Edmundo Carneiro

Percussionnist, actor

Biography

Photo credit: ©Alain Dereymaeker

Edmundo Carneiro was born in the summer of 1958 in Macaubal, a small town in the north of the state of São Paulo. Among his brothers, he will be the only heir to his grandfather's passion for music. Transported by the percussions of the Folia dos Reis festival that punctuated the seasons of his childhood, he will build his life around rhythm. While his colleagues were playing football, he became interested in vinyl records and joined the Fanfarra to study snare drum and bass drum. When he turned 14, his family moved to Campinas, where he attended the school orchestra and fell in love with Hermeto Pascal, Baden Powell and Jobim. He soon realised that behind the sound of his percussion, what he was really looking for were his black origins. Anyway, he learned to play drums in a terreiro Umbanda, and later played at the Camdomblé ceremonies. The songs of Milton Nascimento, Lo Borges and Tonino Horta accompanied him to the music clubs where he played, exercising his talent in different ensembles. 


At the age of 19, he won the prize for best instrumentalist at the festival of the Campinas School of Music directed by the great master Benito Juarez. Ana de Hollanda recognized his talent and invited him to work in São Paulo where she introduced him to José Celso Martinez Correia, the great director of the Officina Theatre. Zé Edouardo Nazario, her music teacher, an anarchist and original, presented an approach that favours the fusion and exchange of languages, a same philosophy that will develop and deepen later on. In 1985, as a musician and actor, he took part in the children's show "Catavento" on TV Cultura in São Paulo and he also had an intense activity in the recording studios. 


In 1988, Edmundo arrived in Paris, it was the shock of world music. For those seeking their musical roots, the surprise was immense. Almost all cultures are there: African, Caribbean, Martinican, Guadeloupean, North African, Indian and Brazilian. The path of the music of your country, opens your mind, excites your curiosity and inspires you. He then reconnected with his Brazil and its artists who made the Parisian scene ... The irony of fate will make him play his berimbau - the emblematic instrument of Bahia - on the edge of the tropics, on Reunion Island, in a bar in Saint-Denis, where he met Jacques Higelin, the most Parisian of French singers. The passion between the two artists did the rest. With Jacques, Edmundo discovered the entire French music scene and the great names of the French chanson scene at the time, Léo Ferré, Paco Ibáñez, Brigitte Fontaine and many others. He worked with Jacques Higelin for the following five years.


Edmundo was also part of groups such as Bachibouzak, Grupo Extra, Kamafra and Guenau. He also quickly got back in touch with Brazilian artists such as singer and pianist Tânia Maria, singer Mônica Passos, guitarists Rosinha De Valenca and Baden Powell, singer Seu Jorge and trombonist Raoul de Souza. He also worked with French artists such as Arthur H, Axel Bauer and Eli Medeiros to name but a few.


His encounter with the group Ollano introduced him to electronic music. He then collaborated with various famous DJs: Next Evidence, Bob Sinclar, Shazz, Charles Schillings, Ariel Wizman, Stéphane Pompougnac, DJ Gregory and St Germain. In 2004, he met Jean Leccia, the director of the label Montera Music, with whom he started working a year later. In 2005, he participated in the second part of the album "Electronic Summer in Corsica", where electronic and acoustic music mixed with the voices of Corsican singers, an album where Edmundo Carneiro adds his warm percussions.


It is no coincidence that Edmundo has toured in more than 66 countries and has worked with international music personalities such as Baden Powell, Tânia Maria, Ana de Hollanda, Mike Pocaro, Rosinha de Valençia, Seu Jorge, Toots Thielemans, Monica Passos, Chucho Valdes, Johnny Clegg, Robin di Maggio, Eddie Gomez, Betina B, Brad Scott, Ray Lema, Axel Bauer, Ali Farka Touré, Lou Marini, Klaus Mueller, Ivan Lins, Alvaro Petersen, Maria de Medeiros, De la soul, Arthur H or Jacques Higelin. Creator, composer, percussionist, singer... he has participated in more than 80 albums and thousands of concerts. His performances with his exceptional cast offer us, each time, bewitching dream landscapes.


His crossroads with Bossa Flor is an underground river generated by Pierre Barouh since it is the meeting between Philippe Quevauviller and Didier Sustrac that made him join the Bossa Flor program in 2017 for a concert linked to the launch of the album "Ostende Bossa" with Didier and José Curier. He returned in 2018 with the trio Cor das Cordas for the launch of their eponymous album in which he participated, and for two other concerts with Didier Sustrac and José Curier, and a participation in the show "Une petite histoire de la bossa nova". At the beginning of 2019, Edmundo joined the Bossa Flor program again with singer-guitarist Mario Bakuna. He took part in the recording of two tracks from the Bossa Flor EP "Feminino", as well as the album in preparation for the project "Brassens dans tous ses états". He has also been invited to join the “Cordes enchantées” project.

