Henri Salvador", with Didier Sustrac and Paula Morelenbaum, with special guests Dominique Cravic and Emmanuel Donzella, and the project "Entre sombra e Luz" with Marcos Valle, Joyce Moreno and Jaques Morelenbaum.


In 2008, Emmanuel befriended Philippe Quevauviller, another passionate of Brazilian music and more particularly of bossa nova, a great organizer of musical events generously linking the lusophony and France. Together they have been at the base of some nice meetings between artists passionate about Brazil and the Brussels public. Emmanuel facilitated among others the contacts of Philippe and Pierre Barouh, and has been actively involved in the Bossa Flor program since its very beginning.


In 2018, having become for Catherine Salvador for all these years, the point of contact for everything concerning Henri and Brazil, Emmanuel was contacted by Cosmopolitis Productions, a company busy preparing a documentary entitled "Face B comme bossa, l'autre histoire d'Henri Salvador". Thanks to his local contacts, he organized the filming of the Brazilian part of the documentary, and directed for the Production the interviews of Gilberto Gil, Roberto Menescal, Marcos Valle, Joyce Moreno, Paula Morelenbaum.

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor

Emmanuel de Ryckel

Passeur en musique franco-brésilienne

Biographie

bio-Emmanuel-de-Ryckel-800.jpg

Crédit photo : ©Philippe Quevauviller

Emmanuel de Ryckel nait au Congo au milieu des années 50, au sein d’une famille nombreuse et traditionnelle belge. Depuis très jeune les études ne le passionnent guère, mais de fil en aiguille, encouragé par le milieu familial, il finit par décrocher un diplôme en Economie et Finances à HEC Liège, puis s’installe progressivement dans ce que ses proches appellent « une belle situation » au sein de l’Organisation et de la Planification Industrielle dans l’industrie Pharmaceutique. Depuis 20 ans, il a pris le statut certes plus périlleux de « Free Lance » mais qui correspond pleinement à son besoin éperdu de liberté et de créativité, qu’il aurait tout aussi bien pu exprimer au travers d’un statut d’artiste qu’il n’a finalement pas choisi. 


Depuis tout petit en effet, Emmanuel n’avait qu’un rêve : la musique. 


La musique, non pas pour la jouer mais pour l’écouter, la déguster, la faire partager aux autres. Sans vraiment qu’ils en eussent le choix, ses plus jeunes frères et sœurs étaient régulièrement embauchés par ses soins pour écouter les programmes de radio et les Hit-Parades qu’ils leur concoctait. Enfant, il rêvait des heures entières face à l’unique transistor Philips que possédait la famille alors installée à Bruxelles.


Ainsi il rêvait, il flânait sur des airs de Gilbert Bécaud, Henri Salvador, Nino Ferrer, Christophe, Adamo et tant d’autres. Leurs visages lui restèrent longtemps inconnus, mais leurs noms se fixaient pour toujours dans sa mémoire, et restèrent longtemps affichés au fronton d’un Olympia qui n’existait alors que dans son imagination. Les années 60 lui apportèrent la chanson française, les années 70 la Soul Music et puis tout naturellement le blues, les années 80 le jazz.


A la fin des années 90, un hasard professionnel le conduisit à Rio de Janeiro, une ville dans un pays qui jusqu’alors n’avait pas représenté le moindre intérêt pour lui. Le coup de foudre pour cette ville, sa nature, sa population, son architecture fut immédiat, lui rappelant immanquablement les racines africaines de sa naissance. Les longs week-ends de détente à Rio lui offrirent l’occasion d’explorer en détails la ville, mais surtout d’écumer les multiples boutiques de disques encore nombreuses à l’époque à Copacabana et Ipanema. Son goût pour le jazz lui fit naturellement découvrir et approfondir son goût pour la Bossa Nova.


Il découvrit aussi à cette occasion, que les idoles de son enfance dans les années 60, avaient laissé de nombreuses traces au Brésil. Emmanuel se mit alors à entamer des recherches des deux côtés de l’Atlantique, sur tout ce qui liât le Brésil et la France par le biais de la chanson populaire. C’est en travaillant sur un projet d’Hommage à Jean Sablon à Rio qu’il se lia d’amitié un jour à Paris, avec Pierre Barouh.


En 2000 c’est le déclic : Henri Salvador sort son chef-d’œuvre « Chambre avec vue » avec le standard « Jardin d’hiver ». En découvrant cette chanson un dimanche à la télévision, son enfance avec Henri Salvador et sa « Minnie petite souris », et le Brésil se rejoignirent en un instant. A partir de cette découverte, Emmanuel n’aura de cesse de remonter aux sources de l’histoire liant Henri et le Brésil. En 20 ans, alliant ses recherches sur la musique et ses activités professionnelles, il effectuera plus d’une centaine de voyages à Rio. En 2005, il finit par rencontrer Henri Salvador, découvrant ainsi qu’avec un peu d’audace et de persévérance, tout devient possible, y compris atteindre des étoiles qui semblaient inaccessibles. Il joint ainsi un peu plus tard Henri au téléphone à Paris,  afin de lui proposer de revenir sur les traces de ses heures de gloire au Brésil. 


Profitant de son passage à Rio en 2006 pour graver son dernier disque « Révérence »,  Emmanuel organise sous le Spotlights des caméras de TF1 le retour de son artiste préféré au Casino de Urca, là où il franchit les premiers obstacles le menant à la gloire, au sein de l’Orchestre de Ray Ventura et ses collégiens, en 1942. Cet ultime voyage à Rio pour Henri, est aussi l’occasion pour Emmanuel et son ami Carlos Albert Afonso de la Toca do Vinicius, de l’inviter à Ipanema berceau de la Bossa Nova, afin d’y graver ses mains pour le projet de « trottoir des célébrités » de ce quartier mythique. A cette occasion le public carioca massé dans la rue rendra un ultime hommage vibrant à Henri, que ne reviendra plus jamais au Brésil.


Au cours de ses recherches et de ses projets Franco-brésilien, Emmanuel se liera aussi d’amitié avec Dominique Cravic, Maurice Pon, Georges Henry et Micheline Day, anciens collégiens de Ray Ventura, Paulo Costa, Emmanuel Donzella, Catherine Salvador, mais aussi avec les chanteuses brésiliennes Leny Andrade, Paula Morelenbaum, Joyce Moreno, et Wanda Sà. Il fréquenta également tout un temps Toots Thielemans, qu’il conduira également à graver ses mains au « Trottoir des célébrités » de Ipanema, tout comme son ami Pierre Barouh.


Grâce à sa revue « Bossamag.com » créée en 1998, il fait la connaissance de toute une palette d’artistes ayant marqué l’histoire de la Bossa Nova : Jonnhy Alf, Billy Blanco, João Donato, Carlos Lyra, Roberto Menescal, Jaques Morelenbaum, Pery Ribeiro, Oscar Castro Neves, Marcos Valle, Stacey Kent. Toutes ces rencontres lui feront découvrir la profondeur de l’empreinte laissée par Henri Salvador dans l’âme de tous ces musiciens brésiliens.


Cela se vérifiera encore en 2016, quand à la veille du centenaire de la naissance d’Henri,  à la demande de son épouse Catherine Salvador, il se lance dans l’organisation d’un immense projet de concert en hommage à l’artiste, au théâtre municipal de Rio. Tous les artistes de la Bossa Nova sans exception seront partants pour le projet, de même que Gilberto Gil et Caetano Veloso. Hélas ce projet fut brisé net dans son élan par la crise économique qui ébranla le Brésil, puis par l’arrivée d’un nouveau président font peu porté par la culture.


En attendant de réactiver ce rêve, Emmanuel travaille depuis, en France et au Brésil, sur d’autres projets visant toujours à valoriser le patrimoine musical laissé par Henri. Parmi ceux-ci, le projet « Caminhos cruzados, jazz sur le chemin du Brésil et de Henri Salvador », avec Didier Sustrac et Paula Morelenbaum,  et en invités spéciaux, Dominique Cravic et Emmanuel Donzella,  et le projet « Entre sombra e Luz » avec Marcos Valle,  Joyce Moreno et Jaques Morelenbaum.


En 2008, Emmanuel se lia d’amitié avec un autre passionné de la musique brésilienne et plus particulièrement de la bossa nova, Philippe Quevauviller, grand organisateur d’événements musicaux liant généreusement la lusophonie et la France. Ensemble ils ont été à la base de quelques jolies rencontres entre des artistes passionné du Brésil et le public bruxellois. Emmanuel facilite entre autres les contacts de Philippe et Pierre Barouh, et participe activement à la programmation Bossa Flor depuis son tout début.


En 2018, devenu pour Catherine Salvador depuis toutes ces années,  le point de contact pour tout ce qui concerne Henri et le Brésil , Emmanuel est contacté par la société Cosmopolitis Productions occupée à la préparation d’un documentaire intitulé « Face B comme bossa, l'autre histoire d'Henri Salvador ». Grace à ses contacts sur place, il organise le tournage de la partie brésilienne du documentaire, et réalise pour la Production les interviews de Gilberto Gil, Roberto Menescal, Marcos Valle, Joyce Moreno, Paula Morelenbaum.

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor