Dominique Pièrard

Guitarist

Biography

Bio-Dominique-Pièrard-800.jpg

Photo credit: ©Dominique Pièrard

Dominique Pièrard was born on April 14, 1962 in Brussels. He was introduced to music through his grandparents. His grandfather, a jazz violinist, and his grandmother, a singer and pianist, worked in the orchestra of the Maison du Peuple from 1927 to 1939. In 1975, Dominique began learning to play the guitar on his own, and experimented with various electric styles. It was through his long-time friend, Michel Clément, guitarist, songwriter and composer (Tomahawk Blues Band, Sunhouse, Verdine, Bonaventure...) that in 1983 Dominique discovered the music of the Hot Club de France and Django Reindhardt. He then founded his own band, Tinto Rojo, with Jako Pralle (double bass), Stéphane Noirhomme (guitar), Marc Willegems (clarinet, sax), Bruno Nuri (drums), which immediately specialized in this style, and which from a trio at the beginning will evolve into a quintet, as well as from Belgium to abroad until its dissolution in 1988.


Dominique was invited to join Koen Decauter's group Waso in 1988 as an accompanying guitarist. For the next six years he participated in various formulas, shows and recordings during which he rubbed shoulders with Joop Ayal, Ronnie Verbiest, Dick Van der Harst, Johan Verminnen, Wannes Van de Velde, Tango Al Sur, Brabants Volks Orkest, among others, for the European part. During the same period he was in frequent contact with gypsy musicians, the Lafertin, Lemberger and Rosenberg families. Annual tours in Europe have taken him to Great Britain, France, Germany, Switzerland and Portugal. He participated in the premiere of Paco de Lucia in his "Sirocco" tour in 1989 at the Stadschouwburg in Bruges. In 1989, 1990 and 1994, Dominique went on tour in the United States, New-Orleans, where he rubs shoulders with Butch Thompson, Dewee Simpson, Sammy Remington senior and junior, Louis Nelson, Tony Green, and accompanied, on the site of the New-Orleans Festival, Claude Williams (1st guitarist of Count Basie). In 1991 and 1994 he participated in the Feather Broom ensemble directed by Wim Hombergen in the Western Swing style with, among others, Peter Van Eyck, Pierre De Decker and Patrick Riguel.


In 1994, having been introduced to the Portuguese guitar, Dominique was asked by Fapy Lafertin to join his quartet. During the next three years, he accompanied the quartet in all its performances with Hadi Mouallem, Frank Van Oosterhout, Simon Planting, Hans Mantel, producing a show in two parts, traditional Fado with Anabella Da Silva on vocals, and jazz where the contributions from the contemporary and new-music point of view that Dominique produced are highly appreciated (Babik Reinhardt, Richard Galliano etc.).


He joined Le Jazz à Londres in 1997 as a soloist accompanied by John Rees-Jones, Dave Kelbie and Steve Elsworth. This stay abroad confirmed his need to express himself through a contemporary music with mixed colours, and to interpret it with a contemporary instrumentation, hence the formation of an electric trio with Dajo De Cauter and José Wampach in 1999. The following year, he created a "Guitar Duo" with Benjamin Clément (Michel's son) and took part in a number of festivals (Eurythmic's, l'Esprit Manouche, les Midis de Flagey etc.) and other Belgian stages until 2006.


Dominique collaborated with the Swiss soprano Béatrice Gründler in 2005 on the projects "Prévert/Kosma" in a Duo recital, revisiting the classics of this repertoire, and produced and released in the same year a CD for children "Urenschaumss und Zungerbrechen". He participated in "Bonaventure" in 2006 and in the production of a CD. In 2007, Dominique took part in the solo Fado Recital and the creation of the tandem " Troqueurs de Rêves " where he put his talents as an accompanist and multi-instrumentalist at the service of a storyteller, Jessy Ketels.


In 2008-2009, he participated in the creation of the formula " Autour de Sydney Bechet ", a tribute to the famous saxophonist in a Trio reworking of his repertoire and his great classics with André Donni (clarinet, sax) and Hendrik Vanattenhoven (double bass). The following year saw a re-creation of an acoustic Trio in the Hot Club de France style with Hendrik Vanattenhoven (double bass) and Gaëtan Brynaert (guitar), in commemoration of Django Reinhardt's centenary. In the same year, he began solo performances of "A Tribute to James Taylor". 