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor

Edmundo Carneiro

Percussionniste, acteur

Biographie

Crédit photo : ©Alain Dereymaeker

Edmundo Carneiro est né au cours de l'été 1958 à Macaubal, une petite ville du nord de l'État de São Paulo. Parmi ses frères, il sera l'unique héritier de la passion de son grand-père pour la musique. Transporté par les percussions de la fête de la Folia dos Reis qui ponctuait les saisons de son enfance, il construira sa vie autour du rythme. Alors que ses collègues jouent au football, il s'intéresse aux disques vinyles et rejoint la Fanfarra pour étudier la caisse claire et la grosse caisse. Alors qu’il atteint ses 14 ans, sa famille déménage à Campinas, où il fréquente l'orchestre de l'école et tombe amoureux d'Hermeto Pascal, Baden Powell et Jobim. Très vite, il comprend que derrière le son de ses percussions, ce qu'il cherche en réalité, ce sont ses origines noires. Peu importe, il apprend à jouer de la batterie dans un terreiro Umbanda, et joue plus tard lors des cérémonies du Camdomblé. Les chansons de Milton Nascimento, Lo Borges et Tonino Horta l'accompagnent dans les clubs de musique où il joue en exerçant son talent dans différents ensembles. 


À 19 ans, il remporte le prix du meilleur instrumentiste au festival de l'école de musique de Campinas dirigé par le grand maître Benito Juarez. Ana de Hollanda reconnaît son talent et l'invite à travailler à São Paulo où elle le présente à José Celso Martinez Correia, grand directeur du Théâtre Officina. Zé Edouardo Nazario, son professeur de musique, anarchiste et original, présente une approche qui favorise la fusion et l'échange des langues, une même philosophie qui se développera et s'approfondira par la suite. En 1985, en tant que musicien et acteur, il participe à l'émission pour enfants "Catavento" à TV Cultura à São Paulo et il a également une intense activité dans les studios d'enregistrement. 


En 1988, Edmundo débarque à Paris, c'est le choc des musiques du monde. Pour ceux qui cherchent leurs racines musicales, la surprise est immense. Presque toutes les cultures sont là : Africaine, caribéenne, martiniquaise, guadeloupéenne, maghrébine, indienne et brésilienne. Le chemin de la musique de votre pays, vous ouvre l'esprit, excite votre curiosité et vous inspire. Il renoue alors avec son Brésil et ses artistes qui font la scène parisienne... L'ironie du sort lui fera jouer de son berimbau - instrument emblématique de Bahia - aux confins des tropiques, sur l'île de la Réunion, dans un bar de Saint-Denis, où il rencontre Jacques Higelin, le plus parisien des chanteurs français. La passion entre les deux artistes fait le reste. Avec Jacques, Edmundo découvre toute la scène musicale française et les grands noms de la chanson de l'époque, Léo Ferré, Paco Ibáñez, Brigitte Fontaine et bien d'autres. Il travaille avec Jacques Higelin durant les cinq années suivantes.


Edmundo fait également partie de groupes tels que Bachibouzak, Grupo Extra, Kamafra et Guenau. Il renoue aussi rapidement avec des artistes brésiliens tels que la chanteuse et pianiste Tânia Maria, la chanteuse Mônica Passos, les guitaristes Rosinha De Valenca et Baden Powell, Seu Jorge (chanteuse) et le tromboniste Raoul de Souza. Il travaille aussi avec des artistes français tels qu'Arthur H, Axel Bauer et Eli Medeiros pour n'en citer que quelques-uns.


Sa rencontre avec le groupe Ollano lui fait se familiariser avec la musique électronique. Il collabore ensuite avec divers DJ célèbres : Next Evidence, Bob Sinclar, Shazz, Charles Schillings, Ariel Wizman, Stéphane Pompougnac, DJ Gregory et St Germain. En 2004, il rencontre Jean Leccia, le directeur du label Montera Music, avec lequel il commence à travailler un an plus tard. En 2005, il participe à la deuxième partie de l'album « Electronic Summer in Corsica », où la musique électronique et acoustique se mêle aux voix des chanteurs corses, un album où Edmundo Carneiro ajoute ses chaudes percussions.


Ce n'est pas un hasard si Edmundo a tourné dans plus de 66 pays et a travaillé avec des personnalités de la musique internationale telles que Baden Powell, Tânia Maria, Ana de Hollanda, Mike Pocaro, Rosinha de Valençia, Seu Jorge, Toots Thielemans, Monica Passos, Chucho Valdes, Johnny Clegg, Robin di Maggio, Eddie Gomez, Betina B, Brad Scott, Ray Lema, Axel Bauer, Ali Farka Touré, Lou Marini, Klaus Mueller, Ivan Lins, Alvaro Petersen, Maria de Medeiros, De la soul, Arthur H ou Jacques Higelin. Créateur, compositeur, percussionniste, chanteur… il a participé à plus de 80 albums et de milliers de concerts. Ses performances avec son casting d’exception nous offrent, à chaque fois, des paysages de rêve envoûtants.


Sa croisée de chemins avec Bossa Flor est une rivière souterraine générée par Pierre Barouh puisque c’est la rencontre entre Philippe Quevauviller et Didier Sustrac qui fait qu’il rejoint la programmation Bossa Flor en 2017 pour un concert lié au lancement de l’album « Ostende Bossa » avec Didier et José Curier. Il revient en 2018 avec le trio Cor das Cordas pour le lancement de leur album éponyme auquel il participe, et pour deux autres concerts avec Didier Sustrac et José Curier, et une participation au spectacle « Une petite histoire de la bossa nova ». Au début 2019, Edmundo rejoint de nouveau la programmation Bossa Flor avec le chanteur-guitariste Mario Bakuna. Il a participé à l’enregistrement de deux morceaux de l’EP « Feminino » du Bossa Flor, ainsi qu’à l’album en préparation du projet « Brassens dans tous ses états ». Il a également été invité à rejoindre le projet « Cordes enchantées ».

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor