Benoît Minon

Guitarist seven strings

Biography

Bio-Benoît-Minon-800.jpg

Photo credit: ©Philippe Quevauviller

Born in Ath in 1983, Benoît Minon began playing guitar at the age of 14, as a self-taught musician. He quickly joins a band with which he will play for 8 years, and will explore multiple facets of rock and composition. During a first cursus at the ULB he refines his playing in a French chanson band, then gets familiar with asymmetrical rhythms and world music with Cave Canem! which marks his entry into the professional world.


In 2005 he starts two years of studies at the Antwerp Jazz Studio with Victor Da Costa, as well as several workshops with Pierre Van Dormael. He then passes his baccalaureate in jazz guitar at the Royal Conservatory of Brussels, which marks the end of his academic course, where he receives lessons from Paolo Radoni, Victor Da Costa, Fabien Degryse, Guy Cabay, Fabrice Alleman, Arnould Massart, Pirly Zurstrassen, Michel Hatzigeorgiou...


In 2011, Arkham Asylum's formation marks its return in a more rock sound in a jazz context. In 2019, it develops the SevenZ project (www.sevenz.be) of seven-string guitars with Pierre Gilllet, accompanied by percussion by Marcos Della Rocha, whose acoustic formation revisits the Brazilian choro in its own way.


He has been playing since 2013 with the band Whocat, composed of singer and guitarist Sara Moonen, Joris Lindemans on double bass, Davy Palumbo on drums, and himself on electric guitar. Whocat produced the Blueprints EP (2015) and the Joyful Rebellion album (2019).


Benoît participates with SevenZ in a guitar encounter in February 2020 as part of the Bossa Flor 2019-2020 program. From this meeting was born the Bossa Flor's "Enchanted Strings" project in which he participates with his accomplice Pierre Gillet.

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor

Benoît Minon

Guitariste sept cordes

Biographie

Bio-Benoît-Minon-800.jpg

Crédit photo : ©Philippe Quevauviller

Né à Ath en 1983, Benoît Minon commence la guitare à 14 ans, en autodidacte. Il rejoint rapidement un groupe avec lequel il jouera pendant 8 ans, et explorera de multiples facettes du rock et de la composition. Pendant un premier cursus à l'ULB il affine son jeu dans un groupe de chanson française, puis se familiarise aux rythmes asymétriques et à la musique du monde avec Cave Canem ! qui marque son entrée dans le monde professionnel.


En 2005 il commence deux ans d'études au Jazz Studio d'Anvers avec Victor Da Costa, ainsi que plusieurs workshops avec Pierre Van Dormael. Il passe ensuite son bac en guitare jazz au Conservatoire Royal de Bruxelles, qui marque la fin de son cursus académique, où il reçoit les enseignements de Paolo Radoni, Victor Da Costa, Fabien Degryse, Guy Cabay, Fabrice Alleman, Arnould Massart, Pirly Zurstrassen, Michel Hatzigeorgiou...


En 2011, la formation d'Arkham Asylum marque son retour dans un son plus rock dans un contexte jazz. Il développe en 2019 le projet SevenZ (www.sevenz.be) de guitares sept cordes avec Pierre Gilllet, accompagné de percussions par Marcos Della Rocha, dont la formation acoustique revisite à sa manière le choro brésilien.


Il joue depuis 2013 avec le groupe Whocat composé de la chanteuse et guitariste Sara Moonen, Joris Lindemans à la contrebasse, Davy Palumbo à la batterie, et lui-même à la guitare électrique. Whocat a produit l’EP Blueprints (2015) et l’album Joyful Rebellion (2019).


Benoît participe avec SevenZ à une rencontre en guitares en février 2020 dans le cadre de la programmation Bossa Flor 2019-2020. De cette rencontre est né le projet « Cordes enchantées » de Bossa Flor auquel il participe avec son complice Pierre Gillet.

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor