Gilles Boujo

Pianist

Biography

Bio-Anthony-More-800.jpg

Photo credit: ©Adrien Quevauviller

Grandson on his mother's side of Jan Thys, a graduate of the Antwerp Cello Conservatory, Anthony More has been immersed in classical music since he was 8 years old. He studied solfège and piano at the Academy of Woluwé-Saint-Pierre with Mrs Dumoulin. At around 16 years old, Anthony started playing Blues and Pop. He was a member of the Sunrise and Epsilon bands until 1975 with his friends Michel Sordinia, leader since 1977 of the band The Names, Philippe Pasquier, professional musician in Bandol (who notably accompanied Didier Sustrac) and Eric Ivens, drummer. Anthony has always accompanied singers and played in duet notably with guitarist Bruno Desart. Many years later, he resumed classical music lessons with Michel Scohy and jazz lessons with Alain Rochette. 


In 2007, a meeting during a dinner with Philippe Quevauviller gave the ferment of a group around bossa nova and Henri Salvador's songs, and they formed the group BosSalvador with Dyanne Bennink (saxophone, flute, vocals), Christophe Vaassen (electric bass), Jacques Gillet (drums), Philippe (guitar, vocals) and him on piano. They were joined in 2010 by percussionist Miguel Uribe. The group disbanded at the end of 2011 while keeping links that took shape over the years through new encounters around bossa nova, French chanson and jazz.


Anthony also played in the group DJAM with the late Micky, his daughter Jill and Dyanne Bennink. He now plays with the group Betty & Co led by Bruno Desart (guitar), with Dyanne Bennink (vocals), Julie Legrand (violin), Christophe Vaassen (electric double bass) and Eric Ivens (drums). 


Since 2019, Anthony has joined the Pataphysique Café Orchestra, which covers French chanson repertoires in a jazzy form, in particular Boris Vian, Michel Legrand, Claude Nougaro, Serge Reggiani. The line-up includes Philippe Quevauviller (vocals), Dominique Pièrard (guitar), Bruno Desart (guitar), Berny Hoste (trumpet), Christophe Vaassen (electric double bass) and himself. This same group participates in the project "Brassens dans tous ses états", in association with Jacques Martinez (saxophone, flute). 

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor

Anthony More

Pianiste

Biographie

Bio-Anthony-More-800.jpg

Crédit photo : ©Adrien Quevauviller

Petit-fils du côté maternel de Jan Thys, diplômé du Conservatoire d’Anvers de violoncelle, Anthony More a baigné dans la musique classique depuis ses 8 ans. Il a étudié le solfège et le piano à l’Académie de Woluwé-Saint-Pierre avec Mme Dumoulin. Vers 16 ans, Anthony commence à jouer du Blues et du Pop. Il est membre des groupes Sunrise et Epsilon jusqu’en 1975 avec ses amis Michel Sordinia, leader depuis 1977 du groupe The Names, Philippe Pasquier, musicien professionnel à Bandol (qui a notamment accompagné Didier Sustrac) et Eric Ivens, batteur. Anthony a toujours accompagné des chanteurs et joué en duo notamment avec le guitariste Bruno Desart. Bien des années plus tard, il a repris des cours de musique classique avec Michel Scohy et des cours de jazz avec Alain Rochette. 


En 2007, une rencontre au cours d’un dîner avec Philippe Quevauviller donne le ferment d’un groupe autour de la bossa nova et des chansons d’Henri Salvador, et ils forment le groupe BosSalvador avec Dyanne Bennink (saxophone, flûte, chant), Christophe Vaassen (basse électrique), Jacques Gillet (batterie), Philippe (guitare, chant) et lui au piano. Ils sont rejoints en 2010 par le percussionniste Miguel Uribe. Le groupe se dissout à la fin 2011 tout en gardant des liens qui se concrétiseront au fil des années par de nouvelles rencontres autour de la bossa nova, la chanson française et le jazz.


Anthony a également joué dans le groupe DJAM avec le regretté Micky, sa fille Jill et Dyanne Bennink. Il joue maintenant avec le groupe Betty & Co dirigé par Bruno Desart (guitare), avec Dyanne Bennink (chant), Julie Legrand (violon), Christophe Vaassen (contrebasse électrique) et Eric Ivens (batterie). 


Depuis 2019, Anthony a rejoint le Pataphysique Café Orchestra qui reprend sous une forme jazzy des répertoires de la chanson française, en particulier Boris Vian, Michel Legrand, Claude Nougaro, Serge Reggiani. La formation se compose de Philippe Quevauviller (chant), Dominique Pièrard (guitare), Bruno Desart (guitare), Berny Hoste (trompette), Christophe Vaassen (contrebasse électrique) et lui-même. Cette même formation participe au projet « Brassens dans tous ses états », en association avec Jacques Martinez (saxophone, flûte). 

Bruxelles - Belgique

©2020 by Bossa Flor