A lasting collaboration of the "Troqueurs de Rêves" developed in 2010-2011 in partnership with the Decroly Institute for Special Education and the COCOF. He directed the musical tale "Histoire d'Hêtre" which became Victoire aux ailes d'argent. In 2011, Dominique participated actively as a soloist in the orchestra "Domino's" by Patrick Ouchène, pure rockabily in an electrifying repertoire. The same year, he collaborated to the project and realization of the formation "Etoile Musette" in "C'est l'histoire de la Valse Musette" with Raquel Gigot (accordion).


2012 marked the creation of the rock'n roll formula Sofia Brown & The Sweet Revenge. In 2013, he elaborated a CD project comprising exclusively compositions, and recorded the album project " Deep Greens & Blues " with Hendrik Vanattenhoven (double bass), Nikki Verlinden (violin) and Nicolas Sand (drums). He created the show " The Jazz Guitar Pioneers " or a brief history of the Roaring 20's in 2014 based on a performance of a "mute" with a slide show on the period and a guitar duo replacing the upright piano, in partnership with a very young musician, Guillaume Gillain. He produced the slide show for this project in 2015, the recordings and preparatory sessions and staging, as well as a website, and launched a Europe-wide advertising campaign in 2016.  


In 2014-2016, he participated in a primary education in a specialized environment in an intercultural music project with 6 classes of third grade. 


Dominique joined the Pataphysique Café Orchestra in 2019 around the repertoire of Boris Vian (for the centenary of his birth) and accompanied Philippe Quevauviller in concerts in a tribute to Georges Moustaki (November 2019) and fado (January 2020).

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor

Dominique Pièrard

Guitariste

Biographie

Bio-Dominique-Pièrard-800.jpg

Crédit photo : ©Dominique Pièrard

Dominique Pièrard est né le 14 avril 1962 à Bruxelles. Il fut introduit à la musique grâce à ses grands-parents. Son grand-père, violoniste de jazz, et sa grand-mère chanteuse et pianiste ont œuvré au sein de l’orchestre de la Maison du Peuple de 1927 à 1939. En 1975, Dominique entreprend l’apprentissage de la guitare en autodidacte, et expérimente divers styles électriques. C’est par le biais de son ami de longue date, Michel Clément, guitariste, auteur-compositeur (Tomahawk Blues Band, Sunhouse, Verdine, Bonaventure…) qu’en 1983 Dominique découvre la musique du Hot Club de France et de Django Reindhardt. Il fonde alors son propre groupe, Tinto Rojo, avec Jako Pralle (contrebasse), Stéphane Noirhomme (guitare), Marc Willegems (clarinette, sax), Bruno Nuri (batterie), qui d’emblée se spécialise dans ce style, et qui de trio au départ va évoluer en quintette, ainsi que de Belgique vers l’étranger jusqu’à sa dissolution en 1988.


Dominique est invité à rejoindre le groupe Waso de Koen Decauter en 1988, au titre de guitariste d’accompagnement. Il va durant les six années qui suivent participer à diverses formules, spectacles, et enregistrements au cours desquels il côtoiera entre autres Joop Ayal, Ronnie Verbiest, Dick Van der Harst, Johan Verminnen, Wannes Van de Velde, Tango Al Sur, Brabants Volks Orkest, pour la partie européenne. Il sera durant la même période en contact fréquent avec des musiciens tziganes manouches, les familles Lafertin, Lemberger et Rosenberg. Les tournées annuelles en Europe l’ont emmené en Grande-Bretagne, France, Allemagne, Suisse et Portugal. Il participe à l’avant-première de Paco de Lucia dans sa tournée « Sirocco » en 1989 au Stadschouwburg de Brugges. En 1989, 1990 et 1994, Dominique part en tournées aux Etats-Unis, New-Orleans, où il côtoie Butch Thompson, Dewee Simpson, Sammy Remington senior et junior, Louis Nelson, Tony Green, et accompagne, sur le site du Festival de News-Orleans, Claude Williams (1er guitariste de Count Basie). Il participe en 1991 et 1994 à l’ensemble Feather Broom dirigé par Wim Hombergen dans le style Western Swing avec entre autres, Peter Van Eyck, Pierre De Decker et Patrick Riguel.


En 1994, s’étant initié à la guitare portugaise, Dominique est sollicité par Fapy Lafertin pour rejoindre son quartet. Durant les trois années qui vont suivre, il accompagnera le quartet dans toutes ses prestations avec Hadi Mouallem, Frank Van Oosterhout, Simon Planting, Hans Mantel, en produisant un spectacle en deux temps, Fado traditionnel avec Anabella Da Silva au chant, et jazz où les apports du point de vue contemporain et new-musette que Dominique produit sont vivement appréciés (Babik Reinhardt, Richard Galliano etc.).


Il part rejoindre le groupe Le Jazz à Londres en 1997 en tant que soliste accompagné par John Rees-Jones, Dave Kelbie et Steve Elsworth. Ce séjour à l’étranger lui confirme son besoin de s’exprimer au travers d’une musique actuelle aux couleurs métisses, et de l’interpréter avec une instrumentation contemporaine d’où la formation d’un trio électrique avec Dajo De Cauter et José Wampach en 1999. L’année suivante, il crée un « Duo de Guitares » avec Benjamin Clément (fils de Michel) et participe à bon nombre de festivals (Eurythmic’s, l’Esprit Manouche, les Midis de Flagey etc.) et d’autres scènes belges jusqu’en 2006.


Dominique collabore avec la soprano suisse Béatrice Gründler en 2005 aux projets « Prévert/Kosma » dans un récital en Duo, revisitant les classiques de ce répertoire, et produit et réalise la même année un CD pour enfants « Urenschaumss und Zungerbrechen ». Il participe à « Bonaventure » en 2006 et à la réalisation d’un CD. En 2007, Dominique participe aux Récital Fado solo et la création du tandem « Troqueurs de Rêves » où il met ses talents d’accompagnateur et multi-instrumentiste aux services d’une conteuse, Jessy Ketels.


En 2008-2009, il participe à la création de la formule « Autour de Sydney Bechet », un hommage au célèbre saxophoniste dans une refonte en Trio de son répertoire et de ses grands classiques avec André Donni (clarinette, sax) et Hendrik Vanattenhoven (contrebasse). L’année suivante voit une re-création d’un Trio acoustique dans le style Hot Club de France avec Hendrik Vanattenhoven (contrebasse) et Gaëtan Brynaert (guitare), en commémoration du centenaire de Django Reinhardt. La même année, il débute des représentations « A Tribute to James Taylor » en solo. 


Une collaboration durable des « Troqueurs de Rêves » se développe en 2010-2011 en partenariat avec l’Institut d’enseignement spécialisé Decroly et la COCOF. Il réalise le conte musical « Histoire d’Hêtre » qui devient Victoire aux ailes d’argent. En 2011, Dominique participe activement en tant que soliste dans l’orchestre les « Domino’s » de Patrick Ouchène, rockabily pur jus dans un répertoire électrisant. La même année, il collabore au projet et réalisation de la formation « Etoile Musette » dans « C’est l’histoire de la Valse Musette » avec Raquel Gigot (accordéon).


2012 marque la création de la formule rock’n roll Sofia Brown & The Sweet Revenge. Il élabore en 2013 un projet de CD comprenant exclusivement des compositions, et enregistre le projet d’album « Deep Greens & Blues » avec Hendrik Vanattenhoven (contrebasse), Nikki Verlinden (violon) et Nicolas Sand (batterie). Il crée le spectacle « The Jazz Guitar Pioneers » or a brief history of the Roaring 20’s en 2014 basé sur une représentation d’un « muet » avec diaporama sur la période et duo de guitares remplaçant le piano droit, en partenariat avec un tout jeune musicien, Guillaume Gillain. Il réalise le diaporama pour ce projet en 2015, les enregistrements et séances préparatoire et la mise en scène, ainsi qu’un site internet, et lance une campagne publicitaire à l’échelle européenne en 2016.  


En 2014-2016, il participe à un enseignement primaire en milieu spécialisé dans un projet de musique interculturelle avec 6 classes de troisième. 


Dominique a rejoint le Pataphysique Café Orchestra en 2019 autour du répertoire de Boris Vian (pour le centenaire de sa naissance) et a accompagné Philippe Quevauviller lors de concerts en hommage à Georges Moustaki (novembre 2019) et de fado (janvier 2020).

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor